We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Comfortable Castle for NYE celebrations”
other travelers have booked this property
Craufurdland castle in Glorious sunshine.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Craufurdland castle in Glorious sunshine.
Craufurdland castle in a moody Ayrshire sunset. The manicured Back Lawn, as seen from The Bard's Room.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
73 reviews
Craufurdland castle in Glorious sunshine.
Craufurdland castle in a moody Ayrshire sunset.
The manicured Back Lawn, as seen from The Bard's Room.
Carpets of Scottish Blue Bells in the woods around The Castle.
Beautiful ancient architecture with the moon peeking through.
Craufurdland's  
amazing daffodils.
The 14th Centuary Norman vauled entrance to the Towerhouse.
Kitchen with lots of work-surface , 2 dishwashers, 2 ovens & 2 fridges to accommodate upto 16.
Dinning for 16 in baronial luxury.
Table set for a King
Our beautiful Georgian Drawing Room looking on to the Back Lawn and The Lush Ayrshire Countryside.
Enjoy a roaring wood fire with your loved ones in the elegant drawing room.
Great room for an old fashioned family gathering of board games.
Wallace Suite upper floor - enjoy the view through the stunning stained glass baronial windows.
Relax in the spacious upper floor and while away the hours reading a book in peace and quiet.
Wallace suite upper floor - Up the lace spiral stairs to either Superking or Twin beds.
Enjoy the intricate workmen-ship and the space in this grand room.
The mesmerising Lace Spiral Stairs leading to the upper floor in the Wallace suite.
What a view !!
The stunning stain glass window in the Wallace suite looking out on to the front lawn.
Chair fit for a Queen.
Enjoy the 'living' area of the Wallace Suite, need more beds - turn the sofas into large single beds
Loving the Lace Spiral stairs.
Wallace En- Suite. Shower over bath.
The King James room in the Original 14th Century Tower of Craufurdland Castle.
A quirky room in the Tower with the hidden toilet & sink and a fabulous “Sash window” dressing table
Relax in the bath & enjoy the beauty and tranquillity of our Countryside.
Enjoy the bath in the Bay Window and soak up the tranquillity that the estate has to offer.
The beds in the King James Superking or Twin.
The lantern lighting the passage way from the King James Room.
The Queen Mary Room with its beautiful antique double four poster bed.
Relax on the four poster with your favourite tipple and enjoy the views over the front lawn.
Enjoy the space and tranquility of this elegant room.
The en-suite with a walk in shower.
Bard's Room cements our relationship with 'The Bard', with the discovery the Epitaph 'Grizzle Grim.'
Enjoy the views of the back lawn and beyond, watching Craufurdland Water meander through the fields.
The beds for The Bards and his companion can be Superking or Twin.
Main Bathroom
Main Landing on the first floor.
The landing from Queen Mary room to the Drawing room.
Landing on the first floor heading down to the kitchen and dinning room.
The Knights Room in the original 14th Century Tower named after Sir Reginald & Sir William Craufurd.
Relax in Knights' Room and look out over the stunning Ayrshire countryside and enjoy the peace.
This room can be Superking for the Knight & his Lady or twin with large sofa bed for his companions.
The stone spiral stair case leading you up tp the the Garrtee within the Castelations of The Tower.
The Garrett - Make your way up the stone spiral staircase and enjoy the Castelations of the Tower.
This room is affectionately called  'The Harry Potter Room' by some of our guests.
The Garrett- Travel back in time and enjoy staying within the Castelations of the Tower.
The drive teasing you until you turn the corner to get a peak at the Castle.
The deer dancing and prancing on the front lawn.
The colourful flowers of spring and summer.
Be at one with Nature, explore the Woodlands on Craufurdland Estate.
Let the rivers energise you.
Craufurd Water one of the 2 rivers that borders the Estate
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Castle -
6 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
Kilmarnock, East Ayrshire, Ayrshire, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 73 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Bryony T
Brussels
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable Castle for NYE celebrations”
Reviewed January 10, 2016 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I organised the rental of this wonderful castle for our annual NYE gathering. It's a fantastic place for a large group. It's quirky and interesting history, as well as beautiful grounds makes it a great place to stay. Adity and Simon (owners) are very friendly and helpful and gave us a great history tour with some really interesting snippets. The castle is very comfortable, the beds in particular are lovely, and each room has a unique quality. We enjoyed our stay for four nights very much and maybe one day we'll get to go back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 11, 2016
Thanks Bryony, really pleased you all had a good time. Glad you guy liked the beds I think they are really comfortable too.

Cheers
Adity and Simon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Holiday Accommodation with a difference!”
Reviewed November 27, 2015 for a stay in October 2015
2
people found this review helpful

If you fancy a holiday with a difference then why not try this oasis north-east of Kilmarnock?

The accommodation is a bit of a maze, spread over 3/4 floors of a wing of Craufordland Castle, owned by the very friendly Simon & Adity, and privately set within the tranquil Craufordland estate. The wing includes the oldest part of the castle - the Tower - with 3 of the 6 bedrooms and the entrance hall. The hall provides access to a superbly equipped kitchen, a good sized dining room and a very grand staircase which in turn provides access to the rest of the accommodation: the Tower bedrooms accessed by a side passage and a spiral staircase; the remaining bedrooms; and the very spacious drawing room situated on the 1st floor. Given that it's a castle you would think cold and draughty, but that's not the case with this castle! Every room is well equipped, full of character and each has a story to tell. All in all very comfortable.

Part of the experience is having Adity giving you the tour. She recounts the family history and brings to life the property and the extensive collection of family portraits - think of the paintings in Hogwarts for Harry Potter fans. Simon, Adity and family live (and work) in the rest of the castle and, if offered, extending the tour to the rest of the castle is recommended - you will be impressed!

The grounds too are terrific with walks and trails aplenty. The 'mud' trails are truly muddy and there's a sizeable fishing loch. You can spend hours exploring the grounds. If you have the energy and fancy a longer walk Dean Castle (in Kilmarnock) is achievable.

Having the family on hand is convenient, if needed for help or advice. They're extremely welcoming and friendly and whilst accessible they also give you space, respecting your privacy.

So why 4 and not 5 stars? I'm afraid we're hard to please... It's an old castle which needs constant maintenance and in places it shows. This is not to say that this detracts from a quite unique experience, it's just that in places things need repairing/replacing. Simon and Adity work hard to keep on top of this in between balancing the running of other businesses (including the Estate) but the place is big and the maintenance in itself is a full-time job.

So with all this in mind and you fancy experiencing living in a castle, head for an enjoyable break with friends and/or family at this truly unique location.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 11, 2016
Glad you guys had a good time. Re maintenance we have a rolling maintenance program, with a building this age, things don't always go to plan, sorry you were dissappointed.

Cheers
Simon and Adity
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley J
1 review
“Great time ”
Reviewed November 23, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Booked the castle for a weekend with work colleagues. Fantastic place everything we could have hoped for . Perfect setting for our murder mystery party. Hope to be back again !

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 7, 2015
Glad you all had a great time hopefully see you again soon.
Cheers
Simon and Adity
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert L
1 review
“Excellent weekend”
Reviewed November 11, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

We spent the weekend at Craufurdland Castle and a had very enjoyable time. Each room is completely different which makes them even more interesting than most locations you've probably stayed in until you take the tour. Then you discover the amazing history of the castle and the family which is even more interesting. I would highly recommend this location if your looking for something a little different, and Adity and Simon a very warm and welcoming hosts.

Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 7, 2015
Thanks for your kind review. We are so pleased you had a good time and enjoyed the tour. It does bring the paintings and the Castle to life more.
Cheers
Simon and Adity
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balscallo...
1 review
“A Birthday Celebration To Remeber”
Reviewed October 27, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

I booked the Castle to celebrate my 50th Birthday with friends and family. I wanted something a little different and this certainly was a place like no other. The castle was warm, comfortable and felt very luxurious and spacious. All the rooms were decorated differently and had their own stories related to the history of the castle. Catering facilities and dining accommodation was perfect for entertaining a large group and the Drawing room was big enough for us all to sit in and enjoy the crackling fire. The Castle was set in beautiful woodlands which made it perfect for adults and kids to enjoy from strolls to swinging and climbing the trees. The whole weekend was relaxing, stress free and very memorable. From the beauticians I organised to pamper us on the Friday night, our resident piper, the History tour on the Sunday from Adity, fantastic accommodation and the great company it all made for a perfect weekend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The space
Liked least: Having to go home
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 7, 2015
Thanks for your lovely review, I am so pleased you had a great time here, we try our best to ensure that our Castle is your home while you are here.
cheers
Simon and Adity
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marte H
Tromso, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bloody brilliant”
Reviewed October 15, 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Staying at Craufurdland castle was way more than just a long weekend or a short holiday, it was a small adventure - and an experience of a lifetime.
Our whole extended family, 18 in total, stayed at the castle to celebrate our fathers 70th birthday. It could not have been better for us. The castle itself is soaked in history from top to bottom. It literally has history in - inside! - its walls. Each room with its own story to tell. It makes for an interesting stay, for adults and for kids. Our group stretched from 4 months old to 70 years (obviously), and amazingly enough; everybody had a great time. The kids loved exploring the castle, and the grounds - finding spooky details such as the "priest hole" inside, and a wonderful climbing tree outside. The adults particularly enjoyed the tour of the castle, with Aditys exciting stories of relatives, kings, queens, poets, friends and foes, and their connection to the place. The evenings were spent in the large sitting room, with huge, comfy sofas and chairs, enjoying a good cup of tea, or a new type of ale bought in the village nearby.
Simon and Adity were the best of hosts. We've already mentioned the tour - do it! - but their good manner, great sense of humor and general welcoming "feel like home"-attitude really made our stay that little bit extra special. Simon even took the craziest of us with him on a legendary run thgough some extremely muddy trails!
Simon was also the one who recommended to us out brilliant caterer, John Leo Scott, who provided two fabulous meals!
We very warmly recommend Craufurdland Castle to anyone who want an experience a little out of the ordinary.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The tour, the history, the sitting room, the food!
Liked least: That we had to leave.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 16, 2015
Hi
Thank you so much for your fantastic review, we are really pleased that you really enjoyed our home and felt it was your home for the stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottBail...
Stranraer
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“What an amazing place”
Reviewed September 12, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We stayed recently to celebrate our friends 50th birthday, 16 of us in total and from arrival to departure we could not have asked for more.
The castle is seeped in history and the owners will give you a tour and explain in detail events through ages. The bedrooms are all furnished differently with nice comfy beds, the kitchen can easily cater for large groups as can the dining room. Relax in the drawing room with your favourite tipple. The grounds offer some great walks and not too strenuous. We had our own piper with us who played on the lawn and was also allowed access to the turrets to play on the roof, quite an experience.

How helpful were the directions to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Total relaxation
Liked least: It was all good
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 13, 2015
Thank you for your lovely review, I am really glad you all had such a nice time, the tour does really make the family portraits throughout come to life. A of their glimpse of their lives.Its the first time we have had a resident Piper will definitely be calling on her services.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;