We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant staff great service”
Review of Shimla Palace - CLOSED

Shimla Palace
Cuisines: Indian, Nepali
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Buffet, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Buffet, Delivery, Reservations
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Brilliant staff great service”
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Looked after from the moment we walked in. Attentive staff always looking out to your needs.

Best in Kilmarnock by miles.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank 562021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    22
    8
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place to go, friendly atmosphere,great food”
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Great restaurant, 5 star
fantastic food,great service, good value.great prices,brilliant venue, would tell anbody to go there,fantastic place

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank marie3070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmarnock
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Can't get any better !”
Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

Excellent as usual. The food is delicious, staff very friendly and helpful. Like going to a friends for dinner. Fresh, tasty and value for money. You've got to give it a go!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kilmarnock
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed February 15, 2014

my husband took me out for my dinner for valentines and after reading the review on TripAdvisor decided to go here. from the minute we arrived the service was friendly and welcoming. we decided to go for the buffet option; plenty of options and all fresh and piping hot. there was a choice of 6 starters as well as salad,9 mains ranging from mild to hot as also rice and nan bread. desserts were varied also. ice cream especially nice. will definitely be back.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
1 review
“Good food at a great price”
Reviewed February 7, 2014

Although we are not very familiar with Indian food we enjoyed our meal very much. The food is of good quality, fresh and plentiful. Vegetable dishes are available. Food is replaced regularly. Service is excellent.

Having read some other reviews about plates being taken away, I would comment that there are extra plates available next to the buffet area and there is no restriction on how many can be taken. The plates are cleared regularly so dirty dishes are not left for reuse.

Main course choices include mild, medium and hot. Each section has a further choice of three dishes (9 mains in total). There is also a wide selection of starters, sides and salads. Basic desserts and tea and coffee are included in the price. Other desserts are available at extra cost For the lunchtime buffet we paid £20 for two people including drinks (a large wine and a pint of lager).

In my opinion the Shimla in Kilmarnock cannot be beaten for good value and excellent service.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jadefern13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shimla Palace also viewed

Kilmarnock, East Ayrshire
Kilmarnock, East Ayrshire
 
Kilmarnock, East Ayrshire
 
Kilmarnock, East Ayrshire
Kilmarnock, East Ayrshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing