We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent at what it does”

The City Restaurant
Ranked #260 of 2,449 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $26
Cuisines: Grill, Fast Food, British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Southside & Holyrood
Description: Family run restaurant in the city centre now celebrating 20 years in business and with a fresh new look and menu! Great for all parties, couples,families and small/large groups of up to 50! We are open most hours of the day. We welcome booking or walk-ins! Regards City
Pathhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“excellent at what it does”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012 via mobile

in the mood for a burger popped into the city restaurant which I had always passed by thinking it was just a cup of tea sort of place. I have to say that the burgers two of us had were excellent, really tasty with copious quality cheese and bacon. The fish and chips also hit the spot. The service was friendly and efficient and the toilets were very clean and seemed newly refurbished. would recommend and will definitely be back

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sh4lag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    267
    134
    40
    13
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent Value For Money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

In Edinburgh for the day, and came here on the recommendation of friends. It is excellent. A little wait for a table, but service was quick and good, food was great and plentiful, fish and chips, burger and chips ordered and all was tasteful, staff were friendly and efficient. Very good value for money. The place is lovely and clean, and the toilets are as well.
Will be back again and would recommend to anyone visiting.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JulietBravo67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Level Contributor
58 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“No fuss, honest food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

Great breakfasts (go for the Maxi if you're feeling up to it), quality cheeseburgers and really good chips. What's more to like? As a Fringe veteran I am regularly to be seen sitting in (the upstairs is pleasantly away from the hustle and bustle of the busy serving counter downstairs), or getting a massive pile of chips to go. I've lost count of the number of times I've been, some days I even manage all three meals here. My particular favourite is the battered haggis and chips. Service is quick and friendly and if you're looking for something fried, this is your place.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Giles M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renfrewshire
Level Contributor
71 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Top notch at what it does!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

We found this place on a visit last year, so sought it out again this year. Delighted to say that despite being even busier, there was the same quick service and super quality fish and chips. Upstairs is a quieter place to eat. Generous helpings in a really nice place to refuel - prices are also very reasonable - all in all, a little gem!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank renfrewshire_boy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A good down to Earth eatery”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

The chips were always good when we had bought some for eating on the move but this time we went in for a meal and we were not disappointed. Although it was very busy we got a table quite quickly. Service was very good and we had ordered from the fairly extensive menu in no time! The pizza bruchetta for starters was tasty but the tomatoes did not have a strong flavour. However main courses were very good and the quality and quantity excellent value. Although the restaurant is out-with the main biz of the Royal Mile and Edinburgh New Town it's well worth the walk if you are looking for good homely food presented in a friendly manner.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank thegardner41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The City Restaurant also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to The City Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing