We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Smiths Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Kincaid House Hotel(Milton of Campsie)
$110
$107
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$58
getaroom.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$63
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$89
$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$83
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$111
$108
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$114
$95
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (143)
Filter reviews
143 results
Traveler rating
29
31
26
20
37
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
29
31
26
20
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsset menuan ironlaminate flooringbeefyou'd expectnight stayservice was excellentlounge arealarge portionstrouser pressmainstitlewardrobegentscemeterynicole
Filter
Updating list...
128 - 133 of 143 reviews
Reviewed November 14, 2011

This is the only hotel in Kirkintilloch and it shows. The exterior and approaches are depressing although the interior is an improvement. I attended a function and the function room is spacious and fairly comfortable. The service was slow however and the food very basic. I understand the rooms are comfortable clean but small. Parking was very tight and the surrounding area very untidy.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jerryattrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2011

Stayed here at end of Aug 2010 as part of a wedding party. Arrived after a very long 4 hour drive and no-one was on the reception. 2 other guests arrived at same time as us and had to knock on kitchen door before any staff appeared. When receptionist finally did appear it took ages to check in.
Room very small and basic - not worth the money - even with 10% off for group booking.
As we were attending a wedding the next day we thought we'd get an early night. By 12.30am when I was still awake from the noise of the music coming from below - so loud you could sing along with it I went to complain. Having passed drunken people, who obviously weren't staying at the hotel, lolling about on the stairs I asked to speak to the manager who told me I couldn't hear any noise from the nightclub (which is the reception/restaurant area during the day/early evening - very bizarre!!) but might be able to hear the music from 1st flr function room. Told him it was irrelevant where the music was coming from it was unacceptable. He then said well it stops at 1am!! No apologies or anything - made to feel like I was in the wrong for complaining. Nightclub goes on for longer and then you can here all the noise at front of hotel of drunken people waiting for taxis.
Breakfast was terrible on both mornings and service was non existent. Dirty plates and cups from previous diners left on tables and had to wait ages for eggs and orange juice - very chaotic to say the least.
This is the only hotel in Kirkintilloch and when we next travel up to visit relatives would rather pay taxi fares to Glasgow and stay somewhere else than ever step foot in this establishment again.

Room Tip: Don't stay at weekends.
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank y_evans1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2011

This was our first time staying here, and i was pleasantly surprised. The hotel is clean, the rooms are perfectly adequate, the beds comfortable, the staff are incredibly friendly and helpful and really couldn't do enough to make our stay enjoyable. The food from the restaurant was excellent, better than the 3 star rating of the hotel. Absolutely no complaints whatsoever. We found it to be excellent value for money.
Jean on reception was wonderful, pleasant, helpful and friendly, she's a real asset to the place. Would stay here again without question.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Justine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2011

Only stayed one night but had no complaints
The room was small but adequate for our stay.
Very clean and beds were very comfy.
Had a meal in the restaurant and was exceptional value for what we paid.
If we were to return to this area I wouldnt hestitate to book again
Thank You

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chowy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2010

I chose this hotel because of the location close to where I was working . I've stayed here before the staff are friendly and efficient the rooms are clean with all the usuals. TV trousre press kettle. The Rooms are located on the 2nd floor, I'd imagine if you have difficulty climbing stairs the going up to te bedrooms will be too much.

The breakfast is now continental only and really not worth bothering with it consists of a choice of Cereals, Pastrys a white loaf and toaster and a fllask of hot water.

The main problem is the sound coming from the function room below, thud, thud, thud, ear plugs required. Theres a restaruant and bar on the ground floor, then menue is adequate and the food is well cooked , but the food takes an age to come. The menue has a fare variety of choice, all the usual suspects if tyour desperate for a change theres a nice Indian across the road.

The restaruant on the ground floor doubles as a night club and it was extremely lively especially as the only other local club closed down !8 to 30 youd love it .

Will use it for the location again..... oh by the way theres free wifi but only accessable from the ground floor Not much in Kirkintilloch unless your into canal boats ......

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cotogni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews