We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware of false promises”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Browns Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #60 of 392 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Newcastle, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Beware of false promises”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

This was too expensive for what was provided. The bathroom was actually in a cupboard higher than the floor of the room with a tiny shower spilling out onto the toilet. The inability of the hosts to even boil and egg properly was indicative of the standard. Not a good choice

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oscat666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bingo20, Owner at Browns Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
I am very sorry you did not enjoy your stay at Browns BB as I was not aware you were unhappy with your bedroom or breakfast here maybe if you had have said something I could have sorted the problem for you .The bedroom you had has been extended to the best we could do with the space we had .Thankfully most of our guests are very happy .
Regards
Marion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    27
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
36
126
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ostend, Belgium
1 review
Reviewed August 10, 2013

The location was ideal, the accommodation super and the room spotless. The breakfasts were varied (fruit juice - cereals - lots of fruits and choice of menu) . We were even able to try the famous "haggis". We also appreciated the coffee and tea facilities available after a day of sightseeing.

We will certainly recommend Brown's B&B to friends and relatives and sincerely hope to come to Edinburgh again in the near future.

Thanks Marion and Norrie

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Ideal location and great hosts! What more would one want??!!!! The room was equipped with all one may need, including a sewing kit and wet wipes!! There was a choice of tea, coffee and hot chocolate!!!! Very thoughtful! Marion worked meticulously and her husband complemented her. They were a great help and guide in all matters including booking tours and catching the right bus!! The breakfast was given a lot of importance and they took care to have a huge variety. On days that I left early for day trips Marion packed a generous picnic breakfast which would last the whole day!!! I stayed for nine nights in June 2013 and enjoyed every moment of my stay!! I would definitely stay here again and also recommend the place and the people who make it!!!

Room Tip: My room at the rear had a good view from the window - plants and trees and the sky with the occasion...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bindu K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We loved the location steps to Princess Street. Accommodation was perfect. Neat & clean and breakfast was delicious. Marion and Norrie went above and beyond for us. One of our party had an accident and they were so wonderful helping us! Thank you for everything! Tracey & Doug, Kevin and Terri!!

Room Tip: Loved that the rooms were on street level..no stairs to maneuver with bags!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WeRFamily04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orebro, Sweden
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We were four people (two couples) who stayed at Browns for 5 nights during our stay in Edinburgh. Everything where perfect, the staff were both very friendly and helpfull and there where a wide variety of choices for breakfast (for being a rather small B&B).

The rooms where great with a large bed, plenty of storage for clothings and a bathroom in each room.

The location is great (around 10 min walk to the city core).

I would strongly recommend this to anyone who wants a decent place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tobias N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Lovely bed and breakfast in good location within walking distance of the city centre. Great breakfast selection with tasty haggis. Warm, welcoming hosts and very clean rooms which contain everything you could possibly need. Would definitely stay there again

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oyvindb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Decent B&B reasonable distance to center of old city and only a few blocks from theatre district. Kind of a marginal neighborhood but felt safe behind the two locked front doors. Small rooms but very clean and had everything you might need. Super nice breakfast. Friendly helpful nice hosts. Room 3 has a mini bathroom with the toilet practically in the shower. Enough outlets for charging gadgets but wifi not that strong or consistent. Good option if you want to spend one night after theatre but I would look for better location closer to old center next time.

Room Tip: I suspect room three has worst bathroom setup.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PithyPacky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Leith
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
#79 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,186 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Ramsay's B&B
Ramsay's B&B
#13 of 392 in Edinburgh
555 reviews
Bruntsfield
Albyn Townhouse
Albyn Townhouse
#11 of 392 in Edinburgh
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sandaig Guest House
#49 of 392 in Edinburgh
757 reviews
West End
B+B Edinburgh
B+B Edinburgh
#16 of 392 in Edinburgh
695 reviews
Bonnie's Guesthouse
#59 of 392 in Edinburgh
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Browns Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Browns Bed and Breakfast

Property: Browns Bed and Breakfast
Address: 5 McDonald Road | Midlothian, Edinburgh EH7 4LX, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 392 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Browns Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Browns Bed and Breakfast located on the east side of the city, ideally located to take advantage of the cities attraction and sites as well as being within walking distance to both the train and bus stations. The surrounding area has a great selection and restaurants and pubs, offering something for all tastes. Each of our bright, modern and comfortable rooms have en-suite as well as hospitality tray, hairdryer, cable TV and free wireless Internet.Breakfast Menu for your choice to make ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Browns Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Browns Bed And Breakfast Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing