We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good base”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile
Ranked #81 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
240 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Good base”
Reviewed January 24, 2014

This hotel is on Cowgate 1 road down from the royal mile. However it is clean, is an excellent base for seeing the city and the staff when we where there were so helpful.
Breakfast buffet served in a clean light area, good selection and rooms clean,

Room Tip: Don't get the room directly opposite the lift apart from the usual traffic, the "tick, tick...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    486
    584
    164
    42
    18
See reviews for
412
451
66
117
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Prestwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
263 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Having stayed at this property before as it's location to the Grassmaket and the Royal mile is good, however this time disappointed. The hotel only has one lift, this is a pain if you have a room on the fourth floor, you get used to the climb up and down the stairs. you can leave your car parked outside on a Sunday , using the John Street car park during the week. Hotel will validate your parking tix for reduced fee.
breakfast lacks bacon, there may be a reason, we stayed two nights, non forthcoming, otherwise bog standard breakie. The staff at the hotel are extremely helpful, however we were glad that we did not have to spend time in the property as there is plenty to do in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear snei,

Thank you for your stay and leaving us a review. It is lovely to hear that you are a regular visitor to the hotel. We take all feedback from our guests seriously. It helps us gauge what we are doing right and what we need to improve on. Please accept our apologies for falling short of your expectations this particular day. We are working hard to improve our product and would love for you to give us an opportunity to make up for your poor experience. Thank you again for your comments.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

First time at a Holiday Inn Express and I was impressed by the standard. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The staff friendly and the breakfast though basic in the cooked section was adequate as it set me up for a day of exploring Edinburgh. The hotel is a short walk from The Royal Mile and in a nice quiet location. I will be back.

Room Tip: All rooms would be fine but I liked mins as it looked out onto the church next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SirGeorge1940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014

I picked this hotel as it was close to a Royal Mile and we wanted to explore the old town of Edinburgh, it turned out to be an excellent choice. We had a small problem with our room and when we spoke to the staff they moved us straight away into another room, no questioned asked the staff at all times were help and friendly I would highly recommend his hotel and shall book again if staying in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lazyday12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

I was hoping to say at the Radisson on the royal mile but all their cheaper rooms had sold out so I chose this hotel as a 2nd choice because of a negative experience at this chain in the past. I was very surprised at the professionalism of the staff (for a UK hotel) and their advice on what to do / where to go / eat was great.

The room was big enough for 2 and was clean and tidy. Beds were not the comfiest I've used but acceptable. Breakfast is described as 'continental' but also included sausage, egg and beans and was quite good. For the money I could not receommend a better place in this area of Edinburgh - it was so convenient to go everywhere! Castle just 10/15 mins walk, Scottish Museum about 5/7 mins walk and a Tesco nearby too if you need to get any shopping.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GMO1020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

This hotel has a really good location for people who want to be near the main 'touristy' sites in Edinburgh. It is about two blocks away from the Royal Mile (however, the two blocks you have to walk to get to the Royal Mile are up a fairly steep hill...just something to keep in mind if you will be traveling with older people or people who are physically impaired).

It's a 4 minute walk to the Royal Mile, maybe a 10-15 minute walk to Edinburgh Castle, 10 minute walk to the National Museum of Scotland, and very close to the cathedral (forget the name) at which the underground tours of Edinburgh meet to take people into the underground vaults.

The service was pleasant, people greeted us when we came in and left the hotel. I had requested a room with a view of arthur's seat, and that's what we got. We had a 3 person room...the room was small and not super modern, but was clean and did the job. The bathroom was alright as well.

Pleasantly, breakfast was included in the price. It was general cheap breakfast fair, with hot scrambled eggs, sausages and beans and options for yogurt, cereal, croissants (not very nice ones) and I believe some fruit. I recommend getting to breakfast early, as it can get pretty crowded, and a lot of visitors seem to come from nations where waiting in a queue seems to be a foreign concept so often people will just dive in in front of you.

In short, if you are looking for a budget hotel near the sites of Edinburgh, this is probably the best you'll do.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of Arthur's Seat
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2TravellingBrits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

Do not expect anything extraordinary at this hotel. It is clean, close to the Royal Mile and fullfills all the standards.
Breakfast is self service, but so is the Radisson next door. There they take the plates away, here it is trays like in fast food restaurants and up to take it away. There is someone here to help you and to tidy the tables.
Unfortunately there is no full English breakfast, the bacon is missing.
The beds are quite small. So is the room. No cupboard.
If you plan to stay more than one or two nights you live out of your suitcase.
The bathroom is ok, but nowhere to hang your towel beside the shower. Carefull not to squeeze your fingers in the swinging door which can lock the complete bathroom or just the toilet.
For what it is it is ok, but only for One, two nights.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LairdMcKai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear LairdMcKai,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. Our goal is to ensure that all our clients leave satisfied and we try our best to fulfill all our guest requests. I apologize for the issues you had with most of our amenities and the dissatisfaction you encountered with our service level. We constantly strive to provide an environment of comfort and value to our guests, therefore, we are sincerely concerned when we fall short of your expectations. I have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests.

Again, thank you for staying with us and taking the time to give feedback.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#23 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#44 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#51 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile

Property: Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile
Address: 300 Cowgate, Edinburgh EH1 1NA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#32 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#35 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edinburgh city centre budget hotels don't come any better than the Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh-Royal Mile hotel, Edinburgh's only Express hotel with air conditioned guestrooms. There's FREE Wi-Fi internet access in the public areas and cabled access in the guestrooms plus an extensive complimentary hot breakfast buffet too - this Edinburgh budget hotel is sure to be a popular choice! As the name suggests Edinburgh's newest superior budget hotel is located in Edinburgh's quaint Old Town, just moments from the historic Royal Mile, Waverley Train Station and internationally renowned attractions such as Edinburgh Castle, Holyrood Palace, Scottish Parliament Building, Princes Street and more. For sports fans the Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh-Royal Mile hotel is within easy reach of Murrayfield Stadium, home of Scottish Rugby, as well as Hearts Football Club & Hibernian Football Club. For meetings in Edinburgh our fully equipped, air conditioned meeting room can accommodate up to 40 delegates. Thanks to our FREE Wi-Fi internet access delegates meeting in Edinburgh can keep in touch while on the go! Our location is perfect for delegates attending the Edinburgh International Conference Centre. NCP Car park 3 mins walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, IHG, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Express Edinburgh Royal Mile
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
Edinburgh Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing