We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hosts, lovely property”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gil Dun Guest House
Ranked #12 of 389 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
231 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Great hosts, lovely property”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I can pretty much only repeat what others have said. Comfortable bed, excellent pillows, perfectly sized breakfast of eggs and salmon - and I could go on. We walked to the city to do our touristy things and had a great time. Good eating spots nearby and an excellent wine shop ~ 4 blocks toward the city.

Room Tip: Ours was in the back facing a yard; likely quieter than a room on the street which would pick up the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HikerDave2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    362
    35
    9
    3
    0
See reviews for
101
200
27
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Lovely B & B, very clean, great breakfast, nice modern rooms and lots of lovely finishing touches. Breakfast delicious - anything and everything you want freshly cooked to order. Located just outside the main city, but within easy reach - regular cheap buses at the end of the road or taxi. Gerard was very welcoming and helpful with information on places to visit and ways to get around Edinburgh, nothing was too much trouble, happy to arrange a taxi to the airport and store our luggage for the day. Great local pub 2 minutes down the road - Salisbury Arms, serving great meals, as well as other local restaurants. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gogolfSouthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

This is a wonderful b &b. The hosts were wonderful, and went far and beyond helping to make our first visit to Scotland truly wonderful. They even arranged a bottle of wine and tickets to the fireworks and concert for our anniversary. The rooms are spacious, bright, and tastefully decorated. The bathroom was very clean, bright and large by other b & b standards. The owners helped us to navigate buses to get to the castle, and suggested other beautiful places to see.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kathy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Niguel, California
1 review
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Location: 4.5 stars. Depends on what you want; not on the Royal Mile but only a 5-10 minute bus/cab ride away in a quiet and safe neighborhood.

Room: 5 stars. CLEAN, spacious, high ceilings, well thought out (e.g., mirror next to a wall outlet), tastefully decorated.

Bathroom: 5 stars. CLEAN, modern fixtures, shower with strong water pressure, plenty of counter space, toilet that flushes easily.

Host: 5 stars! Gerry is a wonderfully friendly and helpful host. Even if he has repeated everything he tells us many times, he still does so with a smile on his face and cheerful disposition.

Breakfast: 5 stars. Hot breakfast with many options including salmon, traditional Scottish breakfast, and plenty of fruit.

Overall: 5 stars. Only drawback is no elevator but Gerry is happy to help with luggage. I would definitely come back and highly recommend this B&B to others.

Room Tip: First floor rooms have higher ceilings. I also stayed in the 3rd (top) floor, which was not as big b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mitzi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
77 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

This B&B is located in a quiet neighborhood. It was a great place to get away from all the noise and activity at the Fringe Festival. Gerry and Bill were excellent hosts. They gave great advice and helped to navigate the the bus system so that getting from the B&B to old and new Edinburgh was a snap. There are a number of good restaurants in the neighborhood as well as convenience stores and grocery stores. (When you take the bus, you will need exact change. I usually got change after buying a bottle of water from one of these stores.)

I also did my laundry at Ace Cleaners, which is located about 5 blocks from the B&B. You can do laundry yourself or leave it for them.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cas250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billericay, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Firstly I would like to say a big thank you to Gerry and Bill for making our 1st visit to Scotland a memorable one.
We decended on this fine guest house as a party of 4 couples and received a warm welcome by our hosts.
Our room was on the 1st floor overlooking the well maintained garden. The decor within was clean and fresh, obviously thought and planning had been given to the colour schemes.
Coming from England would the Breakfast disappoint ? NO. Every morning their was a fine selection to choose from, my complements to Bill who produced a piping hot Scotish breakfast each morning (reccomended).
Gerry and Bill was very attentive to our needs and would helpfully give their knowledge about Edinburgh when asked.
We return to England with great memories of Edinburgh and our stay at Gil Dun was part this great experience.

Thank you both again
Mike and Gil

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmarnock, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviewed August 21, 2012

I have been to Scotland 5 time & stayed in castles, large hotels, & b&b's
and this was a truly one of best to date. I stay again if ever I was in Edinburgh. Top rated breakfast & very helpful advise.

Sylvia Sawyer

Room Tip: good restaurant nearby for diner
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sylvia s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Hotel Ceilidh-Donia
#8 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 944 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 147 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,781 reviews
94DR
#10 of 389 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23 Mayfield
#1 of 389 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 933 reviews
Barony House
#5 of 389 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
Kingsway Guest House
#13 of 389 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gil Dun Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gil Dun Guest House

Property: Gil Dun Guest House
Address: 9 Spence Street, Edinburgh EH16 5AG, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 389 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Hotel Class:4 star — Gil Dun Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a quiet cul-de-sac within the oldest Edinburgh district of Newington, close to the city centre and walking distance to Edinburgh Castle and on a regular main bus route. Re-furbished to a high standard in 2010 whilst maintaining many traditional Victorian features. Official four star accommodation. Popular with guests from the USA and Canada. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Gil Dun Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gil Dun Guest House Hotel Edinburgh
Gil Dun Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing