We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was a big mistake to choose this one”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile
Ranked #77 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
72 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Was a big mistake to choose this one”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Terrible experience! we were "hosted" under ground in a room which was 70% below the surface. 2 nights nearly no sleep, as I was suffering a strong allergy there. (nowhere else, despite of I am travelling a lot). - despite our reservation was for upper level rooms!
Our friends were complained on the room, so they were put on upper level. that was no good either, as the paper thin walls/doors let all noise came in.

this one should not be a hotel.

breakfast was ok, staff acceptable, nothing special.

but all in all, terrible experience. if they treat a guest like this, can you imagine what you can expect? be prepared for any surprise, if you take this! I would recommend to go somewhere else, as for this price there are plenty better choices. even the location is just average, as better hotels were close to the center!

Room Tip: First of all, make your stay as short as possible, as Edinburgh is just a 1 night 2 days town, you c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laszlo J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexpressrm, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

I am sorry you feel you should not have chosen to stay at this hotel. The vast majority of reviewers on this site, and similar sites, share a different opinion to you and I am truly sorry you do not feel the same as them. Our guest service team is available 24 hours and work tirelessly to ensure each and every guest enjoys their stay. We do our best to accommodate all guest requests and it is unfortunate on this occasion we were unable to accommodate you on a higher floor. I would look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel should you choose to give us a second chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    497
    591
    165
    42
    18
See reviews for
417
458
67
119
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed 3 nights here. Considering we had already been in London and Oxford in budget-friendly B&Bs, we were looking forward to a familiar hotel chain. The hotel did not disappoint in many ways. The rooms were modern and clean. The front desk staff was incredibly friendly for our entire stay--meaning new faces each day and every person was as wonderful as the next. The location is fantastic as the hotel is situated perfectly, in relation to the Royal Mile, about halfway between Hollyrood Palace and Edinburgh Castle. I found the breakfast selection to be fabulous with several yogurts, oatmeal, croissants and a coffee/espresso/café au lait machine available.

Some of the disappointing aspects:
-My husband chose the hot breakfast items and ended up just eating toast as opposed to the odd dry sausages and watery eggs.
-The shower did not drain. The water was literally over my feet within a couple of minutes which I find disgusting.
-The bedding consisted of a sheet over the mattress and a rather comfy duvet--but that is all. No flat sheet. Just one duvet and a faux blanket on the end of the bed for decoration...
-The mattress, oh the mattress! A thin pad with springs that drove into my back for 3 nights.

For the price, I am certain I could have slept better elsewhere. However, the hotel is clean and friendly.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brighteyes222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexpressrm, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and we appreciate the positive comments with regard to the staff and the level of service you received. I was sorry to hear you did not find the mattress comfortable – often this is dependent on each individual’s preference but our housekeeping team do regularly monitor the condition of all mattresses to ensure all guests can experience a comfortable stay. I hope to welcome you back to our hotel on your next visit to Edinburgh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunningdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
308 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 335 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

This is an excellent business style hotel in a central location. We were looking for a night's basic accommodation in between Waverley station and the university, so it fitted the bill. We had a family room with fold-out bed, which my daughter said was a little hard! The bathroom was nice with an interesting space-saving door that acted as either bathroom door or loo door – depending. The self-service breakfast is very basic and my wife was critical of the slightly unappetising sausages... but I found it OK. And the staff were very polite and helpful. Recommended for a brief, basic stay in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chingachgook2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexpressrm, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am glad you enjoyed your stay. Our family rooms offer great value as kids stay free and our complimentary breakfast is a great way to start a busy day in town – I am sorry your wife did not like the sausages but I am glad you enjoyed them. I hope to welcome you back to Edinburgh soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaconsfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Can't see why this gets such good reviews. It's a typical Holiday Inn Express, just like the others. Good points: great location, quiet room with excellent aircon, friendly service, secure, very clean throughout. Bad points: spartan room with few facilities, quite small, breakfast very dull (cheap sausages and no bacon? jam but no marmite?) but nice idea to have a tv in the breakfast room. Very expensive (£150) for what you get. There are other cheap hotels nearby that are 2/3 the price and give you something very similar.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BucksEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexpressrm, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, I am sorry to read that you do not agree with the majority of reviewers on this site. As a Holiday Inn Express we are bound by Brand Standards which dictates things such as our breakfast menu and room sizes and amenities. What we feel sets us apart from other Holiday Inn Expresses is our staff and the service we provide. We always ensure we are competitively priced within our market and I am disappointed you felt the hotel was expensive – events and demand in Edinburgh can cause prices to rise throughout the year but on all our booking sites prices and amenities are very clear so guests do not have any surprises when they arrive. I would hope to welcome you back to our hotel on your next trip to Edinburgh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrensburg
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Having stayed in many a Holiday Inn in the States, I was amazed at the amenities offered by the hotel in Edinburgh! The location is wonderful -- a quick walk to the Royal Mile and the staff was friendly and happy to give directions or suggestions. The continental breakfast was simply delicious with many different hot choices as well as cereal and other options which made the stay a very good value. The only downside was that the in-room Wifi code had to be renewed at the front desk every day and was not very compatible with the device I was using. I was impressed with the Eco-friendly room-card system that only allowed the lights to be turned on when the card was inserted in the designated slot, limiting waste. In short, a nice experience!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ambarxperla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexpressrm, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am glad you enjoyed your visit and agree with many other reviewers on this suite that the hotel is in a fantastic location. Our Free Wi-Fi and breakfast adds great value to your stay in Edinburgh. We have recently been awarded a Gold award for the second year running in the Green Tourism Business Scheme and our entire staff are proud that their efforts are recognized not only by the board of green tourism but guests such as yourselves also.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Angeles, Washington
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

This hotel is located so close to all the sights in Edinburgh. The room was comfortable, quiet, clean and large. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful for everything we needed. The breakfast had lots to offer. We would recommend this hotel highly. It was a great place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken and Nancy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexpressrm, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am glad you enjoyed your visit and I hope to welcome you back to our hotel on any future visits to Edinburgh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
88 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Great place to stay for our weekend visit to Edinburgh. Located right on the Royal Mile so walking to attractions or buses was quick. Room was clean and comfortable. Staff were extremely friendly and knowledgeable. Breakfast was plentiful and varied. Room key access to lift left us feeling more secure. Definitely enjoyed our stay, heartily recommended!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marfishbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexpressrm, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am glad you enjoyed your visit and we are very lucky to be located within close walking distance to many of Edinburgh’s favourite attractions. We aim to offer all guests a safe and comfortable stay and I am glad on this occasion you agree we did this. I hope to welcome you back to our hotel on any future visits to Edinburgh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#23 of 148 in Edinburgh
308 reviews
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#44 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
Old Town
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
#86 of 148 in Edinburgh
3,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile

Property: Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile
Address: 300 Cowgate, Edinburgh EH1 1NA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#32 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#35 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edinburgh city centre budget hotels don't come any better than the Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh-Royal Mile hotel, Edinburgh's only Express hotel with air conditioned guestrooms. There's FREE Wi-Fi internet access in the public areas and cabled access in the guestrooms plus an extensive complimentary hot breakfast buffet too - this Edinburgh budget hotel is sure to be a popular choice! As the name suggests Edinburgh's newest superior budget hotel is located in Edinburgh's quaint Old Town, just moments from the historic Royal Mile, Waverley Train Station and internationally renowned attractions such as Edinburgh Castle, Holyrood Palace, Scottish Parliament Building, Princes Street and more. For sports fans the Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh-Royal Mile hotel is within easy reach of Murrayfield Stadium, home of Scottish Rugby, as well as Hearts Football Club & Hibernian Football Club. For meetings in Edinburgh our fully equipped, air conditioned meeting room can accommodate up to 40 delegates. Thanks to our FREE Wi-Fi internet access delegates meeting in Edinburgh can keep in touch while on the go! Our location is perfect for delegates attending the Edinburgh International Conference Centre. NCP Car park 3 mins walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Express Edinburgh Royal Mile
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
Edinburgh Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing