We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty damn fine hotel/ hostel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of West End Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
West End Hotel
Ranked #99 of 445 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Pretty damn fine hotel/ hostel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

Stayed 2 weekends ago... And to be honest because the price we were paying, wasn't expecting much at all... We decided when booking to treat it as a place to rest our heads. On arrival we were pleasantly surprised to find the hotel was of a bit of a hidden gem within the street.... It was very modern and very clean. We were checked in and even given a tour by the manager ( how many hotels do that) we decided to have some lunch as we were advise we got 20% off.... The choice was great and we opted for a snack as we were going out that evening. The room was decorated to a great taste ( well to mine anyway ) breakfast was simple but tasty a bit manic as we left to last minute to eat. We decided as we had a great Lunch the day before we would have dinner the following night and the Thai fish cakes are to die for the chef made it as a main course for us. On the Saturday there was live music and we decided to stay and enjoy the music along with many of the locals and we had a hoot. Breakfast was much more calm the next day maybe as I was bleary eyed from night before off the 20% discount. All in all a big thumbs up from us. As we are a gay couple we often find it uncomfortable staying in hotels, but the warmth and friendliness we received from the team along with fantastic food and good nights sleep, we can't thank them enough, I assure you we will be returning, Edinburgh is such a great city and obviously the people are so friendly.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Donald C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    101
    29
    14
    14
See reviews for
20
43
59
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Porthcawl, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

The hotel was immaculately clean and the food was absolutely fantastic and what with 20% off for both food and drinks, amazing value for money. There were 12 of us altogether and my daughter thoroughly enjoyed her weekend. Scott, the Manager, excelled in every way, so helpful and friendly. Would definately go back there and recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

The hotel far exceeded expectation. It's spotlessly clean we had a quad room which was modern and well serviced. The food was excellent and with the 20% discount excellent value. Nothing was too much for the staff especially Scot who was wonderful. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Taffy76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

The Westend Hotel was an affordable and comfortable hotel. The bar down stairs had live music on Fridays and Saturdays. Staff was very friendly and helpful. With in walking distance of Waverley station, but far enough that the neighbourhood/streets were'nt noisy or crowded.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jon h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

My friend and I stayed for one night in a 10 bed mixed dorm. I had requested a bottom bunk for my friend as she has limited mobility but on arrival all the bottom bunks were already taken. The rooms were big and clean and the beds comfy. It was good value for £10 each. The bar area is very nice and the continental breakfast for £2 each was good. However we had terrible problems with the cards that opened the doors. When we returned at 1am we couldn't open the front door. Luckily someone was passing and let us in. We were told when we checked in that if there were any problems we should ring the doorbell as the staff lived below the hotel. We rang the doorbell for 30 minutes and eventually a member of staff appeared from upstairs and gave us new card keys so we could access our room and the bathroom. BUT when my friend got up in the middle of the night she got locked out the bedroom and the bathroom as the key wouldn't work (it had been under her pillow and not near other cards or cell phones). She had to go outside the front door (putting a cushion in the door so she wouldn't get locked out!) in her pyjamas and ring the bell to get help. A member of staff came and gave her another card so she could go back to bed. The card would not work though by the morning....

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dicassidy2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

Upside

1- Location wise - I walked to this hostel from the train station , wasn't that far 15 minutes walk- to the main road princess street was less than that and it was an easy walk.

2- Safe and quiet.

3- super clean !! the room / showers were impressive.

4- staff were friendly and polite.

5- REALLY CHEAP.

6- onsite bar , laundrette , and kitchenette.

Downside

1- my biggest problem with this place was that the female dorm was in the third floor and with that building Old European style- third meant 8 floors- was really a hassle to go up and down and stairs were not the normal ones. - no lefts.

2- Breakfast was horrible- Starbucks is around the corner - definitely better.

3- I once came late 3 a.m and my card didn't work and didn't open the front door. stayed out till someone helped me to get in , then went up to my room and my card didn't work as well. had to go back and forth many times. and the reception was close at the time but I had to wake them up.

Room Tip: try a room in the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarita1900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

Great Location and easy to get to off the airport bus. Cosy, offers good food, and live music. Sometimes it’s a DJ some times its some locals with their instruments. What a wonderful Place! Walking distance to the centre of town. Nice dorms and pleasant staff. It’s nice to see Old Europe.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh
Murrayfield
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Murrayfield Hotel and House
#39 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Brooks Hotel Edinburgh
Brooks Hotel Edinburgh
#86 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,022 reviews
West End
Cityroomz Edinburgh
Cityroomz Edinburgh
#85 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West End Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West End Hotel

Property: West End Hotel
Address: 35 Palmerston Place, Edinburgh EH12 5AU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #99 of 445 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — West End Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning City Centre B&B Edinburgh with Stylish & Comfortable Accommodation.The West End Hotel Edinburgh offers stylish, comfortable accommodation in a mixture of tastefully decorated standard and ensuite rooms in the centre of Edinburgh, close to all this magnificent city has to offer. Providing a high standard of customer service and with a great location and well equipped accommodation, the West End Hotel is an ideal choice whether you are visiting Edinburgh for business or pleasure.The hotel is located in a quiet residential area, while still in the heart of the city, just a 15 minute walk from the West End of Princes Street as well as being conveniently located withing walking distance of Edinburgh’s many tourist attractions and the city’s main business districts. It is only 5 minutes walk to one of Edinburgh's main bus routes and a 10 minute walk to Haymarket Train Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your West End Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West End Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing