We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent apartments”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
St Giles Apartments
Ranked #21 of 218 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Could not fault these apartments, everything was just perfect, location, facilities, cleanliness - just everything. I am very particular and for me to be so impressed is quite something.

Far better than a hotel, with lovely comfortable bedrooms, great sitting area, kitchens with everything you could need, especially with dish washer and washing machine.

I highly recommend these apartments.

Room Tip: There are choices on the number of bedrooms but they are all excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (362)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

233 - 239 of 362 reviews

Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

On my first visit I stayed in St Giles Apartment 1 with the fabulous floor to ceiling windows over looking the cathedral & the quiet bedroom tucked away down a couple of steps at the back which was great for cancelling out the late night stumbling drinkers once bed time came. Great for people watching during the day though! On my second visit I stayed in St Giles Apartment 2 which is a two bedroomed apartment on the back of the building lookin over towards Princes Street. There was a huge enterance hallway leading to two well sized bedrooms one with ensuite & a large kitchen/living room. It was clean & well appointed.

Only slight niggle was that the group who were staying directly above us decided to run around (in what sounded like high heels) until 5am shreiking & shouting. This left us feeling a little tired the next morning! Other than that this apartment was lovely & quiet due to being on the opposite side of the building to the Royal Mile. I agree with other comments in relation to luggage, pack light! Its a workout lugging them up the narrow steps & through the gates. You can ditch your bags in the office next door once you check out as long as you pick them up before 7pm when the office closes - great when you've got a late train & want to make the most of your day.

In short I would highly recommend St Giles Apartments. You can't beat the location, they're cleaned to a high standard & are definitely far better value than a hotel particularly if you're in a group.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lou8088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

We stayed at Advocate 2 apartment. We were really happy with our apartment. We couln't have asked for a better location. It is just off the Royal Mile near the St Giles Cathedral. The apartment contained everything we needed. We had a great view of the Walter Scott monument and Princess street. The caretakers are located very close by and were quick to address any issues we had. We had trouble figuring out how to work the washer/dryer and within the hour someone popped over to show us how it worked.
The only issue we had was the noise one could here from the one bedroom located next to Advocate Close. Someone was talking well into the night. The other bedroom, however, was peaceful...no noise was heard. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tharron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Fantastic place - super central location right on the Royal Mile and gorgeous floor to ceiling windows so you can appreciate the view. The apartment amenities were great and made our stay very comfortable. I would definitely stay here again - in fact, I wouldn't mind living there permanently!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

This was our second time booking with the same company and it we will continue to do so! We arrived three hours early as we were travelling from Yorkshire and wanted to make the most of our first day, our bags were easily checked in and all of the staff were extremely accommodating and friendly. They advised they would text us if our apartment became available early and less than 45 minutes later we were informed we could check in! It was so greatly received after a long journey but by no means expected. Our apartment was like something I have only really ever seen on TV, plush, clean and superbly spacious. I actually cannot sing praises high enough for it. If I were to be extremely pedantic it would be that the plug didnt quite fit in the sink so you couldnt wash the pots and there were no dishwasher tablets. Failing that I cant really find fault. Me and my family will champion this company and this apartment as it made for an absolutely fantastic weekend. The location was second to none and I would highly recommend this to absolutely everyone. Truly amazing. A must!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

We stayed in a 2 bed apartment for one night in readiness for leaving Edinburgh the following morning. Check in was easy, and they were ready early. Directions were easy, within walking distance from the office (We stayed in Fishmarket Close).
The apartment is very nice, great kitchen though we didn't use it, large dining and living area with a big tv for the kids. The bedrooms are tiny, you literally have to navigate around the bed, but given they're just for sleeping in, what does that matter? Bathroom could do with a bit of work, the screen for the shower/bath folds back in when showering and there is very little water pressure. The hot water system is very noisy, even if a cold tap is turned on.

There is no wifi in the apartment, which is a bit of a let down. As we were only there one night, it wasn't a problem but I wouldn't stay there for an extended period without wifi.

Location is great, just off the Royal Mile and within walking distance to Waverley Rail Station.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
Thank Samm1706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Stayed here for the 2nd time in the advocates apartment. The apartment is of a good size and feels spacious. The view of princess street is fantastic. The down side is the apartment hasnt been maintained since I last stayed in June 2010. The main issue is that the sink in the bathroom was smashed, not just cracked, smashed! I reported it and was told the landlord was aware and they were chasing it up with him, it needs to be replaced as a matter of urgency as it is dangerous and could cut some body.

The beds were terrible, the first night i couldn't sleep and nearly went on the sofa.

The main draw to this apartment was location and view which we got, but being sold as 4 stars I think the beds need improvement and general repair of the apartment needs looking at. There also is no WIFI.

As it stands this apartment is 3 stars at best and not 4. If you don't need a kitchen you can get 4 star hotels with better facilities for the same price or cheaper. if you are planning a stay in the advocates apartment i would check first that the sink is fixed.

visited end Nov 2012

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,069 reviews
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#61 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,742 reviews
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#44 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,632 reviews
Old Town
Stay Edinburgh City Apartments - Royal Mile
Oakhill Apartments
#3 of 218 in Edinburgh
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Giles Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Giles Apartments

Address: 375 High Street, Edinburgh EH1 1PW, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Cowgate
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 218 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range: $79 - $363 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — St Giles Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St. Giles Apartments offers self catering accommodation in the heart of Edinburgh at great value for money. Our self catering apartments are furnished to excellent standards, designer finished, fully equipped with all crockery and linens. Situated conveniently for all of Edinburgh’s attractions our apartments make for an exceptional base while visiting our historic city.By staying with us you will find great value when comparing to a city centre hotel but with the added benefit of your own living room, dining area, fully equipped kitchen and most importantly privacy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your St Giles Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Giles Apartments Hotel Edinburgh
St Giles Apartments Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing