We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best experience ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
St Giles Apartments
Ranked #18 of 217 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Despite the fact that it's kinda tricky to find the office (especially if you're not familiar with the city), staffs were very helpful and courteous in helping us to find our apartment as it's placed in a different place. Apartment was excellent, with the price we pay for our stay I would say it deserved more than 5 stars! We've saved quite a lot of money on foods as we are allowed to cook in the apartment. It's also right in the middle of the old town and just 5 minutes walk to Edinburgh Castle. I've travelled to a lot of cities in the UK and I'd say this was the best stay I had! Totally worth the money!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fuchen1214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (359)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

227 - 233 of 359 reviews

Reviewed March 29, 2013

We were there last week and have spent 2 nights, excellent, it's strategically located. Pull harder to open the door, we were struggling a bit. The complimentary juices and kitchen for you to cook might help save your money and they do have cutlery sets, lots of them

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yowong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

Great location within walking distance of everything. Apartments were clean, spacious enough for 4 people and great value for money. The service from the reception was great and only happy to help. Only negative was the lack of wifi in the apartments.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank willpashley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Could not fault these apartments, everything was just perfect, location, facilities, cleanliness - just everything. I am very particular and for me to be so impressed is quite something.

Far better than a hotel, with lovely comfortable bedrooms, great sitting area, kitchens with everything you could need, especially with dish washer and washing machine.

I highly recommend these apartments.

Room Tip: There are choices on the number of bedrooms but they are all excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

On my first visit I stayed in St Giles Apartment 1 with the fabulous floor to ceiling windows over looking the cathedral & the quiet bedroom tucked away down a couple of steps at the back which was great for cancelling out the late night stumbling drinkers once bed time came. Great for people watching during the day though! On my second visit I stayed in St Giles Apartment 2 which is a two bedroomed apartment on the back of the building lookin over towards Princes Street. There was a huge enterance hallway leading to two well sized bedrooms one with ensuite & a large kitchen/living room. It was clean & well appointed.

Only slight niggle was that the group who were staying directly above us decided to run around (in what sounded like high heels) until 5am shreiking & shouting. This left us feeling a little tired the next morning! Other than that this apartment was lovely & quiet due to being on the opposite side of the building to the Royal Mile. I agree with other comments in relation to luggage, pack light! Its a workout lugging them up the narrow steps & through the gates. You can ditch your bags in the office next door once you check out as long as you pick them up before 7pm when the office closes - great when you've got a late train & want to make the most of your day.

In short I would highly recommend St Giles Apartments. You can't beat the location, they're cleaned to a high standard & are definitely far better value than a hotel particularly if you're in a group.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lou8088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

We stayed at Advocate 2 apartment. We were really happy with our apartment. We couln't have asked for a better location. It is just off the Royal Mile near the St Giles Cathedral. The apartment contained everything we needed. We had a great view of the Walter Scott monument and Princess street. The caretakers are located very close by and were quick to address any issues we had. We had trouble figuring out how to work the washer/dryer and within the hour someone popped over to show us how it worked.
The only issue we had was the noise one could here from the one bedroom located next to Advocate Close. Someone was talking well into the night. The other bedroom, however, was peaceful...no noise was heard. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tharron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Fantastic place - super central location right on the Royal Mile and gorgeous floor to ceiling windows so you can appreciate the view. The apartment amenities were great and made our stay very comfortable. I would definitely stay here again - in fact, I wouldn't mind living there permanently!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#58 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,704 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,036 reviews
Old Town
Stay Edinburgh City Apartments - Royal Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Oakhill Apartments
#3 of 217 in Edinburgh
564 reviews
Southside & Holyrood
Nicolson Apartments
Nicolson Apartments
#32 of 217 in Edinburgh
142 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Princes Street Suites
Princes Street Suites
#5 of 217 in Edinburgh
791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Giles Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Giles Apartments

Address: 375 High Street, Edinburgh EH1 1PW, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Cowgate
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 217 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range: $100 - $313 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — St Giles Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St. Giles Apartments offers self catering accommodation in the heart of Edinburgh at great value for money. Our self catering apartments are furnished to excellent standards, designer finished, fully equipped with all crockery and linens. Situated conveniently for all of Edinburgh’s attractions our apartments make for an exceptional base while visiting our historic city.By staying with us you will find great value when comparing to a city centre hotel but with the added benefit of your own living room, dining area, fully equipped kitchen and most importantly privacy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your St Giles Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Giles Apartments Hotel Edinburgh
St Giles Apartments Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing