We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great meal and bigger portions now!”
Review of Iglu - CLOSED

Iglu
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Scottish, British, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Bar scene, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: New Town
Description: Located in a back street 10 mins walk from Princes Street away from the tourist prices. Award winning Scottish food with French and Italian influences. Iglu is famous for using wonderful local produce, much of it being organic and bought directly from artisan producers.We are rated as one of the best places to eat Scottish food in Edinburgh - and there is pretty tough competition - most of the others charge a lot more! Our food has featured in the Michelin guide, we won gastropub of the year, best sunday lunch and many other awards! We think it is great honest food maximizing the flavours of the high quality produce.Cosy and relaxed Iglu is in the historic World Heritage Site Edinburgh New Town. There is a street level bar with real stone walls, Black Isle organic beers on tap (Iglu was the first place in Edinburgh to put them on tap)hand crafted Scottish oak tables and bar tops. There are Oak holders for glass Demijohns contaning hand made Scottish fruit liquers.You can eat in the bar which can seat twenty people here or in the dining room upstairs which seats up to thirty people.Service for us is important - we try and be there for you but not overly attentative. I hope you enjoy your time at Iglu - and tell the world about us! Charlie
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great meal and bigger portions now!”
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Back to iglu for my third visit and took friends this time.
Great atmosphere and nice choice of meals. My husband asked for a variation from the menu and it was handled perfectly.
The food isn't cheap when you're not on an offer so I was pleased to see that the portions were much bigger than last time when I was left feeling slightly unsatisfied.
Service was a bit slow given that it wasn't that busy, but at least that meant we had our table for several hours on a Saturday night when you would have been rushed through for a second seating elsewhere
Highly recommended

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank corriec123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    49
    12
    10
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Worth the trek to find it”
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Went here last night with my husband and son..3 courses for £16. Portion size wasn't huge but we were satisfied because we had the 3 courses. My starter of Pear and Blue Cheese was tasty , a bit scarce with the cheese though. My son had the Crispy Squid, very good.
For mains, 2 of us had the Venison and Shin Beef pie...very good, tender Beef, wholesome food. The other Main we had was Haunch of Venison, very nice..but not a lot on the plate.
Desserts were gorgeous, 2 portions of Chocolate Delice, beautifully presented as a skinny long rectangle with a Praline Base.
My Sticky Date Pudding was gorgeous....nice and generous too. Wine was worth the price at £18, couldnt expect too much from it..
Over all....a charming spot...excellent wholesome food....charming Spanish Waitress...would love to return.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mumandgirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“a quality meal”
Reviewed November 24, 2013

We returned after more than a year. The menu has changed considerably but now gives a wider selaction. We chose the tapas which was excellent, a very good choice. It was lovely that it include 2 sweets. 3 tapas was more than enough for lunch. The atmosphere was good and the service excellent.
We will definitely be back soon.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cnjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Intimate and casual”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

The location is slightly hidden off the main drag but worth a walk. It is a welcome relaxation from the more glamorous restaurants of George Street and the like. We ordered wine, at £18 a bottle, not too much of a selection for wine lovers but the food was a better deal with a 3 choice tapas selection for £9. there was a main menu too which looked good. Our evening was excellent and well worth it with very tasty food. It is a small restaurant and at times during our mid week visit the restaurant became busy but we didn't feel crowded. The restaurant has started to open up their upper floor in the evening now rather than just for private functions, but that is still available at lunch times/afternoons. It felt like a place frequented by locals 'in the know'. I've been back several times and will do again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank greendream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Such a let down”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Well, we have been intending on going here for ages due to their ethical and real food policies and their good reputation. Sorry to say that apart from the lovely younger waitress, this was poor.
Perhaps the chef has changed or he couldn't be bothered but for a Saturday night the flavour was poor and the presentation bland. Thank goodness the portions where on the small side... To compound matters, the kitchen hadn't informed the waiting staff or updated the menu to some changes, so what arrived didn't always match with what was wanted with the poor waitress having to apologise. No other change or option seemed available. My wife had her gluten free option suddenly not available but the chef was going to make something up specially with the tofu. What came out? A ****ng big pile of salad, some dressing and the same tofu. The chef could clearly not be bothered. After apologizing to all of our friends for their unexpectedly poor meal, we are unfortunately highly unlikely to try eating there again. Shame really as it is a nice venue and seemingly with it's heart in the right place.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank limegreen07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Iglu also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing