We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice setting, average food ”
Review of Jute Cafe Bar

Jute Cafe Bar
Ranked #79 of 473 Restaurants in Dundee
Price range: $16 - $24
Cuisines: European, Scottish, Bar
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Bit of style over substance going on. Really nice place, friendly service, however food was slow to arrive and when it did it was average. Not bad, but not great.

Date of visit: September 2019
1  Thank H8072INgrahamh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (397)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 397 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We didn’t eat here but had a few cocktails only. Service was very good and friendly as it usually is in here, and the cocktails were among the best I have had. Really nicely made and compliments to whoever was on the bar on Saturday 14th September. A place we always visit when in Dundee. Highly recommended.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank SamEdinburgh34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2019

We ended up eating here the night Tom Jones was in town, and only because everywhere else was full. I reluctantly went in. We were told we could only eat in the bar area, and I had to get a menu as we were ignored. When the food came is terrible, the fish batter was soft tasteless as was the chips. My wife had a kind of mezi dish which she too didn't enjoy(and it's not like her to complain). Needless to say we won't eat here again, shame because we like this place.

Date of visit: July 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ian g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2019

The service in the spacious cafe was very efficient, a good menu selection for all times of the day, adjacent to cinema.

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank menubuster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2019

Took my wife for a birthday lunch and the girl who took the order at the bar didn't even crack a smile. She then charged us nearly £52 for just two of us (having fish and chips, a sandwich and chips, a non-alc beer and a gin cocktail). Asking for a receipt, I found that we had been overcharged £15.75 for 3 large soups that we never ordered. Pointing out the mistake, we were offered no apology and not even a smile. What a joke! Pretentious, unfriendly and over-priced.

Date of visit: July 2019
Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuteBar, Manager at Jute Cafe Bar, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2019

Hi

Thank you for your comment. Can you please email me with some more details so I can investigate.

dutymanagerjute@hotmail.co.uk

Can you let me know the date and time you were in and a description of the staff member you spoke with?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jute Cafe Bar also viewed

Dundee, Scotland
 
Dundee, Scotland
 

Been to Jute Cafe Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing