We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic, value for money, good staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Travelodge Edinburgh Haymarket Hotel
Ranked #112 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Inverurie, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Basic, value for money, good staff”
Reviewed February 20, 2014

I'm a regular business traveller for a Scottish charity and when in Edinburgh - which is almost fortnightly - this is my budget hotel of choice. It's very handy for Haymarket station and only a 10min walk from Princes St/city-centre. As a series of old town houses joined together, all the rooms are different but all the rooms are basic,, clean, but with good beds and pillows. Remember it's "no frills" so don't expect toiletries, robes, biscuits on the tea/coffee tray etc. the staff are always bright and cheery. The food is mediocre at best but there are plenty of places nearby to find breakfast or an evening meal.

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper, ask for a room at the back: traffic on the cobbled streets at the fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FergieMeldrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

690 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    226
    141
    61
    56
See reviews for
164
239
57
99
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Prior to my stay here, I was almost spoilt by staying at the Heathrow Central Travelodge which was a World apart to this one. My room was dusty, the television didn't give a clear picture all evening and the light/razor facility on the mirror in the bathroom did not work. There was also some sort of old/musty smell in the room. On checking out, there was nobody available at reception so I was waiting a few minutes before leaving my keys and going. You'd expect the brand to be the same wherever you go in the country, shame this one let them down.

My only highlight was the staff member when I checked in who gave me a great, detailed explanation of what to do in Edinburgh and provided me with maps to help me get around.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Dianne from Customer Services at Travelodge Edinburgh Haymarket Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
We do not expect our customers to be allocated a room which has not been cleaned to our high standards James A, and we are sorry to learn of your disappointment with our Edinburgh Haymarket hotel. Our rooms should also contain facilities which are in good working order, and we would like to be able to investigate the concerns you have raised. In order for us to do this please could you visit our website and use the Contact Us button to tell us more and when doing so please indicate you have left a TripAdvisor review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Edinburgh hotels

Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2014

Another night in a Travelodge family room - this time another return visit to the Haymarket in Edinburgh. It's only a stone's throw from the rail station at Haymarket (complete with tram stop soon to become operational??). Unlike most TL's this is a period property that blends nicely into a smart part of Edinburgh. The usual family room formula of a double and 2 single Z beds didn't seem so cramped here because our room was larger than at most of their hotels. Friendly, welcoming and helpful staff - but we were loking for a place to rest our heads and so no experience of the food,bar,etc.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Railwaynomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2014

We stayed at the Haymarket Travelodge during the Edinburgh Hogmanay festival. Ordinarily, we would avoid chain hotels but as options were limited for this time of year we chose the Travelodge because it was convenient and reasonably priced.

The hotel exceeded our expectations. It is an old building that has been refurbished and I was pleasantly surprised. The rooms are very large, spacious and warm and the windows could be opened for fresh air. The bathroom is also spacious, including a bath. The bed was big and comfy and the linen was fresh and simple.

The reception staff were all really friendly and there is a system where you hand in your key when you leave and request it back upon return to the hotel. Unusual - but we didn't have to worry about losing it! There was always someone at the desk to give it back to us.

We didn't try out the bar or restaurant but it was well attended at all times which is always a good sign.

The location is good. Near the train station and a 15 minute to the centre of Edinburgh.

Would thoroughly recommend for anyone who is unsure!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eithne_Johnston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2014

I stayed in this hotel from Wednesday 22nd January to Monday 27th January 2014. Overall, I cannot fault it. Being just around the corner from Haymarket railway station made it easy to get to, even for those who have never been to Edinburgh before (such as myself). Check in was easy and I was greeted by a very friendly member of staff (Sadly I cannot remember any names), who gladly gave me a map of Edinburgh which was very helpful. Having said that, I found all staff members to be extremely professional and approachable.

My room was very comfortable and spacious. I had no issues in getting a good nights sleep and was impressed with the free tea and coffee that was replenished daily. A number of TV channels are available to view for free which is good.

I pre-paid for breakfast and found it to be value for money. Dinner was also delicious and good value. The bar/cafe area at the hotel is great. Only once did I find it too busy to get a seat, however I was able to return a short while later and there was no problem.

Overall therefore I would 100% recommend this hotel. It is a perfect place for anyone visiting Edinburgh and is incredibly good value for money. Travelling alone I felt comfortable at all times. Well done all and keep up the good work!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
2 Thank Liam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 27, 2014

As expected, room was basic but very clean. No frills (remember your own shampoo etc.) but comfortable bed. Bathroom bare but clean. My room was at the back and surprisingly silent for a Friday night. Edinburgh airport Airlink bus, and Glasgow Citylink bus stops two minutes away. I left early so didn't use cafe/bar.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
1 Thank Peggy_Babcock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Amy from Customer Services at Travelodge Edinburgh Haymarket Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Thank you for your review Peggy_Babcock, it is great to hear that you found our beds to be comfortable and rooms to be clean. Unfortunately we do not provide toiletries in the rooms as standard. We do however have essential toiletries available in vending machines in reception for guests to purchase.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lochgelly, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014

I stayed this hotel as I was in Edinburgh for a Christmas party. The building is old and although the room was small adequate for the solo traveller, the bed was comfortable and the bathroom was adequate. As I have booked in advance the room was £21 so it was well worth the money.

The staff were very helpful. Special mention to David who chatted to myself and a colleague whilst serving us a pre event drink and arranging a taxi to take us to the party.

The breakfast was buffet style but excellent with the buffet being topped up regularly to ensure that the hot food was fresh.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stuartie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
New Town
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Queen Street
Travelodge Edinburgh Learmonth
#115 of 149 in Edinburgh
363 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Waterloo Place Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Travelodge Edinburgh Central
West End
Haymarket Hub Hotel
Haymarket Hub Hotel
#140 of 149 in Edinburgh
57 reviews
New Town
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Rose Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Edinburgh Haymarket Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Edinburgh Haymarket Hotel

Property: Travelodge Edinburgh Haymarket Hotel
Address: 24 Eglinton Crescent, Edinburgh EH12 5BY, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Edinburgh Haymarket Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelodge Hotels Ltd and Evoline ltd so you can book your Travelodge Edinburgh Haymarket Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Edinburgh Haymarket Hotel Scotland
Travel Lodge Edinburgh
Edinburgh Travel Lodge
Edinburgh Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing