We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“brilliant”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Shimla Palace - CLOSED

Shimla Palace
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, International, Nepali
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Buffet, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“brilliant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

i can honestly say i have been to my fair share of indian restaurants from England to Europe and back, but to be lucky enough to have this restaurant in our town i am very happy. we have been to this little gem on numerous occasions, and have never had a bad service, or meal. the food is fresh, hot and extremely tasty. i would recommend this hidden gem to anyone who wants a well priced indian buffet or meal. cannot wait for my next visit.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank paula r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    22
    9
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
204 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Outstanding value...recommended”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2014

Firstly this is 100%genuine and only my experience.
I have had a meal here and it was exceptional value.
The restaurant was very quiet but that was just due to the timing.
This is a Nepalese restaurant and the staff are really nice friendly and helpful.
The food is very good and it is a set price for the meals ...all inclusive if you like!
A decent range for starters and main meals also a good range although not an exhaustive range enough for anyone ..maybe a few prawn dishes could be added as all meat dishes and some vegetarian were available.
The desserts were nice being cheese cake and ice cream available.
Well recommended .....

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MrT98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Decent but could be better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

Visited midweek for the buffet. Staff were wonderfully friendly from booking to leaving. Starters were nice but despite being brought out minutes before us choosing, the pakora, wings etc weren't warm. A bit off putting. Good selection of mains with veg, chicken and pork. Much warmer. Chicken pieces through curries very small and the tikka masala ran out but wasn't replenished. Curries were tasty however. Desserts quite good for an indian. Food reasonably priced, however drinks expensive: over £8 for a wine and a lager. Nice atmosphere although the decor was quite tired I.e. floor varnish all up skirting boards and holes in wall.

Visited due to high TripAdvisor rating so expected better. May pay another visit for their buffet and 5 alcoholic drinks for £23 deal. Great value.

Helpful?
2 Thank steevo123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darvel, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic meal every time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

Myself and my family have been going to Shimla Palace for years now and keep going back because the food is fantastic. The staff are lovely, very welcoming friendly and nothing is to much trouble. My children absolutely love going and it's always the place they ask to go to for lunch if we are in Kilmarnock. The buffet has a great selection to choose from, food is freshly made and very good value for money. I couldn't recommend a visit highly enough.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Mamahill76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Buffet”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

Great buffet, the food is always fresh and constantly being replenished. Loads of choice, starters and curry to suit all tastes.
The staff are all excellent, very friendly and attentive.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Johnny R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shimla Palace also viewed

Kilmarnock, East Ayrshire
Kilmarnock, East Ayrshire
 
Kilmarnock, East Ayrshire
Kilmarnock, East Ayrshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing