We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A cosy retreat with tasty food”

Stac Polly - Dublin Street
Ranked #392 of 2,529 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $86
Cuisines: Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Broughton & Calton
Twickenham
Level 6 Contributor
386 reviews
265 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“A cosy retreat with tasty food”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We had a good table in a corner. Tables are close so if you were in the middle of the room the staff may disturb you.

Service and food were excellent. Portions are average but the taste combinations are fantastic.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Welsh_Clarkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    167
    113
    37
    23
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful find”
Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

Recommended by the concierge at our hotel this restaurant is well worth a visit. Very nice menu and wine list and the food was excellent. Efficient service and pleasant decor.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ring0Starr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very disappointed”
Reviewed December 21, 2013 via mobile

Had made booking well in advance for Christmas period lunch but when my family and I turned up there was no sign of our reservation. We were placed at two tiny bar tables that were differing heights and dirty with candle wax. Waiter was less than interested. We left before ordering and were lucky enough to be made very welcome at the Magnum where we had a wonderful meal.

Helpful?
1 Thank mintyaerogreen6
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
York, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Nice Restaurant”
Reviewed December 4, 2013

We dined as a family (all adults), and while we enjoyed our meals (the haggis in pastry was lovely, and the lamb shank very good too) the prices seemed higher than were really justified (maybe they had kept the Festival season menus out too long). The restaurant wasn't busy, which was a little surprising, as it really wasn't that bad, just not great. Would we go back? Well, I wouldn't refuse if someone else was paying, but there are an awful lot of good restaurants in this most charming of cities.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Wonderful food”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We went here on Saturday night and had a fantastic dinner. The haggis wrapped in pastry were just delightful. We had venison and lamb for our mains and they were both cooked to perfection. The service was friendly and the wine was equally good. My partner had the walnut desert, which she wasn't entirely keen on but we would still go again as the rest of the meal was top notch

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NeilEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stac Polly - Dublin Street also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Stac Polly - Dublin Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing