We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Late night Steak”

The City Restaurant
Ranked #252 of 2,595 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $27
Cuisines: Italian, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Southside & Holyrood
Description: Family run restaurant in the city centre now celebrating 20 years in business and with a fresh new look and menu! Great for all parties, couples,families and small/large groups of up to 50! We are open most hours of the day. We welcome booking or walk-ins! Regards City
Reviewed June 2, 2013

After arriving late and not sure what we would find still serving food - came across The City Restaurant. Chippy or table service with a much fuller menu. Friendly waiting staff who you felt actually wanted you to be there. We both had steaks - Diane & Peppered - and were much larger portions than we were expecting - and to be honest much better tasting/ quality considering we'd thought it was a fish & chip restaurant. Would go there again

Thank Highlandtrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco P, Owner at The City Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013

Hello there!

Thank you for reviewing us! We appreciate all our reviews, and agree that many people think we are a chippy when we cater for much more! The restaurant has been here for decades and we have over the years tried to develop the look and feel of the place to more of a restaurant without neglecting the origins of the place.

Thank you again

Marco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (553)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

425 - 429 of 553 reviews

Reviewed May 31, 2013

We read the reviews and decided, as this was only a 15 minute walk from our hotel (MacDonald Holyrood) that we would visit. We took a seat upstairs in the window - this really is an excellent place to watch the world go by and people watch. Service was attentive and friendly, and the food was hot, fresh and reasonably priced. I was delighted to have the availability of a bottled Scottish beer too.

We really enjoyed our food and the ambience, and would come back again when in Edinburgh.

If you want fine dining then this isn't for you. However, if you want a good choice of simple but varied fare, then this is the place for you. I had fish and chips and honestly the fish was absolutely fantastic. I remember this fresh taste once before, and that was at a seaside fish and chip restaurant in Suffolk that is renowned for its fresh fish and chips. Girlfriend had spinach and ricotta cannelloni and she commented on how much there was and how fresh it was.

Wish we had a place like this nearer home. Also the takeaway staff smiled and said goodbye as we went past them on the way out. Just felt homely and friendly.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Dominic E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco P, Owner at The City Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013

Hello Dominic,

Many thanks for taking time to write a wonderful review! It's exactly what we were aiming for when we did the refurbishment a few years back. The hustle and bustle of the downstairs with the open plan kitchen and the more relaxed atmosphere with the dining area upstairs. At the same time trying to have a mixed Scottish/Italian menu which reflect our origins. I will show the rest of the team your review!

Regards

Marco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

have been here for breakfast a few times and I have got to say it is brilliant. The choice is good and the service is always fine.
Never had any issues

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Nikkid3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco P, Owner at The City Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013

Hello!

Thank you for reviewing us. We have many regulars and try to get to know as many as possible, thank you for continuing to visit. I will let my team know of your comments?

Take care and look forward to seeing you next time

Regards

Marco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

The site is very friendly and it is easy to see the menu online! Also the online reservation is easy to plan. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The menu is extensive so there is something for everyone in between. The restaurant looks good and modern. The toilet facilities are modern and tidy. The food tastes very good and it was very affordable!

Background info:
- group of 12 students
- nationality: Dutch
- reservation made in the Netherlands by email.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank L1on
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco P, Owner at The City Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013

Hello Lion,

It was great having you and your group. Hope to have you all again when in Edinburgh.
Thank you for reviewing us!

Regards

Marco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

went in for a quick bite for lunch, sat in the top section and had a great meal. Best Fish and chips going around, we had a lovely australian waitress, so friendly and helpful! I would go back just for her service alone!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Emily D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco P, Owner at The City Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013

Hello Emily,

Thank you for taking time to review us. We are family run, and take pride in quality of food and service. We like to think we can cater for all, from light bites to 3-course meals

Thank you and hope to see you again soon

Marco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The City Restaurant also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to The City Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing