We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Cochrane Inn

Cochrane Inn
Ranked #4 of 98 Restaurants in Kilmarnock
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $51
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Great food and nice atmosphere food delicious and drink prices average, the Cajun chicken is to die for ,they could perhaps do with a little more veg, you used to have a small stir fried veg selection but this no longer the case but still very good

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    193
    145
    48
    28
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

I visited on a Wednesday evening with 2 friends for the early bird. I manicured lawn and lovely garden at the front offer a lovely welcome. The food was terrific, hearty and tasty with good size portions for an early bird menu. The restaurant was filled very quickly with not a spare table in sight. Service was a little slow however, when we managed to get hold of the very busy staff they were polite and very helpful.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn0774
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“great food, service can be slow.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

great food cooked the way you want it.always busy and best to book in advance for fri/sat/sun. speed of service can let your visit down from time to time but service on its own is generally good.you will need a car or taxi to get here as its 2/3 miles from centre of kilmarnock.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank allan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Food extremely disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

Looks are deceiving. Looks lovely from the outside, slightly disappointing inside a little dull, tables close to each other. Was extremely busy so had high expectations! Menu had a good choice but food did not live up to it! Bland, over cooked, under seasoned food is all I can say, the whole family felt the same and we were not the only ones, saw several items being sent out whilst sitting at the table can't say eating as we mainly had a few mouthfuls and left the rest. The service from the front of house staff was good and they seemed genuinely concerned about the fact we did not eat the food and consulted the chef but I'm sorry chef needs some help drastically, will not be returning and instead like we should have done went to the Fenwick just up the road, food there is great! Maybe the chef should take a visit and see how it's done.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 3lauries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Fab little Gastropub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

We are frequent visitors to this lovely gastropub. It has a great atmosphere - small and cosy. The staff are very attentive, service quick and efficient and the food .......wonderful!!! We have never been disappointed on any of our many visits. The Cullen Skink is particularly great..but then, so is everything we have tried!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JMacc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cochrane Inn also viewed

Kilmarnock, East Ayrshire
Kilmarnock, East Ayrshire
 
Kilmarnock, East Ayrshire
Kilmarnock, East Ayrshire
 

Been to Cochrane Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing