We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch for ladies”
Review of Jute Cafe Bar

Jute Cafe Bar
Ranked #72 of 382 Restaurants in Dundee
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $24
Cuisines: European, Scottish, Bar
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
scotland
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Lunch for ladies”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Had a great lunch with good service here with friends who had travelled from central belt. Only downside is the hairs are somewhat uncomfortable but food very good

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ScotlandFartravelled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    125
    49
    29
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Lunch with friends”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Saturday lunch with friends. Relaxed atmosphere and no rush to vacate table. Good menu choice and all meals were very good. They have a separate gluten free menu which also gave me plenty choice.
My only complaint was that the chairs are hard with no cushions.
Would recommend.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank handbagscotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GLASGOW
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“GOOD FOOD. RUBBISH SERVICE”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Went here for the first time last night. The atmosphere was great because the weather was lovely so it was busy inside and out. We took our seats in the restaurant and waitress was given our drinks order. She came with drinks quickly and we were still checking menu so she said she'd come back. Probably about 10-15mins later she finally came back. We were hungry so asked her to bring olives and bread straight away. She asked if we wanted them with our starters. Is it me???!!! We said no - we'd like them now (again) with our starters to follow. Probably about 15mins passed and olives etc still hadn't arrived so I called another waitress (with a superior attitude) over to cancel since I figured the starters were probably about to be served. I was right. The starters of potato and leek soup and mussels were lovely - great flavours and nice portion size. Our mains of duck and steak were equally flavoursome and very well presented. Whilst eating we were asked couple times if we wanted more drinks but we declined. We were almost finished eating when we were asked about drinks again. This time I ordered a bottle of water. Ten minutes later it still hadn't shown up so we cancelled it paid our bill and left. On the whole I would suggest people go here because the food is good but the service really is rubbish. Seemed to me like the staff who dealt with us were poorly trained. And as for 'Ms Bad Attitude' I think she would be better suited to a job that doesn't involve serving the public.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank LOVESAUSAGE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marykirk, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lovely food, great atmosphere”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Last minute decision on where to get some lunch made us choose here, have had dinner here before but this was a first for lunchtime. Great menu to choose from and speant alot of time deciding which dish was making my mouth water more... The service was fast and efficient and very pleasant. The atmosphere was great, not too busy at the time we went and as always a beautiful space.
Lunch was fantastic, i had the prawn and crayfish sandwhich which was divine and managed to get a bite of my partners burger which was equally lovely! The prices were reasonable to us but i can see hw some people would think it is expensice.
Highly recommend the place and will be back! :)

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hashina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A MUST for us when in Dundee!”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Perhaps because it reminds me of a beloved venue in my hometown of Detroit, perhaps because I love an art vibe, perhaps because there are SO many positives to this venue and restaurant, it is DIVINE. Food was amazing. We went three times during our stay and each time we were impressed with friendly staff, wonderful service and delicious food. I'm surprised to see anyone say anything negative about DCA. I love it. I highly recommend. I think you should try it too!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LaClark13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jute Cafe Bar also viewed

 
Dundee, Scotland
Dundee, Scotland
 

Been to Jute Cafe Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing