We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Let down by the service” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Glasshouse at Rowallan Castle Golf Club

The Glasshouse at Rowallan Castle Golf Club
Ranked #11 of 97 Restaurants in Kilmarnock
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $24
Cuisines: Steakhouse, European, British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
scotland
Level Contributor
80 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Let down by the service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I went for afternoon tea today, firstly the hot chocolate was not hot and had to be sent back even after that it was warm at best, I asked for a coke but got a diet coke when I took this back I was told there was no cans only draught coke I took one and it was all soda and no syrup so this also went back.

The afternoon tea then arrived which was very good nice sandwiches and cakes no complaints, half way through the waitress came up and asked if I wanted a bottle of coke !!.

The table next to us got tea cups and no pot of tea until they went to ask for it also there was another table that cancelled some meals as they had been waiting so long some of there party had to leave.

More attention to detail and much better service required, the 2 staff members were very pleasant and very young so possibly a more experience hand is required.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    50
    26
    24
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“On The Way Up!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

Having read a few of the reviews before going to The Glasshouse I was ready to be disappointed but far from it! George and his team couldn't have been more attentive. I really do think that they may have turned a corner. The menu selection was excellent. We were a party of 5 and we all chose a real mixture and no-one was disappointed. The mixed olives at the start were in an amazing dressing. It was a shame that they were not a bit busier but if the chef keeps up this standard then it will be only a matter of time. Come on all you golfers you have an amazing course why not visit the restaurant too!! Good luck to all the team. We will certainly visit again when we return to Scotland.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Elaine526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
81 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Lovely birthday lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

Family Sunday lunch to celebrate my mum's birthday. V pleasant afternoon - lovely surroundings and excellent food which was beautifully presented on the plate. Special mention for the chocolate fondant pudding. Also very good value - 3 courses for just over £17. Would definitely pay a return visit.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Alijoy23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonny Scotland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Lovely place but lets itself down.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

We went to The Glasshouse as a family group to take my wife out for her birthday, the restaurant is in a lovely location overlooking the golf course but when we went to order a lot of stuff on the menu was not available much to the embarrassment of the very pleasant young waitress who kept having to come back to apologize. Out of 4 adults and 2 kids only one person got what they ordered first time the excuse given was that the menu was being changed, the question I ask is if you do not have it why put it on the menu, we voiced our concern to the manager and he did give us a reduction on the bill but this place will have to get its act in gear if it wants to get repeat trade.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Pettuddel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“a little disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

Visited with my wife and a friend in June. Rather surprised that apart from one other couple we were the only diners for that Friday evening. Service was good, (not too surprising as staff were able to cope easily ) Food was ok but nothing special, in fact somewhere between bar standard and restaurant. Talking to the waiter he explained that there had been a franchisee running it and standards had slipped with subsequent fall off in patronage. Also the family was now back in charge and standards were being improved. Still has a way to go in my opinion, but it I will be back to see how and if it improves.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank travellingmanBucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Glasshouse at Rowallan Castle Golf Club also viewed

Kilmarnock, East Ayrshire
Kilmarnock, East Ayrshire
 
Kilmarnock, East Ayrshire
Kilmarnock, East Ayrshire
 

Been to The Glasshouse at Rowallan Castle Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing