We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch”
Review of The Canny Man

The Canny Man
Ranked #6 of 100 Restaurants in Kilmarnock
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $22
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Known for years as The Paraffin Lamp, this popular pub and restaurant has been extensively refurbished and relaunched as The Canny Man. Situated in Lugton, near Kilmarnock in Ayreshire, it is fast becoming a local favourite thanks to the welcoming atmosphere and friendly staff. The interior is a seamless blend of old and new, complete with traditional stone walls, wooden furniture, and modern patterned wallpaper. Head Chef Scott Neilson has put together a classic British menu, with some continental influences, and this is complemented by daily specials. With tasty steaks, oven-baked pizzas and some excellent fish dishes on offer, you'll be spoilt for choice. For lazy lunches,coffee and cakes by the log fire,mid-week dinners and Sunday lunch with the family.
Dunlop, Ayrshire
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Lunch”
Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

Popped in for lunch last Wednesday just after 12. Place quite quiet initially but started to fill up quite quickly. Staff were lovely as usual and food was to usual great high standard. Two course deal is great value although this time we both had the main menu. We live locally and find the canny man always consistent in terms of value quality of food and service. Staff are always welcoming, polite and friendly without being really formal and I think that contributes to a really pleasant venue.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FMFAyrshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    100
    33
    13
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“alway good food”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

once again my husband and I were at the cannyman
we have been going here for about 10 years and never
had to complain.

the staff are always helpful and pleasent.
and the food good,
.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lcara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Canny man.”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Visited regularly for the past few years. Popped in on Tuesday night with the family.
Always loved it, food is great! Amazing dinners at a bargain price.
Although the waiting staff seem to have changed and not seen the big manager for a while.
Unattentive, lazy, depressed looking staff. More interesting in talking between themselves rather than giving us menus, drinks and even cutlery!!!
Table was unbalanced, chipped and stained, didnt look out of place with the rest of the tired looking decor. I think this place is struggling to keep up with the standards of surrounding restaurants such as The Blair and Hungry Monk.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank irenewatson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager c, Operations Director at The Canny Man, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Irene Watson,

Thank you for posting your review on trip advisor and your kind comments regarding the food. I am somewhat puzzled and disturbed re your comments about the staff. Out of the 5 staff on duty that night, 3 have been there since the opening of the Canny Man in 2007 including Marion the manager. I am certain that Marion has spoken to you on the night as she does with all customers and any issues you might have had could have been easily resolved.

I you wish to speak to me personally to discuss your comments please do not hesitate to contact me.

Yours sincerely,

Karel Kuhler
Operations Director
01292 314747
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beith, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Will be back.”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

I've always been of the opinion that places which require a little effort to get to; must have excellent standards and provide great experiences. The Canny Man is case in point.

Despite only living a few miles away this was my first visit. Everything was superb and the selection on the menu was fantastic.

Like the title says; I will be back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Martin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camshron
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A hidden gem ... higjly recommended.”
Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

Tototally unexpected Michelin standard quality of presentation and taste. Some of the best food I have enjoyed in a long time only equaled or surpapssed by some excellent restaurants in the Ctiy of London where I work and regularily dine . Apparently by a young Trainee Chef. .. don't lose him.
On my next visit to Paisley I will be back out.. well worth the drive, and more
...

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Camshron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Canny Man also viewed

Kilmarnock, East Ayrshire
Kilwinning, North Ayrshire
 
Kilmarnock, East Ayrshire
Kilmarnock, East Ayrshire
 

Been to The Canny Man? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing