We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner”
Review of The Jefferson Restaurant - CLOSED

The Jefferson Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Reviewed August 27, 2018 via mobile

The setting was great . I’d been for lunch but not dinner . The service was fab & the food was second to none . Totally recommend it .

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Marianne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (433)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 433 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2018 via mobile

Visited on a quiet Thursday night prior to a trip to the cinema, and both myself and my mum ordered the Cajun chicken. The meal was fabulous, but our visit was somewhat tainted by the service. The young lady serving us seemed more interested in talking to her friends at the neighbouring table than asking us if we would like anything else with our meal or even telling us to enjoy or any other kind words. The meal was plopped in front of us and she immediately turned her back.. not exactly inviting! The same happened when we were looking for the bill, had to approach the bar after being ignored for 10 mins! Would return for the food but customer service skills could do with being revised!

Date of visit: July 2018
3  Thank stephmccull0ch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2018 via mobile

Have visited many times and always had great feed and great service but something has changed (and not for the better). Ordered Cajun chicken which is my absolutely favourite meal here. Chicken was so dry and vegetables over cooked. But the biggest disappointment was the Dauphinois potatoes; again a firm favourite but this time they were so overcooked it was like eating mashed potatoes , but also, it seemed they had been zapped in a microwave as the cheese was chewy it was so overdone. Soooooooo disappointing. Staff were lovely so not all was lost.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank fionak556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2018

This place is well worth a visit, it's tucked away in a side street that anyone other than a local would not think of looking. It's well worth the effort to find this place.

A friendly welcome at the door and invited to choose a table, drinks order quickly taken and menus provided.

We decided to eat from the set menu lunch (2 coursed for under £13.00).

The tempura veg was very good and the pate was great. My main of Beef Burguignon was excellent. The portions were generous and the food was all well presented.

This is a nice quite, relaxed place where the background music does not destroy the atmosphere.

The staff were attentive and chatty and it was a really nice relaxed meal in lovely surroundings.

Give this place atry.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MIB-53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2018

We were there on Saturday evening in the middle of this incredible heatwave. The heat in the kitchen had built up so much it ended up setting off the fire-alarm on a couple of occasions and we had the fire brigade out. With all of these issues, this restaurant were still able to provide absolutely incredible food served up by great staff. The chefs worked above and beyond and our party were blown away by the quality of the food. I absolutely recommend anyone eating in Kilmarnock to give this place a go and the food and drink prices are an absolute bargain.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank csobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Jefferson Restaurant also viewed

Kilmarnock, East Ayrshire
 
Kilmarnock, East Ayrshire
Kilmarnock, East Ayrshire
 
Kilmarnock, East Ayrshire
Kilmarnock, East Ayrshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing