We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Coffee Man”
Review of 23 Mayfield

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
23 Mayfield
Ranked #2 of 389 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bonn, Germany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Coffee Man”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

The title of this review refers to an inside joke between the owner, Ross, and us, so he can identify the writers. ;-) We had a great night at this luxury guesthouse during our two weeks' Scotland trip. Of course, if you come from the very quiet highlands, you can't expect the same in a busy city like Edinburgh, so we won't compare. However, regarding the fact that it was very close to the Royal Mile and we had only one day to visit this fantastic European city, it was just perfect for us.
Ross, the owner, was very helpful and had a natural friendliness and sense of humour we liked a lot. Friendliness is always a must for us, but it sometimes can be false and a bit too much, which was not the case here. For example, when my husband asked for a Starbucks, as we had had so many really horrible coffees during our trip and he wanted to be on the safe side, Ross rolled his eyes and teased him a bit, but in a very pleasant way. On top, he recommended us some really good cafés, which is always very helpful in a city you don't know. He showed and explained everything in the house to us in person and also recommended a very good restaurant for the evening. The room had some modern features we didn't really need, but which showed that it didn't just call itself a luxury guesthouse but took this seriously.
Also, breakfast was presented very nicely and was very tasty. Ross cooked it himself and had a nice chat with everybody in the breakfast room, so you really felt at home. For us, it was mainly the way we were treated there that made the difference, though everything else left nothing to be desired either. We were really impressed, because especially in a big city like this with lots of different guests all the time, it must be very hard to treat everybody personally and not to become anonymous. The stay was not cheap, but certainly worth the price. Thanks again, Ross.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

936 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    892
    37
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
169
547
33
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stillwater, Minnesota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

My husband and I and two cousins spent a week in Edinburgh and were extremely pleased to have made the decision to stay at 23 Mayfield. The hospitality of the owners, Ross and Katherine, was outstanding--friendly, helpful and they were always available to provide advice and help. The beds were very comfortable, the rooms were well designed, and the bathrooms were totally up to the highest standards of comfort. There are nice options for relaxing outside of the rooms, too, both in the living room (and honesty bar) and in a cozy backyard "gazebo" with leather chairs, reading material and music system. The location of this B&B is away from the hustle and bustle of the Royal Mile, but all the attractions of the city are easily accessible by bus near the front door, or a short taxi ride (usually about 6 pounds to go anywhere). Breakfast always offers a wide array of options, including your choice from a lot of items cooked to order, or the full traditional Irish breakfast. A lot of choices are available for vegetarians, including a very tasty vegetarian haggis(!). It is worth noting that when providing the address to any taxi driver it is important to state that the address is 23 Mayfield GARDENS. There are a couple of other Mayfields (Ave., Terrace, etc.) nearby and this did confuse a couple of our taxi drivers. All in all, we would hightly recommend 23 Mayfield to anyone seeking a great, affordable home base while exploring Edinburgh.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wendelandsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greeley, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

This B&B made our trip to Edingburgh memorable in so many ways. First of all Ross is a gem, personable, with great suggestions and a fantastic host and chef! The decor is a beautiful manor house with raised paneling, comfy beds, modern showers, an elegant breakfast parlor and a welcoming lounge. Ross suggested hiking the Holyrood Gardens near Arthur's Seat on the way into town which gives you a fantastic vantage point to see the city and the hike ends at the Parliament and you are immediately on the Royal Mile. The Whisky Tour on the Royal Mile is a great intro to Scotch. Ross also suggested the Salisbury Arms (withing walking distance) for a relaxing dinner and Angels with Bagpipes (Royal Mile)for a treat which were both outstanding. He is busy so book early!

Room Tip: All the rooms seem good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sheldonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Wonderful B&B. Lovely breakfast choices and excellent service. Great location from Edinburgh town centre. Stunning bedrooms, perfect for couples on a city break! We stayed in the Grand Jacobean in an enormous bed!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emhoban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Stayed for 4 nights and would heartly recommend to anyone, could not fault the accommodation and friendly welcome. Good choice on Breakfast menu and was well cooked and presented, set you up for the day ahead. Very convenient for the city centre (Royal Mile) with good public transport just outside the property.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Wisconsin, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 11, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at 23 Mayfield for 3 nights. We chose this particular B & B due, primarily, to its excellent reviews on Trip Advisor. We were not disappointed. Upon our arrival, we received a warm and friendly welcome from Ross who informed us that we were receiving an upgraded room at no cost - nice! He then gave us a short tour of his beautiful home and showed us to our room which was impeccably decorated and spotlessly clean. He was also kind enough to give us a map of Edinburgh upon which he drew a route for a scenic walk to Old Town. Each day we had a fantastic breakfast with food prepared and presented in a way that would rival most 4 star restaurants. Stay here; you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albert, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

23 Mayfield is awesome. Close enough to the Royal Mile and all the action to be walkable, yet far enough away to enjoy some peaceful moments. The rooms were spotless, the breakfasts were large and delicious, the experience was a total treat.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tazyeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 147 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 890 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 147 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,784 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barony House
#4 of 389 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
Kew House
#6 of 389 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
94DR
#9 of 389 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 23 Mayfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 23 Mayfield

Property: 23 Mayfield
Address: 23 Mayfield Gardens | Newington, Edinburgh EH9 2BX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 389 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — 23 Mayfield 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning Boutique Guest House built in 1868 in the Victorian era, situated just over one mile from the Royal Mile,**DON'T FORGET TO BOOK DIRECT TO SAVE, 23 Mayfield **, on the main bus route into Edinburgh city centre. The guest house offers easy access to many places of interest such as Holyrood Palace, Edinburgh Castle, the Scottish Parliament and Princes Street, which are all within a one mile radius. We have FREE PARKING FOR DIRECT BOOKING FROM OUR OWN WEBSITE, Club room,Garden, FREE Wi-Fi, all rooms newly refurbished and are en-suite. REVIEWED BY THE TIMES TOP 15 IN BRITIAN, 5 STAR GOLD Scottish tourist board. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your 23 Mayfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
23 Mayfield Hotel Edinburgh
23 Mayfield Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing