We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another fabulous stay at 23 Mayfield.”
Review of 23 Mayfield

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
23 Mayfield
Ranked #4 of 392 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Blackpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Another fabulous stay at 23 Mayfield.”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

My husband and I stayed at 23 Mayfield in October 2011 for a brief honeymoon. We have two small children and could only manage to get away for a couple of nights, and having visited Edinburgh earlier in the year for a friends wedding we were very keen to return. We booked the Grand Jacobean room, and on arrival were just flabbergasted by the beauty and luxury of the room, the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff and the utter yumminess of the Scottish Breakfast! So for our anniversary this year we decided to return - again only for a couple of nights, this time staying in the Premier Jacobean room ( I think we will try a different room each year...) and again it was incredible. A couple of days in comfort and luxury, lounging on a four-poster in snuggly dressing gowns and having beds made, tidying up and breakfast made by SOMEONE ELSE!! Absolute bliss for parents of a 1 and a 3 year old! Edinburgh city centre easily walking distance, but bus stop just across the road anyway. We were extremely happy with our return visit and fully intend to come back next year.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LauraCarys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

951 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    905
    38
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
171
560
33
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

23 Mayfield is my home away from home when in Edinburgh. I stay here whenever I'm in town. Having tried some of the hotels I've found nothing in my experience beats 23 Mayfield for comfort, price, breakfast, or friendliness of hosts and care of guests. 23 Mayfield is a wonderfully restored Victorian house giving the perfect Edinburgh experience. The rooms have been fully updated so that while you get 19th century elegance in the exterior and breakfast and club rooms, you get 21st century amenities in your bathroom and bedroom. Most rooms I've stayed in had wood paneling, king size beds, gilded sconces and chandeliers with more than adequate lighting - important for my senior eyes, LCD televisions, and everything done with an eye to comfort and class.

This trip I stayed four days at 23 Mayfield and especially enjoyed the club room with its Bose music system and fire and leather couches which allowed me to really relax and wind down after shopping and sight seeing. There's a lot to be said for enjoying the luxury of doing nothing and the club room at 23 Mayfield lets you do it in style. The breakfast at 23 Mayfield has always been marvelous. My favorite remains the scrambled egss and salmon, but the pancakes have moved up a close 2nd. If you haven't tried a full Scottish breakfast, there's no better place to start than here with quality local products.

Ross, his mum, and the staff are very attentive yet not intrusive and always able to give you the latest inside information of what's happening and where the best place to eat is. The bus is really close and you can get a cab in an instant, but I recommend just walking into the city or better yet, giving Arthur's Seat a go to burn away your jet lag or travel fatigue. I really hope you'll give yourself the treat of trying out 23 Mayfield and finding your home away from home in Scotland's capital city. Cheers!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carl_Pritchett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southwales
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

I booked this b&b as a treat for my husbands 50th birthday, and it didn't disappoint.
From the moment you walk through the door you feel at home straightaway.
The decor throughout is outstanding, so much time and thought has gone into it.
Ross who is so welcoming, and very informative, weather it's about the local bus service or a restaurant to eat, he always has time to chat and answer your queries.
The room we stayed in ( number 6) is gorgeous.
Loved the four poster bed,the chaise long,and the lovely leather armchairs.
Breakfasts are superp, fab choices, and to have it done fresh for you is great.
Will definitely return- sooner rather than later!
Thanks also to Ross for presenting my hubby with a cake for his birthday,and to all the guests that sang happy birthday to him.
Jayne and Kevin murphy

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jem031061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Great period home with chic, romantic rooms; absolutely delightful choice in colors, furnishings and interior. Loved the open fire on the ground floor. Great, friendly, uncomplicated hosts - you can leave your luggage after check-out and will get a key to pick it up later during the day. Breakfast was delicious - if a bit early. The last time slot is for 9.30 a.m. If you're a light sleeper, rooms # 9 and 10 are not for you, as they right above the kitchen and cooking starts early ...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank luedenscheid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We just stayed at 23 Mayfiled at the weekend and it was quite simply fabulous!
The room was gorgeous (we were in room 3 on the ground floor) with underfloor heating in the bathroom and a big bath which was glorious to soak in and a telly to keep you entertained it was just super relaxing :) Ross is a lovely host and a good laugh.
The breakfast was awesome! I had the scrambled egg with smoked salmon one morning (best I ever had) and the pancakes the next while my husband tucked into a full Scottish that was equally delicious.
Loved it so much that we will be returning in December for another wee weekend break. Would recommend 23 Mayfield to anyone!
Keep up the good work Ross!

Room Tip: would go for an upstairs room if you are a light sleeper
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sassenach79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We stayed here in August and on the whole I would recommend it. The place is about 20 minutes away from the centre. We tended to take the bus which is readily accessible but you probably could walk. The B&B itself is very nice. The owners have renovated the property have done a very good job with it. Breakfast really is a treat and the staff at breakfast are exceptional. My only real gripe was that you have to order breakfast the day before (and you need to remember to fill out the card before 10pm and one day we forgot!). to be honest they were fine about us forgetting but it felt like an added stress when you are meant to be on holiday. Furthermore you have to order not only the food but a time for have breakfast. These were given in fifteen minute slots between 8 and 9. Personally we felt this was a bit restrictive, in that you could not get up when you were ready and whilst you don't expect to be able to go to breakfast much later than 9,30 or 10, when you are away, this did feel a bit restrictive to us. In saying all that the breakfast was delicious. I know the rationale for getting people to give a time is to have the breakfast cooked freshly but it felt overly prescriptive when we wanted to be a little less governed by timetables. For this reason we probably would not stay there again, but if you can live with the time table for breakfast and you don't mind paying a bit extra this place comes hightly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dreamdancer96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westerville, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

This is a beautiful, lovingly restored Victorian mansion that is a delight to the eyes. Ross is a wonderful, warm and friendly host. Our Grand Jacobean room was very large, very comfortable and included all the modern conveniences. The on-site parking was extremely convenient and proximity to local restaurants as well as the Royal Mile was great. Breakfast was excellent. Would definitely recommend 23 Mayfield as a great place to stay. It is not inexpensive, but provides you with a worthwhile upscale memory.

Room Tip: Grand Jacobean Room 6 was very large and very comfortable. It faces the busy street which gives you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank garden4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 149 in Edinburgh
3,775 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,823 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 149 in Edinburgh
938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prestonfield
#3 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,122 reviews
Old Town
The Scotsman Hotel
The Scotsman Hotel
#89 of 149 in Edinburgh
2,279 reviews
Barony House
#3 of 392 in Edinburgh
705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 23 Mayfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 23 Mayfield

Property: 23 Mayfield
Address: 23 Mayfield Gardens | Newington, Edinburgh EH9 2BX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 392 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — 23 Mayfield 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning Boutique Guest House built in 1868 in the Victorian era, situated just over one mile from the Royal Mile,**DON'T FORGET TO BOOK DIRECT TO SAVE, 23 Mayfield **, on the main bus route into Edinburgh city centre. The guest house offers easy access to many places of interest such as Holyrood Palace, Edinburgh Castle, the Scottish Parliament and Princes Street, which are all within a one mile radius. We have FREE PARKING FOR DIRECT BOOKING FROM OUR OWN WEBSITE, Club room,Garden, FREE Wi-Fi, all rooms newly refurbished and are en-suite. REVIEWED BY THE TIMES TOP 15 IN BRITIAN, 5 STAR GOLD Scottish tourist board. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your 23 Mayfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
23 Mayfield Hotel Edinburgh
23 Mayfield Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing