We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“High quality food in small but cosy surroundings!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Weston Tavern

Weston Tavern
Ranked #2 of 97 Restaurants in Kilmarnock
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Dining on a budget, Kids, Special occasions, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Irvine, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
312 reviews
210 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“High quality food in small but cosy surroundings!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

We visited here on Saturday for lunch and had a terrific meal. The restaurant was fairly busy, but being quite small this does not take a lot of diners. We were seated straight away and the girl took our drinks order before leaving us with the menus. For starter I opted for the haggis, neeps and tatties and when it came the portions were massive, but more importantly it tasted excellent with just enough whisky sauce. The mixed pakora of chicken, haggis and black pudding also looked really nice. For main I had the supreme of chicken and this was very tasty with vegetables brought to our table separately and they were crisp and fresh. The chicken breast was cooked to perfection with the bone in and I really enjoyed the dish. It was not too spicy. The small haddock mornay was also a decent portion and you may consider the small portions with the size of the starters. The sirloin steak salad looked excellent and may be my choice on my next visit. The steak was cooked as ordered. Drinks were nice and overall a great visit and I will definitely be returning.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    68
    9
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
kILMARNOCK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Weston Tavern Kilmaurs”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

We visited the weston in a group for my father inlaws 65th birthday where upon we were greeted
by a smiling young lady .

the food ,service and attention we were given was second to none
portions were plentiful and well presented
this is a must on your to do list has a nice warm welcoming bar/lounge also

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank davidD118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

I went yesterday with a couple of friends. The good was amazing and service was very good, waitress really friendly and attentive! Will definitely be going again an recommending.

Helpful?
1 Thank Mattr1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
420 reviews
194 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Great Suggestion”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013

We had heard that this was an excellent place to go for lunch, and decided to try it for ourselves today, we were not disappointed, the food was excellent, the service was excellent, and the ambience was excellent - so five star all the way. They also do an interesting selection of herbal teas which might prove of interest, as we guys stick to the Staropramen, which although pricey, was a good pint.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank michieg121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
312 reviews
210 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Excellent value midweek lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

We stopped in here today for lunch and it was excellent. Was good to get out of the cold and into the warmth and when seated the lady offered to take our jackets. A drinks order was taken straight away and they seemed to have a decent range of lager, although the Staropramen at £4.10 was slight more than I would expect a pint to be in the area. We all ordered off the set menu and had two course each for £9.50. The prawn cocktail was a decent size and very tasty. The haggis, neeps and tatties was massive and I would have definitely have struggled to finish a main course had I ordered this. For main course I had steak & ale pie with potatoes and again this was a generous portion with a vegetables coming separate on a side plate. These consisted of carrots, parsnips and sprouts and were also very tasty. The service was friendly from start to finish and the coffees were really nice, all served with a nice piece of tablet on the saucer. Overall, an excellent little eaterie with a great value midweek set menu and I would definitely recommend.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Weston Tavern also viewed

Kilmarnock, East Ayrshire
Kilmarnock, East Ayrshire
 
Kilmarnock, East Ayrshire
Kilmarnock, East Ayrshire
 

Been to Weston Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing