We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy place to stay with hospitatlity”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edinburgh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Botanics Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #201 of 392 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Koblenz
1 review
“Cozy place to stay with hospitatlity”
Reviewed September 25, 2009

The house is located very calmly a minute away from the Botanic Garden, but also very close to the old town of Edinburgh (15-20 min walk). It's very convenient as you can make your breakfast by yourself any time you want and Eleanor even let's you use her great kitchen for cooking. A supermarket is near by and parking is absolutely no issue. The airport can be reach by cap within 20 min for 17 Pounds. I definitely recommend this place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saxonygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
32
15
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Arkansas
1 review
Reviewed August 9, 2009

As the subtle smell of speet peas lulls you into the most comfortable bed and pillows, you can breathe in the fresh frangrances of the garden provided for both beauty and peaceful contentment and Botanics B & B. Having been a visitor to this delightfully friendly, beautiful country before, my most recent experience at Botanics B & B will, no doubt, be my recommendation for anyone I know heading in this direction. When I return, I'll change my plans to be sure of an accomodation in Botanics B & B.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissAstor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
2 reviews
Reviewed July 25, 2009

It's a nice and beautiful place, very quiet and peaceful which is near the nature. The host is great and has been very helpful.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen_Sim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2009

First of all, Eleanor : To us, she was more a friend than a host. She didn't disappeare behind a door after introducing the rooms, but she shares her lovely house with you. She dedicates time to give generous advice to tourists of Edinborrow and Scotland.
The kitchen is open to guests and a dream for everyone who loves cooking!
The B&B is very well situated just vis-à-vis of a big and very reputated botanic garden.

Eleanor is a wonderful woman devoted to the well-beeing of her guests. We wish her all the best and we recommand the Botanics to anyone, who is devoted to be a good guest.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank captnfuture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashbourne
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 14, 2009

What a super B&B! An excellent location virtually opposite the Botanic gardens, easy for either walking to the centre or for catching a convenient bus. A very warm welcome from Eleanor made for a relaxing start to our short break. The house was very clean and tastefully decorated. The continental breakfast was generous, the bedroom cosy and the bed very comfortable. It made a perfect base for our holiday.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pianistAshbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheltenham
1 review
Reviewed May 14, 2009

The location near the Botanic Gardens and a short walk from the city combined with the well appointed home make this B&B ideal .

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fizzCheltenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
2 reviews
Reviewed May 13, 2009

Staying at the Botanics is like staying at the home of a good friend. I only wish more of my good friends had beauftiful houses in elegant and accessible parts of the finest cities of europe! Eleanor made us feel most welcome and we quickly discovered how convenient it was for exploring Edinburgh.
Having left the car in the parking area adjacent to the Botanics, we (three of us) mostly walked to the many sights of this beautiful city, sometimes through the Botanic Gardens (about 100m away!!) and sometimes along the delightful 'Water of Leith Walkway' that follows the citiy's river for much of its length. When we felt tired we simply caught a bus - a selection run into Princes St from the end of the road.
Breakfast was 'help yourself' from a wide range of cereals, fruit, yoghurt etc and on two evenings we used Eleanor's large and well equipped kitchen to prepare a meal for ourselves.
We also made good use of the large number of excellent cafes etc that are to be found in the New Town and Stockbridge.
The bedrooms were immaculately clean and very comfortable and there was no noise at all from the other flats in this beautiful house - helped by being effectively a rear annexe to the main property. The sitting room was very tastefully decorated and great for relaxing in.
This was the perfect spot for our four days break.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Retiredchemist35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#87 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,529 reviews
Village Hotel Edinburgh
#63 of 149 in Edinburgh
2,354 reviews
West End
West End Hotel
West End Hotel
#101 of 392 in Edinburgh
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dakota Edinburgh
#1 of 4 in South Queensferry
1,930 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Botanics Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Botanics Bed & Breakfast

Property: Botanics Bed & Breakfast
Address: Inverleith Place | New Town, Stockbridge, Inverleith, Edinburgh EH3 5QB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #201 of 392 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
RE-OPENING IN JULY 2014 AFTER BEING CLOSED SINCE MAY 2010. The Botanics B&B is a small, friendly Bed and Breakfast offering rooms in a private home on the doorstep of the Royal Botanic Gardens in Edinburgh; a stone's throw away from the city centre and situated between Edinburgh's New Town, Stockbridge and Trinity. A stylish, recently refurbished house decorated with a mix of antiques and objects collected from around the world, Botanics B & B is a vibrant home full of character and the ideal base for those on city breaks, singles, couples, and overseas visitors looking for a quiet room in the city for a few nights. Visitors to the Edinburgh Festival, Festival Fringe, Edinburgh Film Festival and Winter Festival are also very welcome. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Botanics Bed & Breakfast Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing