We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Food and Wonderful People”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Katies Diner

Katies Diner
Ranked #416 of 2,449 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $41
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Dining on a budget, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Southside & Holyrood
Description: Katie's Diner is a small familly run restaurant where you will always receive a friendly welcome. Some say you can enjoy the best steaks in Edinburgh at Katie's, it's always a firm favourite with the locals.
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful Food and Wonderful People”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

After many years of eating in Katies, it is still as great today as it was the first time. The food is always top quality and cooked so well and the staff are always accommodating. Jeff and Katie care about their customers and make sure everything is done to ensure you have a great visit. Visit and enjoy!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank amanda n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    27
    12
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Once again the best steak ever.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

Hadn't been in a while because I had moved away from Edinburgh but so glad I made the effort to go back. The rib eye steak has got to be the tastiest ever. and try the crispy onions - so,so good!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nanoushka646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Lovely food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

Lovely food and atmosphere. Very relaxed and laid back. The rib steak I had was top notch and the starter was tasty as well

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nevada747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good steaks pity about the plastic plants and reformed onion rings”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

We were looking for a good steak in central Edinburgh and all our usual haunts were full. It's slightly disconcerting when you can get a table when every where else was full ......lol
That said.....
What I liked was:
Central location
Small - only 20 covers
Simple menu with lots of burgers and steaks
Our steaks (rib eyes) were absolutely beautiful and a nice dressed garnish. They arrived exactly as ordered - good on ya Katie.
Bybo is a good option with small corkage.it was nice to take our own decent bottle rather than have to pay four times the supermkt price

What I wasn't so keen on was:
Dull old decor with plastic plants and clutter from a bad charity shop
Grubby cafe like tables with glass candle holders that had been fingered by 3 bus loads of school kids! I kept looking at the glasses n cutlery...(they were clean tho')
Limited starters but our king prawns were tasty (Costco?)
Oven chips and reformed onion rings were bad bad bad (lazy more like - come on Katy plenty time whilst the steaks cook themselves...)
Probably only survives because of location and Katie can clearly cook a steak. Puddings were old fashioned and completely uninspiring on the plastic card! Starters were lazy n deep fried.

My recommendation to the owners: book a skip and clear out the crap from the front shop and give it a coat of paint! Take some advice from a professional and sharpen up the menu! Fresh chips and home made onion rungs please!
Keep cooking the good steaks!
My recommendation to other punters: great for a Monday or Sunday supper but don't take the new girl friend there unless she's the sort that chases butcher vans!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Discerningscotsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
forres
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“excellent tasy food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

Lovely tasty steaks. We all had different meals and all were good. Nice atmosphere and friendly owner. Only down side the seats were quite hard and uncomfortable.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank twiggyForres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Katies Diner also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Katies Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing