We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Keeps on Getting Better”
Review of Weston Tavern

Weston Tavern
Ranked #2 of 99 Restaurants in Kilmarnock
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
728 reviews
337 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 377 helpful votes
“Just Keeps on Getting Better”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Just the place to take a visitor to Ayrshire. Our guest was most impressed by the quaint setting, the range of dishes available and the efficiency of the staff. The public car park is nearby and the tavern has a front entrance to the bar and a side entrance to the restaurant. Staff are very efficient and articulate their interactions very professionally. Service was very quick but not rushed in any way.

The Weston is very much at the centre of village life and the outside seating adds greatly to the scene on balmy summer nights. Kilmaurs station is quite close by and a regular bus service also runs past so not drinking because you are driving isn't a concern.

The Kilmaurs Jougs building with its short tower and the Butter Market Cross sit next to the Weston, adding to the quaint atmosphere at this hostelry that used to be a manse.

Very much the place for a good meal or a special event.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rossergruffydd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    175
    69
    10
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Stewarton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Mid week Evening meal with family”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Everything was good, Service was good, food cooked well and very tasty. Dessert really yummy. Good early evening special rate.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lilian10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great wee local”
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Visited many times great food great service always well looked after menu with local produce staff always very nice great atmosphere in bar defo be back again soon

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Neilm426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kilmarnock
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“little hideaway”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

bar/lounge setting. lovely meal well presented, did not have what I wanted on menu, but the chef made it for me, (nice chef, thanks) staff could not do enough to help. would recommend to all, will be back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mrmmyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
312 reviews
210 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Great little find!”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Went here recently for a birthday lunch and was more than pleased with the visit. There were eight of us and the staff member added a table of two onto the end of a booth so that we could be seated. Our drinks order was taken quickly and there were plenty of special also available, including a tapas menu, which included dishes such as chicken tempura. The location is small, but cosy and probably only has room for about 25 guests at most. We looked through the menu and there were plenty of options available. I had the mixed pakora to start, which consisted of chicken, haggis and black pudding and was an excellent choice. Was nice to have something different and I also heard the pate was highly recommended with the portion size being substantial. I would personally recommend the steak pie, but there were no complaints regarding anybodies mains and they all received high praise. The service was not the quickest, but there was just one waitress on duty and she may not have been expecting such a big table. I also found out they do special offers Monday-Thursday, which would be an added bonus. Overall this was an excellent visit and we will definitely be returning.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Weston Tavern also viewed

Kilmarnock, East Ayrshire
Kilmarnock, East Ayrshire
 
Kilmarnock, East Ayrshire
Kilmarnock, East Ayrshire
 
Kilmarnock, East Ayrshire
Kilmarnock, East Ayrshire
 

Been to Weston Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing