We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay in the Capitol City”
Review of 23 Mayfield

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
23 Mayfield
Ranked #4 of 394 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 7, 2010

I stayed for 3 nights overall at 23 Mayfield in October 2010. I'd stayed in Ross Bernie's previous B&B, the Aonach Mor, and so was really happy to have the opportunity to stay at his new B&B. I wasn't disappointed! Ross has pulled out all stops to make 23 Mayfield a super location from which to enjoy Edinburgh and surrounding area.

The B&B is in a great location and within easy walking distance (15 minutes or so) of the Royal Mile. You can also catch the bus quite easily if you prefer, but I'd recommend the walk as you get to see some great shops and restaurants on the way. From 23 Mayfield you can also see Arthur's Seat and if you fancy have a wee walk or run up the side of the extinct volcano.

The rooms at 23 Mayfield are superbly decorated and marvelously comfortable and the bathrooms are sybaritic. Ross has restored the building to its previous glory and you will have a great time looking at the stained glass windows, the plaster decorations, as well as get a real feel for the life of Victorian gentry in the dining room and lounge. The breakfast at 23 Mayfield is 1st rate and world class and Ross is a superb chef. My favorite is his salmon and scrambled eggs, but there are other extraordinary options available as well.

I had a wonderful stay at 23 Mayfield and am looking forward to enjoying another visit soon!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carl_Pritchett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (982)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

769 - 775 of 982 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2010

The inn is old with wonderful history and architecture, all beautifully decorated. Our room was absolutely elegant, romantic, comfortable with top of the line en suite bathroom. Breakfasts were made to order and excellent, served in elegant dining room. Our host, Ross, helped us to plan our daily excursions, restaurants, and transportation (which was conveniently located near a bus stop so that we didn't have to use our rental car in the city of Edinburgh). Edinburgh, a must see, there is too much to write about. The website for 23 Mayfield has wonderful pictures that were right on.

Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
1  Thank sewgrammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2010

Myself and extended family stayed at 23 Mayfield and enjoyed our stay. Ross our host couldnt have been more welcoming. Highly Recommend if you are looking for a 1st class B&B in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CWfrom_OZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2010

Our stay in the Grand Jacobean room was just amazing. The room was as luxurious as its name implies - the room was large, the king size bed very comfortable, and the dual leather wingback chairs an ideal place to sip Scotch after a hard day sightseeing in Edinburgh.

Ross, the hotelier, was very friendly and helpful, and is continuing to make improvements on what is already a gorgeous house. His breakfasts are amazing - try the specials, if available!

Only a mile from the Royal Mile, and within walking distance of some nice restaurants.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Becky04222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2010

My husband and I stayed at 23 Mayfield for 5 nights. We loved it. It was an excellent value. Breakfast every morning was great. When we had to leave early for a bus tour, they put out a continental breakfast selection (extra early departure). The proprietor was Ross, he was very friendly and helpful. The place is about 1 mile away from the City Centre. This was not a big deal; we bought a bus pass because we were staying for almost a week. It was right on the main bus line. We saved a lot of money by getting a place that was a mile away from the City Centre and it really wasn't a big deal. I highly recommend it. There was a computer off the family room with high speed Internet; guests were welcome to use this computer. It was very handy. Also, they kept some beer and wine in stock for guests; you could take a beer or a bottle of wine and pay for it using an honor system.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RosemaryFF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2010

The owners have done wonderful work restoring this home to an elegant level. First class in every way. Beautiful antiques and all the modern conveniences, too. There is ample parking on the grounds and a bus stop very nearby to take you into the center of Edinburgh. Also, good neighborhood restaurants that are in walking distance. Ross, the owner, recommended Positano (good authentic Italian food) and Home Bistro, which was a small, friendly bistro with excellent food. We had an excellent stay here at 23 Mayfield and would recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tntOrlando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2010

We picked Number 23 from the Trip Advisor reviews and rating.
Our Booking was quite late and we had the last room in the house but were not disappointed.
The room we had was the Roccoco Room which was Ground Floor and very recently refurbished.
Very Comfortable, Quiet and Well Appointed. The Bathroom had a Bath Tub and Shower over.
Ross the Owner was a fountain of knowledge and tourist information, Just what we needed on a First Visit to Edinburgh.
Breakfast ; Excellent Choice and Quality. You Choose time and type of food during the evening on a special order form. Choice reflected the large number of American Visitors requirements.
Overall decoration and presentation of this wonderful house was a joy to behold.
Beautifully fresh and Immaculate Presentation. Recommended!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#8 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,423 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,048 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barony House
#2 of 394 in Edinburgh
762 reviews
94DR
#5 of 394 in Edinburgh
571 reviews
Kingsway Guest House
#12 of 394 in Edinburgh
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 23 Mayfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 23 Mayfield

Address: 23 Mayfield Gardens | Newington, Edinburgh EH9 2BX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 394 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: $164 - $239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — 23 Mayfield 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning Boutique Guest House built in 1868 in the Victorian era, situated just over one mile from the Royal Mile,**DON'T FORGET TO BOOK DIRECT TO SAVE,on 23 Mayfield own site **, on the main bus route into Edinburgh city centre. The guest house offers easy access to many places of interest such as Holyrood Palace, Edinburgh Castle, the Scottish Parliament and Princes Street, which are all within a one mile radius. We have FREE PARKING FOR DIRECT BOOKING FROM OUR OWN WEBSITE, Club room,Front Garden, FREE Wi-Fi, all rooms newly refurbished and are en-suite. REVIEWED BY THE TIMES TOP 15 IN BRITIAN, 5 STAR GOLD Scottish tourist board. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your 23 Mayfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
23 Mayfield Hotel Edinburgh
23 Mayfield Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing