We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible Place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hermitage Guest House
Ranked #327 of 393 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 4, 2009

I booked a twin room for one night in this accommodation over the phone a few days before I was due to arrive in Edinburgh in December 2009. Looking back, the ready availability of rooms should have sounded alarm bells as to why this guest house was not in demand - unfortunately, I was I was to find out the reasons why within a short matter of days.

Due to an traffic accident, my travelling partner was incapacitated the day before arrival, rendering him unable to travel to Edinburgh. I promptly contacted Hermitage Guest House, only to be told a number of lies relating to my booking. First of all - they told me that I could only cancel my booking if I had made the initial booking by calling directly in person (which I had three days earlier), and that I could not legitimately cancel if (as they claimed that) I had booked with something called StayAdvisor. I had never heard of such a service, and told them so. After discussion with an un-named "colleague", this story was changed to no cancellations 72 hours before the arrival.

I then informed the woman on the other end of the line that the booking had been initially made within 72 hours of arrival, and that to fulfil her stated policy I would have needed to cancel before I even made the booking! Again, no empathy to the situation or flexibility was shown. I asked whether they would be able to advertise the room as available the next day - thus profiting two-fold despite the fact that a booking had been cancelled a day in advance. No answer was forthcoming.

I stayed in this guest house before in 2007 under previous management (Ronnie) and it was a thoroughly pleasant experience. However, the cynical profiteering and complete lack of empathy that was displayed by the current management has left a bitter taste in my mouth. I would advise all travellers to think twice before booking with thsi accommodation, as it is apparent that the only concern of the owners is to make a quick buck at the expense of the tourist. I made it clear to the management that I intend never to set foot in this "guest house" again and will be advising friends, colleagues and acquaintances to do the same to avoid such an incredibly poor and negative experience.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nutsy_Fenlon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (69)
There are newer reviews for Hermitage Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 69 reviews

Reviewed November 23, 2009

stayed at this guest house for the weekend the family room was very small and the so called en-suite bathroom there wasn't enough room to swing a cat. Wallpaper peeling from the roof, the sheets were not changed the second day, nor were the beds remade or room tidied, there was no fresh tea or coffee the second day in room. The breakfast was very poor the cheapest of ingredients were used as was the same with the orange juice and coffee. I would stay in the same area again as had a lovely view of park and bus stop runs along street into town, but would defineatly not recommend this guest house to anyone and would not return again.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smokey66angus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Галина А
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank ESTELA T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: noi avevamo la 5, credo le altre siano più piccole
  • Stayed: December 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank octaviawrc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
Thank stefanomP4042TE
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 4, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2016, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julian g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Mackenzie Guest House
#121 of 393 in Edinburgh
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sandaig Guest House
#49 of 393 in Edinburgh
760 reviews
Culane House Hotel
#142 of 393 in Edinburgh
344 reviews
West End
West End Hotel
West End Hotel
#101 of 393 in Edinburgh
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hermitage Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermitage Guest House

Address: 16 E Hermitage Place | Leith, Edinburgh EH6 8AB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #327 of 393 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: $61 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hermitage Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Hermitage Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hermitage Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing