We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
York House Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
The Place(Edinburgh)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (267)
Filter reviews
267 results
Traveler rating
46
51
78
36
56
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
46
51
78
36
56
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshared shower roomcomedy clubairport stopslower floorcouple of nightsexcellent locationcentral edinburghluxuriesupgrading
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
114 - 119 of 267 reviews
Reviewed November 1, 2013

What a fantastic hotel, we were welcomed on arrival. Our room was lovely, on the first floor with great carved wooden furniture. The hotel is really convenient for everything especially the Stand Comedy Club.
Will definitely recommend to others and stay there again. I don't know why there are bad reviews of this place it's a real gem!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Julia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

As soon as we walked through the front door we were made to feel like top priority. The.service of all the staff was nothing short of perfection and.couldn't fault it in the slightest. Even though check-in wasn't until after 2 they were more than happy to store our bags leaving us bag free to explore the city :)

Breakfast both mornings was delicious with a wide spread of choices to cater everyone's needs. The hostess both mornings couldn't have been more charming making both mornings that slightly easier to bare lol.

With it located directly in the middle of Edinburgh your literally just a short walk away from tonnes of amazing attractions.

I strongly recommend staying here and we will definitely be using York House Hotel every time we are in Edinburgh over night.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlottelou22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Edinburgh is a very beautiful city. It took us a long time to locate the hotel as most hotels look like a house from outside and all buildings are alike. The person on the reception desk was very rude. The rooms are very big and well furnished. We took the family room - much bigger then most places. Only problem of taking the luggage upstairs.

Room Tip: A family room
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hetalj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

The hotel is in a great location - an easy walk from Waverley Rail Station and next door to the bus station. We stayed for just one night en route to the far north of Scotland. The staff were excellent - very friendly and helpful.Free Wi-Fi, beds comfortable and bathroom clean. I agree with other reviewers that it could do with some updating, however, we were on the ground floor and did not really notice a lot of noise. We were there during the Fringe festival and this hotel is ideally situated if you want to take in some of the activities. One comedy venue was opposite and another couple were only a few doors away. If you stay here don't expect luxury but if you are looking for a place to stay near the city centre, this should be fine for you. Breakfast was also excellent - full Scottish

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are good as there is no lift
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JacquiB1803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

we have just returned from an over night stay, 2 adults,1 child of 12. we arrived to drop off our bags early, only to find a "hotel" that looked like a run down hostel. Locked, mucky door, not very welcoming, with a key pad. A Full overflowing box of fag ends, & windows that haven't been cleaned in months, curtains closed. The staff were happy for us to leave our bags, but told to come back after 2pm. Our room was on the 3rd floor, up the "car park" stairs. Room was large, very dated, looked over the NCP car park! lots of car alarms going off. curtains that didn't fit the window. Lots of noise from road works due to the tram way, but not the hotels fault. No shampoo :-( crap electric shower. However clean sheets, but terrible nasty pillows. Not a room that you would want to spend time in. Staff very nice, breakfast o.k just what you pay for.

Room Tip: go else where!
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews