We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great B&B! Unlike anywhere we had ever stayed!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ramsay's B&B

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Ramsay's B&B
Ranked #12 of 445 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great B&B! Unlike anywhere we had ever stayed!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

The three of us stayed in Ramsay's B&B over the weekend. We were greeted most lovely by Sharon, the woman who runs this place with her husband, and were amazed by her energetic attitude. She made the best breakfast and was never too busy to give us advise about the city and the places we should visit. The rooms were spacious and neat. We will definately return to Ramsay's when we visit Edinburgh again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anoniem567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    490
    28
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
96
282
30
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kronberg im Taunus, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

Superb in every way--attractive, clean, comfortable, wonderful breakfasts with lots of variety possible, the most delightful and helpful hosts one could ask for.
We had a room with a beautifull gardenview and quiet.
It takes you only 10 minutes walk to the city

Room Tip: We had Room number 4, was perfect !
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

We spent the weekend at Ramsay's when attending a gig at Murryafield and were delighted with our choice! It's located in a great part of the city, with trendy bars and restaurants very close by and is only 10 mins walk to Princes Street. The B&B itself is modern 'Boutique' style with very nice rooms and bathrooms. A great breakfast is served and above all the welcome from your hosts Norman and Sharon is second to none. All in all an excellent B&B that offers great value for money!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SAHOX17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

Just had one night at Ramsay's 25 East London St. & two nights in their Royal Mile apartment.
Welcome was fantastic, room excellent.
Royal Mile appartment has amazing location, its on first floor windows looks out onto Royal Mile, so you get all the atmosphere and private birds eye view. Two fringe stages in view so you can watch continuously changing preview acts.
Found first night bit noisey, but closed window and secondary dble glazing on 2nd night slept sound.
Nori comes in to cook breakfast at agreed time. Wife and I had great time.

Room Tip: Twin room at rear would be quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GRHS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tulsa, OK
Level Contributor
130 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

Superb in every way--attractive, clean, comfortable, wonderful breakfasts with lots of variety possible, the most delightful and helpful hosts one could ask for, generous variety of things for tea, coffee, and cocoa making in the room (along with delicious Walker's biscuits),a terrific location near the center of town but not quite in it (about 5-10 minutes walk at most) and surrounded by excellent restaurants of the very nice but casual variety. In our room, we could hear no one else and had no traffic noise, jut the view of a pretty garden and several inquisitive neighborhood cats. I can't imagine a better B&B.

Room Tip: a room that looks out the back toward the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EllenDelller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

Our two nights with the Ramsay's were terrific, and it was a great way to start our exploration of Scotland. Of all the guest houses we frequented on our ten-day trip, this was probably our favorite. The B&B is well situated near attractions and good restaurants, but tucked onto a quiet street in New Town. Our hosts Sharon and Norrie couldn't have been more friendly and helpful. The room may have been in the basement, but it was spotless, extremely comfortable and well appointed, and very quiet. We enjoyed our breakfasts immensely. This is a winner.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hartwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

The only words to say about Ramsey's are positive ones. We were made so welcome from the minute we arrived until we left two nights later, which went far too quickly! Sharon and Norrie are great and go out of their way to help you make the most of the gorgeous city they are lucky to call home. The breakfasts are delicious, the beds are amazingly comfortable and the decor was gorgeous and just to my taste. I would highly recommend to anyone looking for a quiet spot to sleep moments from the city centre. Just remember to book directly rather than through a website such as bookings.com to make sure of getting the best price.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JCP2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Broughton & Calton
Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (York Place)
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 846 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,585 reviews
Old Town
Premier Inn Edinburgh Royal Mile
Broughton & Calton
Adria House
Adria House
#5 of 445 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramsay's B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramsay's B&B

Property: Ramsay's B&B
Address: 25 East London Street, Edinburgh EH7 4BN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 445 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ramsay's B&B 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ramsay's high quality bed and breakfast is ideally situated to take advantage of Edinburgh's many local attractions. It is located on the eastern edge of Edinburgh's New Town, close to Princess street and Edinburgh castle, and in walking distance to both the train and bus stations. Our spacious townhouse offers bright contemporary en-suite bedrooms, each with hospitality tray, LCD TV, hairdryer and free wireless broadband connection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Ramsay's B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramsay`s Hotel Edinburgh
Ramsay`s Bed And Breakfast
Ramsay's B&B Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing