We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and great host with the cutest baby!!”
Review of 23 Mayfield

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
23 Mayfield
Ranked #5 of 393 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Really enjoyed our stay. Room was very comfortable - great tv and DVD set up so watched Braveheart to prepare us for our Stirling Castle visit. Enjoyed the homemade breakfast - loved the pancakes!! Bought a bus pass each day which really made it easy to tour the city. Did not find any restaurants around the B&B, but we were mainly in the city during the day until the evening and ate there. Very quiet area which was nice. Post office not too far away so could mail some stuff home. PC and printer made it easy to book and print tickets for attractions to skip lines.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CMEWALK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (966)
There are newer reviews for 23 Mayfield
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

427 - 433 of 966 reviews

Reviewed October 18, 2013

We spent 2 glorious nights at 23 Mayfield and what an amazing stay it was. Ross and his team are just excellent. Our room was just lovely and would have been quite happy staying there all weekend! The whole place is just done out wonderful and you get such a welcome feel as soon as you enter the building and we were made very welcome on arrival. The breakfast and service is second to none. We go on lot's of cruises so our expectations are always high, but 23 Mayfield exceeded and we will certainly return in the near future.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

On arrival we were greeted by Ross and made to feel extremely welcome. A short tour of the property and then shown to our room (room 2). Really was a beautifully laid out room with the biggest bed I have seen with a lovely en suite with raindrop shower. Homemade Tablet on table was a nice touch. Cracking stereo system in room as well and everything really was top notch. In the morning the breakfast really was second to none. An absolute delight. We both had the porridge which was excellent. And then the cooked breakfast which really would not be out of place in a top restaurant. Overall this really is a gem and we will certainly be back for another visit.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank happyhappyhappyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

4 night stay , wish it could of been longer.
Warm, sincere welcome from Ross,who was always happy to advice on restaurants and places to visit in the area.
House is stunning , our room was cozy and spacious,. Great 'extras' like ipod / iphone (4) docking on music center, WII, telescope( room on 2nd floor) for star gazing over Arthur's seat .wonderful over head shower.
Superb quality breakfast, ( haddock was fab)! everything perfectly cooked by Ross, who always came in to ask how everything was, along with his team Neil & Sonia.
I have been trying to think of at least one little moan, but no, our stay was perfect.
This is what good hospitality is all about. Worth every penny . Ross & team work very hard and it shows.

Room Tip: Room 8 - spacious, good view & quiet, but on 2nd floor so if difficultly with stairs , avoid
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pumaparker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

This is a really lovely place to stay, from the moment we arrived we were offered amazing hospitality from our hosts. Our room was absolutely lovely, everywhere was spotlessly clean, every attention to detail has been taken. Fantastic breakfast and very attentive staff. Also I must mention we have stayed lots of times in Edinburgh and this house was lovely and warm which has not always been the case before. We can't recommend here enough, and we are really looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julliec725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

My wife and I spent two nights here at the start of a two week vacation throughout Britain. We are experienced travelers and understand the effects of jet lag; I booked this B&B with the intentions of having nothing to worry about and full relaxation as to get over the time change quicker, 23 Mayfield excelled at this. We booked the Grand Jacobean and it was just that, grand! The carpet was soft as clouds, the bed was supremely comfortable (and beautiful) and the bathroom was practical and modern (everything was spotlessly clean). I'm sure the other rooms are great, but I felt the GJ was worth the splurge on price.

It was easy to get to 23 Mayfield from the airport. We took the Lothian bus from the airport to the city center and then grabbed a taxi to 23 Mayfield (taxi cost about six pounds). It is possible to walk from the city center to 23 Mayfield, but my wife and I did not find the adventure worth it with our luggage.

23 Mayfield made for a great base for exploring Edinburgh. The one suggestion I have for people is to figure the bus system out prior to trying to use it. As an American with little experience with public transportation, it took me a few times to figure the bus network out (friendly locals on the busses are great resources for knowing when to get off).

Ross is an amazing host. My wife and I were thrilled each morning with breakfast. I've never been so full. We never needed to eat lunch. Ross also has great suggestions for dinner locations. Don't wait until you get there to ask, shoot an email and ask Ross for suggestions, and he might even book it for you! Also, while crashing in our room one afternoon to recharge our energy, Ross gave a knock on our door and offered us some wonderful finger foods to nibble on, unexpected but very welcome!

Lastly, I must mention Ross's mother. She was an absolute delight and made for an amazing start of our vacation. My wife and I arrived early (nearly four hours before check-in) and when we rang the bell his mother greeted us and gave us a full tour of the property, took us to our room (very early!) and answered our questions about the city. After over twelve hours of airports and flying it was refreshing to have such a nice person greet us to this wonderful B&B! Ross is great, but there is something to be said about a gentle motherly figure welcoming you.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Traveling-Illini4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Well worth paying a little extra over the norm to stay here. You certainly get what you pay for - undoubted luxury and thoughtful touches everywhere. The place is spotlessly-clean and well run - but certainly not "stuffy". Breakfast was superbly cooked. Location was a little out of the centre (which is what we wanted in any case), but this means a 10-15min walk into town or hop on the bus across the road. I would recommend this place in a heartbeat

Room Tip: I wouldn't think they had a bad room!!
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JamesGodbehere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#12 of 150 in Edinburgh
3,852 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 150 in Edinburgh
981 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prestonfield
#4 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,146 reviews
Barony House
#2 of 393 in Edinburgh
744 reviews
94DR
#6 of 393 in Edinburgh
556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 23 Mayfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 23 Mayfield

Address: 23 Mayfield Gardens | Newington, Edinburgh EH9 2BX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 393 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: $168 - $255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — 23 Mayfield 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning Boutique Guest House built in 1868 in the Victorian era, situated just over one mile from the Royal Mile,**DON'T FORGET TO BOOK DIRECT TO SAVE, 23 Mayfield **, on the main bus route into Edinburgh city centre. The guest house offers easy access to many places of interest such as Holyrood Palace, Edinburgh Castle, the Scottish Parliament and Princes Street, which are all within a one mile radius. We have FREE PARKING FOR DIRECT BOOKING FROM OUR OWN WEBSITE, Club room,Garden, FREE Wi-Fi, all rooms newly refurbished and are en-suite. REVIEWED BY THE TIMES TOP 15 IN BRITIAN, 5 STAR GOLD Scottish tourist board. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your 23 Mayfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
23 Mayfield Hotel Edinburgh
23 Mayfield Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing