We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and convivial”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edinburgh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wallace's Arthouse Scotland
Ranked #162 of 395 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 1, 2011

Our host, Wallace was charming and convivial, providing excellent conversation over breakfast each day. Tastefully decorated throughout with lots of quirky features. Wallace is a larger than life character for whom nothing is too much trouble. Very accessible to Edinburgh by public transport. Very enjoyable stay, ideal for us as a base to visit the Fringe. Jane and Chris

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank louthlizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (178)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 178 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2011

We've just spent a few days in Edinburgh--Leith, actually--at Wallace’s Arthouse, a chic and comfortable aerie a short bus ride from the hurly-burly that is the city center on the cusp of festival season.

What traveler hasn't fantasized about having a friend in a distant city who truly loves having guests and has a terrific flair for decor and hospitality, who whips up a delicious continental breakfast and punctuates one's visit with thoughtful touches such as a bowl of ripe cherries left in the bedroom one evening, foil-wrapped chocolate lollipops on the pillows on another? Whose apartment is a snow-white dream filled with silvery Scottish light that filters through drapes puddled glamorously on the floor? Who is himself a twinkly-eyed, well-travelled, cultivated, and genuinely kind person, whose keen eye and magpie's spirit means that at every turn there is something (often heart-shaped) to delight the eye and sometimes make one giggle?

One enters to a long corridor lined with small works of art and various treasured objets, with more such in the sitting room and the kitchen, where Wallace lays a daily morning spread of excellent oven-warmed viennoiserie, Scottish oatcakes and other breadstuffs, fresh fruit and juices, yogurt, jams, cereals, tea, and excellent freshly ground coffee. Be aware that there are three flights of stairs from the street entrance to the door to the Arthouse, which would be a problem for someone with mobility issues.

There are two guest rooms, both with ensuite bathrooms. We were in the room with twin beds--which we pushed together--and our bathroom was a large white-tiled room with a terrific shower (strong water pressure and abundant instant hot water), plenty of plush white towels, and lots of shelf space. The bedroom was similarly generously proportioned--the Arthouse is in a handsome, lofty-ceilinged historic Georgian building--with ample closet space, comfortable beds, good-quality cloud-white linens, and lots of poufy pillows.

There's a tray with a kettle, mugs, tea, and coffee, and vases of flowers (during our stay there were white mums on the table near the window and white roses bedside, as well as a container of huge stargazer lilies stationed just inside the front door of the Arthouse). Wallace is perfectly cast in the role of host: Sensitively attuned to the needs and mood of his guests, he is a genial spirit and a witty and interesting conversation partner. Guests interested in art, music, design, and food will especially benefit from his cheerfully dispensed and well-informed advice on what to do, see, and eat while in Edinburgh--and in Leith especially, with its Michelin Mile to rival Berkeley, California’s Gourmet Gulch.

We were there in the days leading up to the opening of the Fringe, and one wag who was blogging about being in town with his stand-up act wrote that "Edinburgh is a delightful city; it's mostly made of castle." That's true! And the best reason to stay at the Arthouse is that it's mostly made of Wallace!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wingedsandals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2011

From the first contact, Wallace set himself and his Edinburgh B&B apart from others. Very friendly, lovely personal touches and great company during breakfast. Loads to learn about fashion, design and the locality. Many useful, artistic, intelligent books to read.
Great local environment, interesting places off the beaten track and still very close to the city centre.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ianjgrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2011

Far more than you have the right to expect from a b&b! Breakfast times are a joy, and Wallace is full of advice with regards to things to see/do that are not on the normal tourist routes, he also will advise, and book for you, some of the best eating places in Leith/edinburgh.
The art house itself is just stunning and an excellent place to relax after the usual mad rushes around the tourist hotspots of the city.
The house, the ambience, the host, the location, the company....nothing can be faulted-if we could we would move Wallace and is Art house everywhere we need to stay!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Moran1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

Wallace was an extremely charming and warm host. Myself and my girlfriend stayed there for a weekend and were made to feel extremely welcome. He is knowledgable on the local area and is a very interesting worldly character. We got enngaged whilst up there and on our return to our bedroom Wallace had given us an extremely generous gift. I am writing this review now as we have just got married and in all the pre-wedding excitment we had forgotten to say what a wonderful stay we had. I can't see us staying anywhere else when we next return to Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JSherry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2011

Thanks to the help on the arthouse website, we could easily locate the bus to Leith and walk down to Wallace's Arthouse from the train station. Greeted friendly on arrival by the man himself who showed us to our room and around the arthouse, our room was incredibly spacious but comforting - we felt at home instantly. Wallace has a great skill in providing his guests with the highest quality food for breakfast, his selection of fresh juices to freshly baked crossiants, welsh cakes and cereals were lovely. We felt ready for the day :)

One evening we dined at this lovely restaurant called 'Fishers Bistro' in Leith, recommended by Wallace. He ensured that what we wanted off the menu was available and even went to the trouble to reserve the lobster thermidor and scallops, which were cooked to perfection. Just another example of Wallace's care and commitment to his guests.

Wallace took pride in providing us with teas, chocolates and cherries in our room after a long day of sightseeing. He also closed the curtains aswell as switching on the side lights which was a lovely comfort. All in all Wallace is a amazing host who goes the extra mile for his guests! Would definitly recommend!

Room Tip: Both rooms are beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mjpikett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2011

My partner and I found Wallace's B&B through Alistair Sawday"s B&B book and as he says the climb up the 3 flights of stairs was well worth it. Wallace welcomed us with a glass of proseco and entertained us with humourous tales before sending us off to a local eatery. He was a mine of information re. Edinburgh and in particular historic Leith, and all his recommendations re.restaurants were spot on. The room we had was spacious and warm, and although the bathroom was really a cubicle in the bedroom, it was perfectly adequate and the shower was the best we had had on our trip. Continental breakfast was yummy and again Wallace entertained us as he joined us for breakfast. We were desperate to get some washing done and he very kindly did it for us. A delightful and very generous host. Great location on 2 bus routes into town and very quiet, so perfect for a good night's sleep!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cecilstreetbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Dakota Edinburgh
#1 of 4 in South Queensferry
2,036 reviews
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#90 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wallace's Arthouse Scotland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wallace's Arthouse Scotland

Address: 41/4 Constitution Street, Edinburgh EH6 7BG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Hotel Style:
Ranked #162 of 395 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
I have a simply designed bed and breakfast with two en suite queen size rooms. There is central heating and wifi in all rooms. Breakfast is a simple affair with cereals, fresh fruits, a variety of local healthy breads as well as fruit juices and teas or coffee. There is a comfortable sitting room and is within 15 minutes walking distance from the centre of Edinburgh, Leith (the local area) is blessed with many good eating places including 2 Michelin starred restaurants and also good fresh seafood eateries. There is good public transport in to the city area as well as taxi services. You will have a warm welcome to the Arthouse. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wallace's Arthouse Scotland Edinburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing