We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Expected more..” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of san marco - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
san marco
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Stockbridge & Dean Village
Glyfada, Greece
Level Contributor
32 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Expected more..”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

Went there on a Saturday night having made a reservation the previous day.The restaurant was fairly busy,but we were seated immediately.The waiter was polite,friendly and promptly took our drinks order,however we were not shown a wine list,and only found out the price of the wine when the food menus appeared.
We ordered the garlic bread with mozzarella and a Caesars salad for starters.The garlic bread was ok, but the salad was awful.It tasted watery and as if it had been sitting in the fridge for a while.The croutons are homemade,but tasteless and very hard.
Our main courses were a spaghetti Carbonara and a tagliatelle Papalina. The tagliatelle was ok,had enough flavor and ingredients were fresh but the Carbonara was just milky and bland.
Desert was tragic.We ordered a Tiramisu to share,which had obviously spent a while in the fridge as the sponge was soggy and water was left in the bottom of the bowl.
All in all service was good and the waiting staff polite,although you do get the sense that they are trying to rush you out the door after your meal is done.
For all the above we paid 50 pounds plus tip.

I would not consider this a classic Italian restaurant,for me its more of a comfort Italian like restaurant, that has Europeanised its flavors for the greater public.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CorinaLaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    8
    3
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

Good standard. Prices reasonable but be selective Friendly staff.Parking difficult best to visit by public transport as it is on several bus routes or walk!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank kenneth t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth and Kinross, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
164 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Great place for classic Italian hospitality”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

Friendly staff and classic Italian dishes make this a very good place for lunch without costing the earth. Starters can be had very cheaply and main courses seemed to range from approx £4 to approx £7 which, bearing in mind in the substantial portions, represents excellent value. I enjoyed medallions of pork whilst my lunching companion tucked into chicken stroganoff. Acceptable vino rosso to wash it all down. A great place to go if you are in the Stockbridge area.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank fatherdoo2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Lovely staff but food average.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

We went with 3 children and the staff were just so friendly and welcoming. The food was fine - nothing to shout about. I had a tortellini dish which was ok. The tortellini was not homemade as claimed but was ok. Pizzas again ok but not outstanding. I think they could be very good if put bit more effort into thier kitchen as waiting were fab.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank forhm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Brilliant Cuisine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

If you are looking for a lovely meal in the evening look no further than this delightful restaurant in Stockbridge. They also do a nice lunchtime menu and take away facilities too. Linked to Frankos fish and chip shop I beleive which is also an excellent meal.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamjacks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed san marco also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing