We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay and excellent service!”
Review of 23 Mayfield

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
23 Mayfield
Ranked #4 of 393 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We always stay at this B&B when visiting Edinburgh, the reason is as follows. The Welcome from hosts Ross & Kathleen are always friendly and very accommodating, helping choose restaurants, places to visit or suggesting something different, nothing is too much trouble . The rooms are beautiful and decorated to a high standard so clean and comfortable. The breakfasts are amazing so many choices, and freshly cooked, just remember to hand in your breakfast choices the night before, this helps the hosts to know what they have to cater for, then in the morning just sit back and enjoy! We also had to leave early one morning to catch a train, and handed in our breakfast choices the night before, the continental breakfast was superb, fruits, yogurts, cereals pastries, cheese, ham,croissants, juices tea & coffee etc. So I can't understand the last reviewers disappointment, unless their choices hadn't been handed in the night before. We also pay the day before or earlier, we know they will be busy with breakfasts early morning. We have also recommended many colleagues and friends who have also had an enjoyable stay at 23 Mayfield.
Congratulations to Ross & Kathleen who are expecting their child. Hope to visit you again soon.

Room Tip: We have enjoyed all the rooms that we have stayed in.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ellen39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (966)
There are newer reviews for 23 Mayfield
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

526 - 532 of 966 reviews

Reviewed January 8, 2013

I dont normally write reviews but after reading PearLChiangmai i feel i have to!
The hosts made my stay very very comfortable and couldnt do enough to help my stay at 23 Mayfield. i was over visting family from Australia and loved every minute.
Perhaps the youg "lady" should have set her alarm and paid her bill the night before?
Anyway its a top place to stay as long as you set your alarm!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fasttony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Maybe I had expected too much from this beautiful place. But I couldn't’ help it after had been staying at 4 B&B all over the UK during my vacation where I found their services were impeccable and nothing was too trouble for the hosts (see my other reviews). But it was not that at 23 Mayfield.

We informed them twice (before our arrival and upon our arrival) that on our check out date we had to leave early (exactly just 15 mins before breakfast started) to catch a train back to London and hoped to have something to eat before our 7 hours trip. We wouldn't expect a full glamorous breakfast, but at least some pastries and toast or fruit would have been nice. But we had to find whatever they had on the breakfast buffet table which practically had only dry cereal without milk and yogurt. We had to seek them out that morning in order to pay our bill. Neither of them seemed to care much of us. If I wanted this type of service, I would have just paid the same price (£104) and instead stayed at 3 star hotels in the old town to save our trouble to catch a night bus back from the city every night.

On the plus side, the breakfast is really fabulous and the property is very luxury and beautiful deserved five stars B&B, although, only 3 stars customer service for us.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Castle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

My wife and I stayed here several years ago on my first visit to Scotland. We stayed at 23 Mayfield during our time in Edinburgh and I really enjoyed the experience. Was worth every pound and pence and then some! Everything about this B&B was excellent...the staff, our room, the food for breakfast each morning...exceptional. It was one of the most comfortable away from home stays I've had anywhere. Our room was lovely with a king bed and private bath. Ross and his staff were exceptionally friendly and made us feel at home. After our time in Edinburgh I actually missed this place and still very much want to stay here again on future visits to Edinburgh. Can't say that for any hotel! Actually we were just in Edinburgh again recently, and decided to stay in closer in to the city center, off the Royal Mile, in a chain hotel. Terrible mistake in my opinion and I lamented knowing 23 Mayfield wasn't that far up the road all warm, cozy, and personable, with those wonderful breakfasts each morning. Next time though, we shall return!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SLee73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

We booked here because we liked the look of the house, the original features, fabulously decorated and liked the look of breakfast. If anything it's better in reallife than the photos on the website. A warm welcome from Ross's wife (sorry forgot your name) - couldn't be more helpful, as was Ross and the lass who served us breakfast. Never been to Edinburgh before, so appreciated the advice on where to go and especially where to eat. Breakfast was indulgent and we ate far too much. Stayed four nights so went through the breakfast menu. Everything was great, but the pancakes were something special.
We preferred been a little out of town. Didn't notice the walk into town with interesting shops, etc on the way.
Bad points - your diet will be ruined, and you'll be torn with going out in Edinburgh or staying in.
Will be back.

Room Tip: Stayed in the Colonial Room, which was smaller but perfectly formed.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NeilWBlackpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights in December. The place is fantastic, the pictures on the website don't do it enough justice. It's a beautiful house with gorgeous rooms and lots of space. We didn't want to go out when we arrived, it seemed a shame to not spend more time in our room! The breakfast was really good, lots of choice- try the French toast- not to be missed!
Would go back to Edinburgh just to stay here again

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cfvarley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Stayed here numerous times now and cannot fault it. Superb breakfast. Very clean, elegant and comfortable bedrooms. Marvellous host and staff. Convenient location for transport to city centre. There are a number of excellent, small eateries within easy wlaking distance such as Cafe Cassis and Hewatts. Free Wifi throughout comletes the top class package. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DieHoek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#13 of 150 in Edinburgh
3,852 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 150 in Edinburgh
982 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prestonfield
#4 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,146 reviews
Barony House
#2 of 393 in Edinburgh
745 reviews
94DR
#7 of 393 in Edinburgh
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 23 Mayfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 23 Mayfield

Address: 23 Mayfield Gardens | Newington, Edinburgh EH9 2BX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 393 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: $167 - $255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — 23 Mayfield 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning Boutique Guest House built in 1868 in the Victorian era, situated just over one mile from the Royal Mile,**DON'T FORGET TO BOOK DIRECT TO SAVE, 23 Mayfield **, on the main bus route into Edinburgh city centre. The guest house offers easy access to many places of interest such as Holyrood Palace, Edinburgh Castle, the Scottish Parliament and Princes Street, which are all within a one mile radius. We have FREE PARKING FOR DIRECT BOOKING FROM OUR OWN WEBSITE, Club room,Garden, FREE Wi-Fi, all rooms newly refurbished and are en-suite. REVIEWED BY THE TIMES TOP 15 IN BRITIAN, 5 STAR GOLD Scottish tourist board. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your 23 Mayfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
23 Mayfield Hotel Edinburgh
23 Mayfield Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing