We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too much salt.”
Review of Munchies

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Munchies
Ranked #80 of 100 Restaurants in Kilmarnock
Restaurant details
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Too much salt.”
Reviewed April 7, 2014

So much salt was used that I couldn't eat my curry from them. Tried just eating the chicken with as little of the sauce as possible but that was no fun either. It was very frustrating because the curry itself was tasty with a complex mix of flavours that is hard to find in Ayrshire. Just inedible because of the salt.

I went back and complained and was offered a replacement curry but not of the side dishes of nan and rice that I'd bought at the same time. Rather pointless as I didn't eat the rice and nan by themselves! The replacement was better as I told them no salt, but the meat still had too much salt.

If they had given me the side dishes I'd have tried them again, but no, not going back. I'll either buy a chilled one from Tesco or head to Glasgow to get one that's worth eating.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    1
    0
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kilmaurs, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Cowboy indian chefs”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

I used to go to there original shop in Stewarton, thought the food and service was really good, then they opened a shop in Kilmaurs. The one in Kilmaurs should be avoided i don't think they have a clue what they are doing, food is rotten. I was in for a takeaway one day and was watching the goings on in the kitchen seen a few nastys going on behind the scene not washing hands and cooking utensils being sat on the floor, defo not be eating out from here again. Also seen them pouring vegetable oil from there fryers down the drain one night, this is highly illegal and carrys a heafty fine if caught. If your a curry lover, avoid this place!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good food good value”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Great selection of food and meal was so big couldn't eat it all . Also have had a tale away and great prompt service and their hie box is something to be reckoned with .

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“takeaway with a difference”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

good value for money takeaway food especially soup and rolls in sausage staff always cheery and helpful give it a try

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank alan w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Munchies also viewed

Kilmarnock, East Ayrshire
Kilmarnock, East Ayrshire
 
Kilmarnock, East Ayrshire
Kilmarnock, East Ayrshire
 

Been to Munchies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing