We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
St Giles Apartments
Ranked #18 of 217 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 26, 2013

4 of us stayed for two nights @ 20/1 Old Tolbooth Wynd apartment, which was clean, comfortable and cosy. They left basics like tea coffee and juice, which was very welcome. Just 2 mins to nearest Hop on, Hop off bus stop on Royal Mile and convenient to most of the Edinburgh sights. We would stay there again

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NatalieACapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (359)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

206 - 212 of 359 reviews

Reviewed November 18, 2013

6 of us visited Edinburgh this weekend and stayed at in Apartment 3 - what can I say but wow!! It was fabulous, we normally always stay in a hotel, but came across these apartments on Splendia and for the price we thought we would give it a try.
It was excellent value for money and the space was great, there was 3 double bed rooms (on with an en-suite and another bathroom.
The kitchen was a good size along with a living room with 2 sofas and a dining table - you really couldn't fault it. The décor was lovely & the view from the front windows was gorgeous - looked right onto St Giles Cathedral (also good as it helped finding it after a night out!!).
The staff of the apartments we lovely - we arrived early and were able to leave all our luggage in their offices - they then text to say when the apartment was ready which was very helpful. After checkout we were able to leave our bags again.
The location is perfect - literally 5 minute walk from the train station (we went the shortcut way up a lot of steps) but you can walk around the road and it is probably about 10 minutes.
The apartment had all the amenities you needed, including a washing machine, dishwasher & an iron board & iron. The kitchen had plenty of cutlery & plates/bowls/glasses/cups. There was even water & juice, teabags, coffee & sugar in left for you. You even got a chocolate each on your pillow!
An amazing find and so much better than a hotel - will definitely be returning to these apartments next time we visit Edinburgh.

Room Tip: Apartment 3 was gorgeous - stay in the back bedroom if you don't like to be woken up by the cath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thedistancekc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Stayed here with my wife, step - daughter and her friend, went to Edinburgh for my step - daughters 17th birthday. Apartment was ready before 3p.m., got a text to let us know it was ready. St Giles offices were easy to find and staff were very helpful. Once at the apartment, Holyrood Penthouse at the old tollbooth wynd, was very impressed. Bedrooms were nice, living area and kitchen were great and the mezzanine reading area was lovely. Views are spectacular and location is superb, 50M off the bottom of the royal mile. Only small gripe was that the TV didn't work properly on arrival (only received 1 channel), we contacted the office and a maintenance man was there within the hour. He left it re-tuning with instruction for us to contact the office again if it didn't work. It didn't, so we contacted the office and went out for the evening. On our return, he had been back and fitted a new TV all working properly. The old TV and set top box were also left in the apartment, but no big deal. Happy bunnies :-). However, we went out the following day and on our return, the old TV had been re-installed, with a different set top box, which although it received all channels, had the most horrible buzzing noise on the audio. Poor show really, fixing something and then making it worse :-(

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thurcroftbiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Stayed here with my husband, daughter and her friend, went to Edinburgh for my daughters 17th birthday. Apartment was ready before 3p.m., got a text to let us know it was ready. St Giles offices were easy to find and staff were very helpful. Once at the apartment, Holyrood Penthouse at the old tollbooth wynd, was very impressed. Bedrooms were nice, living area and kitchen were great and the mezzanine reading area was lovely. Views are spectacular and location is superb, 50M off the bottom of the royal mile. Only small gripe was that the TV didn't work properly on arrival (only received 1 channel), we contacted the office and a maintenance man was there within the hour. He left it re-tuning with instruction for us to contact the office again if it didn't work. It didn't, so we contacted the office and went out for the evening. On our return, he had been back and fitted a new TV all working properly. The old TV and set top box were also left in the apartment, but no big deal. Happy bunnies :-). However, we went out the following day and on our return, the old TV had been re-installed, with a different set top box, which although it received all channels, had the most horrible buzzing noise on the audio. Poor show really, fixing something and then making it worse :-(

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JaneyPhotographer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Me and my girlfriend stayed here for 2 nights at the start of October.
We were really happy with what we saw. Not only was the apartment in a great location; <10min walk to the Castle, Dungeons, Holyrood Palace and Princes/George's Street with all of The Royal Miles restaurants and shops right on the doorstep, we thought it was spacious, clean and really well fitted out.
We only used the cooking facilities one morning, but if you really did just want to do the whole self catering thing then there would have been no problems.
The main bedroom had an en suite with the other double room as spacious as the main. The kitchen was fitted with all that you would need and had a dishwasher and washing machine.
The only negative was that there was no plug in the bath, which we did ask for on noticing, but one couldn't be found.
Great value for money for just the two of us, but would have made a great little base if going as a small group of 4 and even better cost wise.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adam270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

Stayed as part of a large party and was exactly what we needed. Location perfect, good large kitchen and living room.

Elements of the cleanliness could be improved such as bathroom tiles and some of the furniture was looking a little tired, lamps in bedroom specifically

It would have been good to have a twin bed option with the good old zip and link beds as the doubles were small double beds (queen) and we were all sharing beds with friends, not partners.

If in city again for any longer than 1 night would consider as offer more space and flexibility than a hotel room

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nottsscottslass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We stayed in this apartment for 1 night in Soctland. The house is big enough for 6 people, free wifi provided. However, there is no lift and the stair cases are narrow. A bit difficult to take heavy luggags upstairs. The management office is at the ramped path.

The location is great, restaurants, shops just downstairs. Just 15 mins walk to the Edinburg Castle .

It is a good apartment, but not suitable for the old people.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#58 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,704 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,036 reviews
Old Town
Stay Edinburgh City Apartments - Royal Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Oakhill Apartments
#3 of 217 in Edinburgh
564 reviews
Southside & Holyrood
Nicolson Apartments
Nicolson Apartments
#32 of 217 in Edinburgh
142 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Princes Street Suites
Princes Street Suites
#5 of 217 in Edinburgh
791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Giles Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Giles Apartments

Address: 375 High Street, Edinburgh EH1 1PW, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Cowgate
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 217 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range: $100 - $313 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — St Giles Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St. Giles Apartments offers self catering accommodation in the heart of Edinburgh at great value for money. Our self catering apartments are furnished to excellent standards, designer finished, fully equipped with all crockery and linens. Situated conveniently for all of Edinburgh’s attractions our apartments make for an exceptional base while visiting our historic city.By staying with us you will find great value when comparing to a city centre hotel but with the added benefit of your own living room, dining area, fully equipped kitchen and most importantly privacy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your St Giles Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Giles Apartments Hotel Edinburgh
St Giles Apartments Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing