We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location.....Location !!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
St Giles Apartments
Ranked #20 of 217 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 14, 2013

The perfect location on the Royal Mile. Whilst we enjoyed our stay in the well appointed apartment there were a couple of little things that were irritating. Given the quality of apartment 1 the mattress was substandard and uncomfortable. There was was no power point or towel rails in the bathroom and just when I wanted some ice for my drinks there was no ice tray in the freezer!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Murray1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (358)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

213 - 219 of 358 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed in apartment 1A for 3 nights. I was very impressed with the apartment and wouldn't hesitate to recommend or stay here again.
Reception is down an alley next to Marchbrae shop. The receptionist was very friendly and took us to our apartment which is located on the other side of the Marchbrae shop. There is a locked security gate which you are given a key for then you go up some steps and our apartment was on the first floor. Some people have complained about the steps upto the apartments but the Royal Mile is on a hill surrounded by loads of steps. The living room/kitchen is at the front and has a fantastic view of the Royal Mile with St Giles cathedral opposite. The bedroom is at the back so very quiet except for the alley to the side but as this is locked off when the apartments office closes it didn't pose a problem. The whole apartment was furnished to a high standard and it was spotlessly clean. The mattress on the bed was so comfy, I think its memory foam one. The kitchen was stocked with everything you need, including teabags, coffee and sugar sachets, mini milk cartons, carton of orange juice and bottle of water and all cleaning products that you would need. We connected the wi-fi straight away and didn't have any connections problems at all during our stay. The other bonus is that you can leave your luggage in the reception office before and after checkout which is great.
If we go to Edinburgh again then we will definitely be staying in these apartments.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We recently stayed at 19/4 Old Fishmarket Close Apts. I was very happy with the prime location of the apts - it gave great access to all of the Fringe happenings! The apartment is nicely furnished and very bright and airy. It was convenient and cost-efficient for the family as we could prepare meals instead of eating out every night (there's a Tesco's not too far away on Nicholson St). There is a washer/dryer and a dishwasher as well. They also have manuals for both machines if you are unsure how to operate it. If you are a light sleeper like I am I would recommend packing some earplugs as it can get a bit noisy with Fringe revelers in the wee hours. There was a lift to our floor, which was super helpful for my my in-laws.The office staff was very friendly and accommodating. Would definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phoebe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

My friends and I stayed in the Grassmarket Apartment for three nights. We arrived after 8 pm, so we called ahead and got the code for the lock box and picked up the keys without speaking to anyone. They had left a paper with some instructions on how to get to the apartment, which was great, but the paper did not include any information on where to PARK...this meant we ended up parked down a hill, which wasn't that far, but we had to call a taxi to drive us a few blocks uphill with all our bags. Driver wasn't pleased with small fare. The apartment itself was pretty nice, the location at the end of Grassmarket is superb, tons of pubs and restaurants nearby and very walkable to the sights. Be aware that the washer is NOT a washer/dryer...just a washer. One night there was a party in the courtyard behind the bedrooms and my friend was awoken by a drunk teen telling tales of his "exploits"...it was annoying at the time but hilarious later. Maybe pack some earplugs just in case. Also, there's no wifi, which they really should remedy.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We stayed in the huge, two-bedroom apartment on the first floor at the back of a building opposite St Giles Cathedral. The apartments are very well run by the extremely pleasant and helpful staff in the office which is located in the close (passage) next door. (Our toaster was on the fritz and it was replaced by the time we returned at the end of the day.) Awesome location on the Royal Mile/High St and light and airy rooms. There's no lift, so lugging heavy luggage up further than the 1st floor might be an effort for some but really, you should expect this in historic areas around Europe/UK. We loved this place and wouldn't hesitate to stay again on our next trip to Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sherpa200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We booked a 3 bedroom apartment here from June 16 to 19 2013 - It was a nightmare as I realised that our apartment no 6 was on 3rd floor and there was no lift and we were a famliy of 5 with large suitcases. There was no help available to carry the load up, and by the time I finished carrying all the stuff (i had 2 seniors and a Kid with us) I was drained and just did not want to get up!! This was still ok, the real blow came in when I was told by a plumber working in the apartment that the flush of one pf the two toilets is not working. He tried fixing it but could not, I asked the reception (for which you have to climb down and go to the next door - as their is no phone here) to do something as 5 could not use the same toilet!! the reception said that they were was helpless as the faulty part is not available until the next day. I protested and asked for a refund, they accpted to refund but since my payments were by credit card,the refund would have come in credit card after a gap of few days, so I had no option but to continue retaining this place. We managed some how by using a pale for flushing in one of the bathrooms. Also as its an old building the lifts are not allowed here, so if you have Seniors with you please avoid this place. Also as it is right on the high street it can get noisy here till late.

Room Tip: There are modern apartments which allow lifts you may look at booking those
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dpndr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

Booked 3 bedroom apartment on High St in front of St Giles Cathedral. I only wish it was for longer than one day. Location location location. I wouldn't hesitate to book this apartment again. The layout was fabulous, the apartment was clean and tidy and roomy and had great ammenities including dishwasher, washing machine, dryer, etc. The view of the cathedral was stunning and the beautiful sound of church bells and bagpipes was heaven. The only little downside is lack of parking if you bring a car. We had to park approx. 8 minutes away. Would come back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank exUru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,028 reviews
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#55 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,698 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,874 reviews
Old Town
Stay Edinburgh City Apartments - Royal Mile
Broughton & Calton
Princes Street Suites
Princes Street Suites
#5 of 217 in Edinburgh
788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Giles Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Giles Apartments

Address: 375 High Street, Edinburgh EH1 1PW, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Cowgate
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 217 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range: $98 - $323 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — St Giles Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St. Giles Apartments offers self catering accommodation in the heart of Edinburgh at great value for money. Our self catering apartments are furnished to excellent standards, designer finished, fully equipped with all crockery and linens. Situated conveniently for all of Edinburgh’s attractions our apartments make for an exceptional base while visiting our historic city.By staying with us you will find great value when comparing to a city centre hotel but with the added benefit of your own living room, dining area, fully equipped kitchen and most importantly privacy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your St Giles Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Giles Apartments Hotel Edinburgh
St Giles Apartments Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing