We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stirling Castle, Loch Lomond & Glengoyne Distillery - perfect day!”

Highland Experience Tours
Ranked #38 of 235 Tours in Edinburgh
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: We offer 1-9 day, fun and friendly, guided tours around Scotland to Loch Ness, Glen Coe, Skye, Mull, Orkney, Hebrides... and much more. We also offer 1-3 day guided tours in Spanish around Scotland.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children
Reviewed March 28, 2012

We were taken on this tour by the hilarious and knowledgable Colin McNeil. On our way to Stirling Castle, we made a stop at the Forth Railway Bridge, which was fantastic, and he gave us all sorts of information on that. Stirling Castle was beautiful and we had an hour and a half to look around (we could have used more, it was amazing!), and from there we got to Loch Lomond for lunch and sightseeing. Then onto the distillery, very good whiskey and a really cool tour. We also made a stop to see Hamish, the highland cow! The whole drive there/back we got a dramatic and extremely informative story-telling by Colin on the life of William Wallace, we got lots of info about basically everything we passed (the man is full of facts about everything, it's wonderful!), and we really had a great time thanks to him.

Thank Aneleyse H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
highland, Front Office Manager at Highland Experience Tours, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2012

Thank you so much. We will make sure Colin reads your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,138)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"glen coe"
in 234 reviews
"stirling castle"
in 265 reviews
"loch lomond"
in 214 reviews
"day tour"
in 596 reviews
"isle of skye"
in 184 reviews
"glengoyne distillery"
in 84 reviews
"guide sergio"
in 41 reviews
"john paul"
in 23 reviews
"scottish highlands"
in 116 reviews
"fort augustus"
in 58 reviews
"great tour"
in 141 reviews
"holy grail"
in 23 reviews
"extra stops"
in 29 reviews
"ben nevis"
in 25 reviews
"his knowledge"
in 73 reviews
"beautiful scenery"
in 63 reviews
"photo stops"
in 30 reviews
Filter

2,492 - 2,496 of 3,138 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2012

Took a tour with my wife and Ian is the best guide ever. Very funny and informative. He has such a passion for Scotland. We did the Stirling Castle trip with stops at a abbey where Robert the Bruce was buried. We also visited Roslyn Chapel which was amazing. I took two tours with another company while in London and this was much better and Ian had everything to do with it.

Thank Skyler V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
highland, Front Office Manager at Highland Experience Tours, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2012

Thank you If you are going to Rosslyn then you must go with Iain. Even the other driver/guides think that he is the best at this tour.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2012

Fantastic tour and a fantastic guide, Iain. Helpful and friendly, very passionate about Scotland, we couldn't have asked for a better guide to lead us in our Quest for the Holy Grail!!! We went to the Dunfermline Abbey, the Robert the Bruce Memorial, the Stirling Castle, Bannockburn and Roslyn Chapel - what an amazing day! Now we are totally in love with Scotland!

We look forward to going to Edinburgh again and book a longer tour. We highly recommend Highlands Experience.

Thank Camila_Souza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
highland, Front Office Manager at Highland Experience Tours, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2012

WOW. Three fabby reviews for Iain one after the other. I need to go on one of his tours soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2012

Did the Loch Lomond/Stirling Castle/Whiskey Distillery tour with Iain today, had the best day! Iain was fantastic and the places we went to were just beautiful, the scenery was just out of this world! Tour wasent too long which made a difference! Plus small group sizes too which helps! Def reccomed this tour when visiting Edinburgh!

Thank djfreda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
highland, Front Office Manager at Highland Experience Tours, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2012

Another great review for Iain. He is really doing a brilliant job.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed March 25, 2012

A well animated and interesting tour including Dunfirmline Abbey, the Robert the Bruce Memorial, Stirling Castle and Roslyn Chapel... great fun, lead by a knowledgeable and interesting tour guide, Iain.

1  Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
highland, Front Office Manager at Highland Experience Tours, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2012

Delighted to hear how much you enjoyed the trip. Rosslyn is certainly unmissable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Highland Experience Tours also viewed

 

Been to Highland Experience Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing