We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great apartment to visit Edinburgh”
Review of Edinburgh at Home

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Edinburgh at Home
Ranked #77 of 212 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
Liverpool
1 review
“Great apartment to visit Edinburgh”
Reviewed January 2, 2010

The apartment was really good furnished, was clean and near to Edinburgh city center. it is excellent for vacation. It does not have free wi-fi

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rmeraz27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    44
    9
    4
    5
See reviews for
63
8
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 2, 2010

Stayed here for 2 and 1/2 weeks mon-fri for business purposes. Was everything i needed in one place, nice and clean, great kitchen for cooking, always loads of hot water, nice and warm and cosy, and well decorated throughout, a real home from home feeling. Had free secure off street parking which is a real bonus for edinburgh, a pool and some gym equipment - free as well. Also 5min walk to haymarket station and 2min walk to a somerfield supermarket for groceries. Thanks again Agnes for having me, i would definately recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank naylz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NW England
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2010

Like our previous visit in 2008 (to a different apartment in the same block) the flat was well and attractively furnished and equipped. Having secure parking available is a major bonus as on - street parking in Edinburgh can only be described as a nightmare. Being able to take the dog is one of our defining requirements!

Easy access to shops for "normal day to day living"; nearby newsagents make getting a morning paper easy. (To me this is important!)

Would definitely stay at this location again.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ExiledScot086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Putten
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed January 1, 2010

A nice locations on walking distance of the centre of Edinburgh. The appartment had everything one needs, including very good beds, a nice kitchen, some food, dishwasher, swimming pool, etc. We stayed there for three nights.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GvWP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
1 review
Reviewed December 27, 2009

Very good reception as owner is well organised. Great flat with excellent facilities. We loved the pool and sauna for our morning swim. Very good location as the flat is very central and convenient for all sightseeing in the new and old town. Highly recommended

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aarbiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2009

On the plus side, the apartment is within about a 20 minute walk of Edinburgh Castle, and within 30 minutes of most of the sites in Edinburgh. There was off-street parking that was able to accommodate both of our cars. It was fairly spacious and had two bathrooms, one of which was very tiny and had a toilet that made a fairly loud groaning noise every few minutes (it wasn't too bad if the door was kept closed). The kitchen was very well equipped and there was even some bread, butter, jam, milk, coffee, tea, and juice already there, which was really nice. One of the bedrooms had a bunk bed with a single on top and a double on the bottom. My wife and I occupied the bottom bunk and we both sort of sank to the middle of the mattress so did not sleep very well. The whole place did have a distinctly musty smell. The surrounding area seemed a little on the "sketchy" side, but there was a nice grocery store and an Internet cafe a block away that we made use of, and a pretty decent pub (with good and fairly inexpensive food) about 5 blocks away. The place was relatively inexpensive, so I cannot complain too much. If you do decide to stay here make sure you have all the codes - There was one for a lock box that gets you to the key for the outside door, then another code for the inside door, and a third code for the actual apartment. We were missing the third code but fortunately we were able to call Agnes (who was sweet and helpful) and get it.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taballwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2009

I have stayed at this apartment twice this year. Both times for rugby matches. The apartment is fantastic, easy access to the city and within walking distance of Murrayfield too.

The owners are very helpful and on hand to answer any questions or sort any problems (not that we had any!).

The apartment is a great size, plenty of room and well decorated. The kitchen is fully equiped, you couldn't ask for more.

We have stayed here previously also and will stay here again(might try one of the other apartments just for a change!)

Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank mscahill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
#16 of 149 in Edinburgh
2,833 reviews
Old Town
Novotel Edinburgh Centre
Novotel Edinburgh Centre
#76 of 149 in Edinburgh
2,556 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#12 of 149 in Edinburgh
3,808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
New Town
The Roxburghe Hotel
The Roxburghe Hotel
#60 of 149 in Edinburgh
2,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edinburgh at Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edinburgh at Home

Property: Edinburgh at Home
Address: James Square | Caledonian Crescent, Edinburgh EH11 2AT, Scotland (Formerly James Square Apartments)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 212 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in a welcoming complex, each holiday apartment has the use of a private swimming pool, sauna and private parking. Holday apartments range from 2 bedrooms to 4 bedrooms, all within the same building allowing a perfect destination for larger groups. The accommodation is within easy walking distance of the centre of Edinburgh, perfect for a family holiday, weekend break or business trip. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
James Square Apartments Edinburgh
Edinburgh At Home Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing