We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wallace's Arthouse Scotland

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edinburgh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wallace's Arthouse Scotland
Ranked #105 of 445 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

My husband and I took my parents to Edinburgh for the weekend and we stayed at Wallace's. He was welcoming and interesting. He made our visit to Edinburgh so much fun! Our rooms were spacious and decorated with fresh flowers and chocolates in the mornings. Showers, beds, books in the rooms, linens and every detail of the rooms were well considered and well looked after. Breakfast in the morning was delicious with local breads and juices. Great conversation, great food- Wallace was one of our main highlights during the trip. We cannot wait to return for another weekend trip. The local restaurants and pubs are fantastic as well. We highly recommend this place. There is a bus that is next to Wallace's that takes you right into the center of the city. Honestly, this is the best place to stay in Edinburgh. We are recommending it to all of our friends in England and in the U.S. Wallace and his B&B definitely made our trip memorable and enjoyable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    15
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
107
9
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

I've just returned from a trip to Scotland that included a stay in Wallace's Arthouse in Leith, the old port section of Edinburgh that has lots of history as well as great restaurants like Martin Wishart. Wallace's rooms were comfortable, clean, and had all conveniences. Walace was most hospitable, but not at all intrusive. And breakfast was lavish, delicious, and healthful, not the usual "full Scottish breakfast." I've known Edinburgh well for over 20 years, and the Arthouse is my new first choice B&B.

Room Tip: Book early, there are only two rooms! And listen to Walace's advice about things to do in the ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank giffy918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

Wallace was very welcoming and entertaining, taking time to sit with us and share a tipple. He was also generous with helping us out with a couple of services. The rooms are light and spacious. I enjoyed the artwork very much and the ambience. There's no other BB quite like Wallace's.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yeen01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

After staying some nights in an elegant, classic B&B in Edinburgh's New Town (classic quarter, classic apartment, classic landlady), which was also very good, we had seen enough of the Royal Mile doll's house...
And Wallace's was a very welcome change towards the more creative, informal, original, personal (creative flat, personal attendance by landlord Wallace, interesting talks at the breakfast table) in the informal district of Leith, with many splendid pubs (the Nobles Bar just opposite Wallace's), brilliant restaurants (Fisher's Bistro, The Shore, Compass) and starred cuisine (Martin Wishart, Plumed Horse, Kitchin) just around the corner.
Wallace's rooms are for people who don't necessarily seek the perfect, shiny, glossy, 'typical' location, but who have a sense for creative and artistic details (all over the place) as well as very affectionate care by Wallace (personal recommendations of places to visit, reservations in pubs and restaurants, fresh cherries on your bedside cabinet, pralinés the next night etc.)
All in all, it's these personal things and Wallace's lovely character and endearing personality we will keep in mind long after we've forgotten the names of all the Lochs and castles. Highly recommended, we would definitely go there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael_S188113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

Thank you very much Wallace for your warm hospitality. Great position in a quirky area short bus rides to everywhere. The only negative was getting the luggage up 4 flights of stairs, I didn't,t mind but my cousin,s husband is over 70, but he came good after an rest. Apart from no lift no complaints. Wallace makes a lovely continental breakfast, leaves fruit & chocolates in the room & is always ready with a fresh pot of tea.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

What everyone else has written is true! Wallace has a wonderful place and he himself is a fabulous host. My husband and 15 year old daughter and I shared a large room with a large en suite bath in late June 2012. Wallace assisted in so many ways (including getting up late to greet us as our train was delayed several hours by floods). We would recommend Wallace's Arthouse to anyone for a stay in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MJS724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012 via mobile

Really nice hospitality and very good comfort in Edinburg.
Wallace delighted us with his brilliant humor, his prosecco wine and his friendship.
He will talk about kilts, fried mars bars and others. It will worth another visit in the next future.
B&B is very nice with big, clean and comfortable rooms. Breakfast is lucullian and you have to force Wallace to feed you.
Strongly recommended

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cicciput78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh
#92 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,772 reviews
Pillars House
#92 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheridan Guest House
#22 of 445 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
Crioch Guest House
#126 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Leith
Swan Lake Guest House
Swan Lake Guest House
#212 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wallace's Arthouse Scotland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wallace's Arthouse Scotland

Property: Wallace's Arthouse Scotland
Address: 41/4 Constitution Street, Edinburgh EH6 7BG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Hotel Style:
Ranked #105 of 445 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
I have a simply designed bed and breakfast with two en suite queen size rooms. There is central heating and wifi in all rooms. Breakfast is a simple affair with cereals, fresh fruits, a variety of local healthy breads as well as fruit juices and teas or coffee. There is a comfortable sitting room and is within 15 minutes walking distance from the centre of Edinburgh, Leith (the local area) is blessed with many good eating places including 2 Michelin starred restaurants and also good fresh seafood eateries. There is good public transport in to the city area as well as taxi services. You will have a warm welcome to the Arthouse. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wallace's Arthouse Scotland Edinburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing