We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good food!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Raj Restaurant - CLOSED

The Raj Restaurant
Price range: $19 - $25
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout
Description: A quirky, popular Indian restaurant near the Britannia Yacht and overlooking the Shore at Leith, Edinburgh's historic seaport. The Raj theme extends from the soldier figurines and British flag behind the exotic blue bar to the predominantly Bangladeshi/North Indian menu. Appropriately for the location, there's a selection of Goan and seafood specialties. Among the best house specials are a gorgeous amere murgh; chicken cooked with fresh mango and mild spices, finished with cream and flaked almonds, and aromatic chicken. The latter is one of 14 dishes created by winners of the International Indian Chef of the Year, an annual cook-off organised by Raj's entrepreneurial owner, Tommy Miah. A weekday business crowd gives way to families and friends on Saturdays and Sundays. A place to go with friends more than a loved one.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“good food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012 via mobile

I had a take away.. and I we had 3 chicken . they were all good very tasty except for the fact that that has used food colour. but taste wise no complains. the interior looked quite alright. yes I will eat here again. probably the same dishes.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank zero2cool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    19
    7
    13
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
126 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Excellent food & service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012 via mobile

Friendly attentive staff. High quality of food. The starter of very well flavoured lamb on a bed of bhaji was new to me and delicious. Main dish was equally tasty as was aubergine side dish. I was on business trip, so was alone but there was no problem with that. I will return when next in Leith.

Helpful?
Thank changelingscuba
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

I visit the Raj 5-8 times per year (always sat night). I always feel it's great value for money, with great food and good atmosphere. However tonight (thursday) for the first time i visited during the week. It had a a la carte menu at £9.95 pp. It includes any starter, most mains (95% off), rice or nan and a dessert. The portions were exactly the same size as normal and the taste as good as i've come to know. Service was excellent as usual. 10/10.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Still my Favourite Indian”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

I have lived in Leith for 7 years and The Raj has been my constant companion! In recent years it had seen a lot of competition arrive in the area, but it has adapted and stood the test of time. The food is just fabulous with some good deals to be had and a good selection on the menu without being overbearing. The "Curry in a Hurry" takeaway deal is super and well worth the money. Plus....the view. If you are lucky enough to get a window seat it is just the perfect place for food and drinks whilst the sun sets over Leith.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank SusanR77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
39 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Curry with A View”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

Four of us dropped in here on Saturday night, after sampling what the Scottish Malt Whisky Society had to offer, and were immediatelyshown to a nice big, round table which was next to the window with a very continental view down the Water of Leith to The Shore.
We ordered a round of beers and some popadums which came fairly swiftly with the minimum of fuss. Poppadums were crispy and fresh, onions tasty and the bare naked green chillis challenging. Starters were very good, the vegetsble pakura being light inside and crunchy outside, with the correct (tamarind?) sauce and not the leftovers from the poppadums.
The main courses were excellent, with barely a trace of ghee. I had lal maas, a "fiery" lamb dish; fortunately, not too fiery but extremely tasty. The rice, breads and side dishes were all good and fresh.
I remember when this place opened, and the owner has tried many and varied offers to encourage people to eat there. I have also eaten here many times and been occasionally disappointed, usually with the service and overbooking. I have had the "business" lunch here many times as well which has always been satisfactory.
All in all then, a dining experience which was better than I had anticipated with good fresh food, service that was friendy but never intrusive, and a view to sit back and enjoy. Cost wise, probably about right.
If you like good, simple Indian food without fuss, and in particular the old favourites, I would strongly suggest that you could do a lot worse than visit here
There are also the delights of the Leith bars to enjoy before and/or afterwards where people are generally friendly and welcoming. Not a bad night out!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gourmet-Ecossais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Raj Restaurant also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing