We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised and will definitely return....”

a room in Leith and Teuchters Landing
Reserve with OpenTable
a room in Leith and Teuchters Landing is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #102 of 2,478 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $32
Cuisines: Seafood, Scottish, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Cracking wee bar and separate bistro on Leith's waterfront. Fires on in winter in the bar with mugs of haggis stovies and hot toddies. In summer sit outside on the water! 19 Ales and craft beers on tap. 20 Wines and bubblies by the glass Over 90 malt whiskies. In the bistro we have the Scottish game plate, steak, mussels in Strathdon cream or Scottish seafood platters. Set price menu £21.50...2 courses...£26.50...3 courses. You'll be glad you made your way here and won't want to leave! Cheers
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised and will definitely return....”
Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

Last time we visited it was called The Waterfront Wine Bar, that's how long it's been! Not much has changed. Thoroughly enjoyed lunch in the conservatory. Very busy for a Tuesday in February, which is always a good sign. Excellent service from a very bubbly and enthusiastic waitress. Food very well cooked and presented and very reasonably priced. Will return again soon....

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jbskyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

626 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    349
    210
    37
    16
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Consistently good”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

I've been to A Room in Leith on a number of occassions and each time I've never been disappointed. The dining room within the conservatory has a warm buzzy atmosphere, the staff are always friendly and take a genuine interest in their customers and the food is consistently good. It's BYOB but the wine list is reasonably priced. The menu changes frequently and it caters exceptionally well for vegetarians and vegans - it's definitely worth a visit!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sharrieuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“YUM!”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Stunning food, so fresh, wonderfully presented.......can't wait to go back! Ideal setting for that romantic meal, special celebration or catch up with friends. Most yum!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Veronica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Will return!”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

My husband and our three girls 9,7,3 went one sunday for a meal, when we first went in it was at the pub entrance and all adults, I asked a member of staff if children where allowed, they checked and came back to say that was fine, they took us through to the dining section in the conservatory, they didn't have a children menu, which was not a problem as our kids eat most things, they offered macaroni and cheese which the older two had and our three year old had the kilo of mussels!. Really enjoyed the meal, waitress was really attentive, will go back maybe minus the kids so we can sit and have a few drinks!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank EdinburghBlondee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“An ideal little pub”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

I had the extreme good fortune last year to live a very short wander from Teuchters, and a girl couldn't ask for a better local (this review is of the pub side, not the restauraunt side).

So, in a city with many brilliant pubs, why is this one worth a visit? Here's my top 5.

1. All members of staff are uniformly friendly and knowledgeable, I never went in there without a warm welcome.

2.The bar is well stocked with a particularly well chosen range of malts and some lovely ales. Also a decent range of wines to choose from, by the glass or bottle.

3. The pub menu is small but excellent, if not for the diet conscious. Their Teuchter dog (venison and pork hot dog) was my regular fallback after a long week and the mug of chips a cute snack.

4. A range of comfy seats indoors and outdoors - including large tables in the back and more comfy sofas in the front as well as bar stools and several outdoor areas. The outdoor seating area floating on the water is only really usable for a few months of the year, but on days of decent weather in summer the place is quite rightly packed out, and I can't really think of a better place for an evening pint in the sun.

5. In winter, it's nice and cosy with fires going.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ange0202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed a room in Leith and Teuchters Landing also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to a room in Leith and Teuchters Landing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing