We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food, great service. Favourite in Edinburgh” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Himalaya Tandoori Restaurant

Himalaya Tandoori Restaurant
Ranked #940 of 2,437 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Bruntsfield
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Excellent food, great service. Favourite in Edinburgh”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

This restaurant is a real gem. There are plenty of Indian restaurants in Edinburgh but this one is by far my favourite. The food is spectacular (Chicken specials are particularly fantastic) and the service is excellent. I've been here in large and intimate groups and both are very comfortable despite the size of the place. If you're looking for a great Indian with service to match this is your place!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ccs06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    24
    5
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Best Indian in Edinburgh”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

I have visited the Himalaya many many times and had numerous take-away's and I have alway found the standard to be a high as anywhere I've ever eaten a curry.
I visited the Himalaya recently and although many others have commented that it is often a little tight for space, I'm sure this helps the great atmosphere when it's busy.
We had assorted starters, pakora, mince samosa, and chicken kebab all well cooked, well presented and very tasty. For mains, I had the North Indian chilli garlic chicken, but I always do when I eat in the Himalaya because it's suberb!! My companions had kashmir chicken and chicken tikka bhuna with some pilau rice and a delicious peshwari nan bread. We found the service to be smart and very attentive. You really can't go wrong with the Himalaya

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank David_ChEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland/Sanibel
Level Contributor
82 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Well this was excellent ! Watch out for some of the reviews!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2012

I see this languishing in the lower top 40 of Edinburgh curry houses. I must be a real addict as I seem to have eaten in over half of the ones rated hgher! There is such excellent choice in Edinburgh.

Firstly this restaurant's reviews show all the worst features of TripAdvisor. Some people are rating the carryoot service , some the actual restaurant. Then, out of just ten reviews, about half, including both very good and dreadful reviews, have posted only one to three reviews total; so one can assume that most of these are totally bogus.

So here is an accurate summary as far as I can judge. The restaurant is comfortable and our service throughout, on quite a busy night, was excellent if slow.

The sundries including the giant nan are very good. I ordered a vedgetable rogan gosht, not even on the menu , and it was excellent as was the vedgie rice and tarka dhal. My daughter had a chicken dish which also met with her approval.

My son-in-law opted for an item which featured whole chillies sellected for their virulance. It seemed hotter than a phal to me, hotter'n hell as they say in the U.S., so I could not judge it. I do not think a parrot could have eaten it and.... it caused some degree of stomach upset... If I had eaten it ,I would have suffered a full scale Colonel Bloodknock explosion aft.

So, to sum up, I at least will be happy going back.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ScottishRichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
70 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Needs to improve”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2012

I've gone to the Himalaya for a number of years now and have to admit the standard of food has gone way down. Although portion sizes are good our main courses lacked freshness and zest. The decor in general looks tired and overall the restaurant would benefit from a revamp. When you compare what's available elsewhere in town it doesn't offer good value for money. I hope it improves soon as it used to be a favourite but won't be back until it changes dramatically.

    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank EgunRonnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cold food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2012

I recently had the misfortune of ordering two dishes to be delivered to my home. I should have been aware of the outcome after having to give my address three times to the restaurant. Twenty minutes before the food arrived, I received a phone call asking for the fourth time to confirm my address and where exactly I lived. (which is nearby within their 2 mile zone) When the food did arrive, it was cold. Tepid.

I called back, explained the situation, and was told that they could not guarantee that food would arrive hot (a point not made clear when I booked the order). He did however offer to send out a replacement meal.

The second serving arrived, and the two dishes bore no resemblance to the first dishes. Not in colour or in texture. Again, the food was tepid. The sauces were solid with a glazed appearance. One of the dishes had a suspicious mixture of colours as if the dish had been recombined from other portions.

The vegetable pakora appeared also to have been reconstituted from other food items - perhaps cooked twice. The texture was crispy and flaky, with overcooked "spider legs" in place of the usual onion.

I phoned the manager back to complain about the appearance of the food. He became cross and advised that in hundreds of dishes served he had never received a single complaint. Noticing the other complaints on this site and the discounts given to diners who were dissatisfied with their meal I can only conclude that this statement was dubious.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank disappointeded
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Himalaya Tandoori Restaurant also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Himalaya Tandoori Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing