We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Off the beaten path but worth it”
Review of Bield B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bield B&B
Ranked #57 of 393 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 24, 2008

Charming, quiet B&B off the main track but easily within walking distance of major attractions (Princes Street). Ken and Linda truly love their B&B and take pride in providing the finest services in the industry. When we arrived, they took the time to make sure we knew walking and bus routes, suggested which attractions were worth the visit, good resturants, and answered all our questions. They even ensured we had a pack lunch the morning we left. The room was comfortable and large as was the bathroom with the heated towel rack. I certainly would recommend them to friends and if we're ever in Edinburgh, we would definitely stay there.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank CLWDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (233)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

202 - 208 of 233 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2008

We stayed for 3 nights at this b&b and enjoyed it. The rooms are large with a good size bathroom and everything you need (TV, Tea coffee making facilities...). The hosts were very nice and made sure everything went well. The breakfast was nice. This b&b offers good value for money and good location for all attractions (20 to 30 minutes walk to Princes Street and 5 minutes by buses stopping in front of the house). It is also very handy if you have a car as there is a parking facility so you do not have to worry about parking fines. Overall we had a very nice time.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank krisztinita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2008

We stayed at Bield B&B for one night in June 2008. Bield is owned by Ken and Linda who were very hospitable and accomodating hosts. Nothing was too much trouble. We had to leave at 8am and our breakfast was there waiting for us right on time.

The house is a delightful property situated conveniently about 1 mile away from the city centre. It is a very pleasant walk from here into the city, or alternatively there is a bus stop on the other side of the road, with regular buses into the main shopping area, Royal Mile etc. Linda and Ken are able to provide a lot of information on the surronding area.

Our room was very modern and spacious, with a comfortable bed, tea and coffee making facilities, tv, large bathroom and powerful shower. There was a choice of food for breakfast. We opted for a full scottish cooked breakfast (which Ken did a superb job of!).

We would definately chose to stay here again on our next visit to Edinburgh.

(This accomodation is also excellent for those sitting the MRCS exams at Western General Hospital. The hospital is only a 5minute walk away)

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank muzfuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank funker7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken03, Owner at Bield B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Holger F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken03, Owner at Bield B&B, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank nbe187147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken03, Owner at Bield B&B, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank LeHoProvateTutte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
1.8 mi away
Fraoch House
Fraoch House
#9 of 393 in Edinburgh
773 reviews
1.4 mi away
4Kt Guesthouse
4Kt Guesthouse
#34 of 393 in Edinburgh
150 reviews
2.7 mi away
Barony House
Barony House
#2 of 393 in Edinburgh
758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Sherwood Guest House
Sherwood Guest House
#36 of 393 in Edinburgh
301 reviews
2.3 mi away
Acer Lodge Guest House
Acer Lodge Guest House
#67 of 393 in Edinburgh
135 reviews
2.5 mi away
Ashdene House
Ashdene House
#113 of 393 in Edinburgh
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bield B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bield B&B

Address: 3 Orchard Brae West, Edinburgh EH4 2EW, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 393 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: $99 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bield B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Bield B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bield B&B Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing