We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“House wine is fab!”
Review of the merlin

the merlin
Ranked #1,656 of 2,483 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Price range: $4 - $17
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: We are a pub that service good quality pub grub cooked from Fresh . We have ample seating and show sports regularly on our 5 screens.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“House wine is fab!”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Nor been here in absolute years but went on a wee 'day trip' to Bruntsfield/ Morningside and felt it would be rude not to grace it with my presence. It was fab. Bottle of light, crisp Pinot Grigio for just over £9, staff as helpful as ever but I didn't see the Pool tables, maybe theyhave gone now? they do a pub quiz on a sunday night, if it's anything like it used to be, it's worth it for the banter :)

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lauren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    56
    44
    24
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
edinburgh
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Pub and Sports Bar”
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Been here to watch sport and have a pint,
also to have food ,they also do morning breakfast rolls and coffee.
The fresh haddock and chips is best value .

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank jambo007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
59 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Okay Pub Grub”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

The Merlin has tried to be many things over the years, a local pub, a sports bar and once a restaurant. However I think it's best plan is to stick to cheap food and not try to class itself as anything fancier. There are far better places locally to get a good meal, but the Merlins handy, a good size and offers a good range of drinks.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank SimonHunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Would've been a good experience but....”
Reviewed June 24, 2012

This place was good on the face of things, I've been here before and enjoyed it: great location, friendly staff, tasty food, reasonable prices and clean facilities. However the thing which really put me off this time was the amount of Italian flags decorating the place; they were absolutely everywhere!! Now with the upcoming England Vs. Italy game it was clear what this was meant to imply. Being an Englishman I was left feeling a little unwelcome and my girlfriend (who's Scottish) also thought that it was way over the top.

Now I'm not against a bit of friendly banter, having lived and been schooled in Scotland I'm well used to the rivalry which we both enjoy, however I really felt that this was total overkill! It looked like Mario's front room!!

Again, I did think the rest of the place was good, but really felt that whoever was in charge of decoration had gone far too far, to the point where it made me feel quite uncomfortable.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank DevonVsPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good pub grub, reasonably priced!”
Reviewed April 17, 2012

We found The Merlin whilst our car was have a tyre change over the road at KwikFit, a very welcome stop off for lunch. The food was great, typical pub grub but tasty and reasonably priced. The staff were friendly and helpful....'nuff said!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank judeeast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed the merlin also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to the merlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing