We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great chinese resturant” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The New Five Star

The New Five Star
Ranked #32 of 97 Restaurants in Kilmarnock
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“great chinese resturant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

this resturant is worth a visit good food i had a christmas dinner here and was fab staff are helpful and service was excellent give this place a try you wont be dissapointed

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank alan w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    21
    5
    6
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
AYRSHIRE, SCOTLAND
Level Contributor
88 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Good”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

Not bad. Very, very busy...usually a good sign. Waiter got our order wrong, did not seem to be listening to what we wanted, but he certainly was not unpleasant in any way. The noodles were scrummy if that is possible, they were the best I have had.Food was hot and tasty though and service was speedy. Huge seating area, though some tables were doubled up with strangers and I do not like that , especially when it is a night out without the children. However, not bad but the busy, noisy, bustly atmosphere is not for me. As far as good food goes it was good, nothing exceptional.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank OLLIO C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmarnock
Level Contributor
90 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Great Value Lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

We tried this restaurant for lunch on friday. It was very busy but we were shown to a seat straight away and handed the menus. We ordered our starters, chicken and sweetcorn soup and it was delicious. For the main i had chicken chow mein which was great. My husband had breast of chicken curry which was lovely. We managed to squeeze in a banana fritter which i hadnt had for years...All in all a great lunch....great service....great staff and a great price...£6.90 for 3 course lunch...We will be back....

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank fionawilkes22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Our favourite place to eat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

We have been going to the 5* for 27 years and have never had a bad meal......we have a take away (nearly) every Saturday night and if we have a special occasion this is where our 1st choice will be. We go with friends every xmas eve.......we class the staff as friends.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Su1968_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmarnock, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“been goign here for years”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

good value good food good staff! love this place always my first choice for a chinese takeaway. also good value for money.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Hayley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The New Five Star also viewed

Kilmarnock, East Ayrshire
Kilmarnock, East Ayrshire
 
Kilmarnock, East Ayrshire
Kilmarnock, East Ayrshire
 

Been to The New Five Star? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing