We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile
Ranked #81 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Luton, Beds
Level Contributor
80 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We stayed for one night on a Friday. Rooms are in very good condition, however bed linen needs to be a bit more generous. We had a problem with our sink, and the staff fixed it within minutes. Reception and waitress staff are excellent and cannot do enough for you. The breakfast is very good, but no bacon available to me. The hotel is clean throughout and very modern. The location of the Holiday Inn is just nicely away from any bars, but you do get a very good nights sleep in a quiet hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank touchline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    486
    584
    164
    42
    18
See reviews for
412
451
66
117
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel a few times for both vacation and business. The rooms are quite comfortable and I haven't experienced any noisy neighbors. Perhaps I have lucked out with having quiet neighbors, or the rooms are good at keeping out sound. The breakfast is decent for what it is. The location is great and I think that this is one of the main draws for which I stay here. It is close to many great sights. The staff is very friendly. If returning to Edinburgh I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Micromac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexpressrm, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us. I am glad you have enjoyed your visits to Edinburgh and have chosen to stay with us a few times. We have guests returning to stay with on a regular basis and there is no greater compliment to the team we have here. Our front desk team are available 24 hours a day and are always happy to share their knowledge of the area, ensuring not only that you are staying in the heart of the city centre but have the required information to make the most of your visit. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on your next visit to Edinburgh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

A couple of minutes walk from the Royal Mile, not much longer to the National Museum and all the sites of the Old Town and a whole variety of eateries.
Rooms are not huge but very clean and functional and we found ours to be more than comfortable enough for a 3 day visit. Air conditioning seemed to have a bit of a mind of its own but it was a very cold period. Only other negative was that our room had a door (locked) to the next door room and this meant there was virtually no sound-proofing between the two rooms.
Very friendly and helpful reception staff.
Parkng is 5 minutes walk in an NCP place just down the road. Present the token at the hotel and the 24 hour rate is £10 instead of £14. There is roadside paring near the hotel but it was always occupied. If you wish to drop off big cases you might have to risk double yellow line for a couple of minutes.
Breafast offered the usual basics of a small self service set up. Nothing fancy but you could certainly set yourself up for the day. Free newspaper.

Great real ale pub (25 plus real ales) with a very friendly ambience a minute down Cowgate, just across crossroads. An excellent David Bann vegetarian restaurant just round the corner on St Mary's street.... and we would have tried their neighbour, the well reviewed Stac Polly had it been open on Sundays.

Room Tip: Ask for a non-adjoining room. Ours had a door (locked) to the next door room and this meant there w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Basic, clean hotel in Cowgate, which is close to all main attractions. Staff very friendly. Breakfast can be a bit of a madhouse, as it was always a squeeze for a table, and they only do scrambled eggs, sausages and beans as a hot option, so these always went quickly. Otherwise, if you want a reasonably cost affective stay, then it's fine.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dave22012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Level Contributor
155 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Good location, clean, functional, breakfast adequate, staff very friendly and helpful. We had a room for three so my son was on the sofa bed - adequate size but a bit lumpy an bumpy - fine for one night but not the most comfortable.
Bar and lounge area, lots of local info. Was exactly as I had expected and, i think, good value for money.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coffeepot11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

A nice hotel with a warm welcome. The rooms were bright and clean, the hotel itself was quiet but in a great location, moments from the Royal Mile and Holyrood Park. Breakfast was included, a fairly basic buffet but it did the job!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonEllie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Ideally located just off the famous Royal Mile in Edinburgh. 10 minute walk from Waverly train station and a few minutes from the Royal Mile. Clean and tidy hotel with friendly staff. Only downside is there is no in house restaurant but in Edinburgh, half the fun is trying to decide where to eat given the choice on offer. Breakfast is ok, cereal and a choice of hot food. Would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phillipe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexpressrm, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you for the kind review. As you have said the hotel is in a great location just off the Royal Mile, in the heart of the Old Town of Edinburgh. Although we don’t have our own restaurant for lunches and evening meals we have a large collection of menus for many local restaurants, and are front desk staff have a great knowledge of the best places to go. For those too tired after a long day seeing the sights we also hold a collection of takeaway menus - our front desk team are happy to order you in a takeaway while you just sit back, relax and enjoy a drink from the bar. I hope you choose to stay with us on your next visit to Scotland’s capital.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#23 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#44 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#51 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile

Property: Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile
Address: 300 Cowgate, Edinburgh EH1 1NA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#32 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#35 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edinburgh city centre budget hotels don't come any better than the Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh-Royal Mile hotel, Edinburgh's only Express hotel with air conditioned guestrooms. There's FREE Wi-Fi internet access in the public areas and cabled access in the guestrooms plus an extensive complimentary hot breakfast buffet too - this Edinburgh budget hotel is sure to be a popular choice! As the name suggests Edinburgh's newest superior budget hotel is located in Edinburgh's quaint Old Town, just moments from the historic Royal Mile, Waverley Train Station and internationally renowned attractions such as Edinburgh Castle, Holyrood Palace, Scottish Parliament Building, Princes Street and more. For sports fans the Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh-Royal Mile hotel is within easy reach of Murrayfield Stadium, home of Scottish Rugby, as well as Hearts Football Club & Hibernian Football Club. For meetings in Edinburgh our fully equipped, air conditioned meeting room can accommodate up to 40 delegates. Thanks to our FREE Wi-Fi internet access delegates meeting in Edinburgh can keep in touch while on the go! Our location is perfect for delegates attending the Edinburgh International Conference Centre. NCP Car park 3 mins walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Express Edinburgh Royal Mile
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
Edinburgh Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing