We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So sad it's closed”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of san marco - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
san marco
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Stockbridge & Dean Village
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“So sad it's closed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

This is one of my first memories of Edinburgh and have eaten several time since. The atmosphere was lovely and the food was a high quality. Will miss this treasure in the Stockbridge part of Edinburgh.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie1411 L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    8
    3
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dunbar, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
175 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Almost like going to a friends house to eat! :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

Great atmosphere and all the staff are so very friendly! Such a change in todays sterile world! Superb choice on their menu and when your choice arrives at the table it's visually mouth-watering! I asked to change some of the ingredients in a Calzone for my own choice (don't like spicy sausage) and it was done without any fuss. Excellent house wine too if you like a wee tipple! Good price, good company and delicious food - could you ask for more? :)

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

Have visited this restaurant many many times over the years and always had a great meal, staff are brilliant and prices average.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank marnoch1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great family restaurant that never disappoints !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

Fantastic family restaurant that never disappoints. Had many a family occasion in there and the staff are excellent and really make you feel welcome. Food is consistently excellent. Been going there for years and would always recommend, saw sir Sean Connery in there one night, says it all.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HEARTSTOPPER22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern England
Level Contributor
130 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Consistent and good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

My wife and I usually eat here when we're in Edinburgh for a day or two. The two chaps who run it are jovial and attentive and the food has invariably been of a high standard. Prices are reasonable for a location such as this and I hope that I shall dine here for many more years to come.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank redhenry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed san marco also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing